SETTING YOUR RECOVERY ACCOUNT USING PEAKD INTERFACE

in Hive Learnerslast year

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


I demonstrated how to check your recovery account using the peakd interface in the video above. In the video, you can see that @k-banti is set as my recovery account, and the reason for this is so that I can easily contact him if my account password is compromised.

Also, whoever you designate as your recovery account must be someone you trust and believe cannot betray that trust. If you don't have anyone you can easily reach out to or trust, another option is to create another Hive account and set it as the recovery account for your main account. So, if an issue arises, you can recover the account yourself without having to contact anyone.

but there is a catch....

You now have two keys to keep, and you should be aware that if you misplace the keys for your account recovery because you don't always use the account, and your main account keys are compromised, recovering your password will become difficult, if not impossible.

The decision is yours to take...


WHO IS STARSTRINGS01


image.png
Designed by @ grisvisa

Starstrings01, also known as Giftedhands, attends the Federal University of Agriculture in Abeokuta to study Mechatronics Engineering. He is a lover of the hive, a guitarist from Nigeria, and a student.

His ambition on Hive is to be more than just an ordinary blogger; he wants to be someone with a purpose. That's why he started the newbies initiative @newbies-hive to help guide and support newbies. Please follow the @newbies-hive curation trail by clicking here.

He tries to juggle education with being active on the chain, but his love and passion for Hive keep him on track..


All images are mine except indicated otherwise
All gifs included are powered by Tenor


54TLbcUcnRm3sWQK3AJf6fuxkTxiKXRNCarffscTjF9JnBqLzj89NH5s1rKH2Cga4QvMPvvEcb4koTvuCHZXnviw8k7xAcqd9HsbFKjw6hj1Y72M87h86FHy9hno4Dmynf1K26XEe.png

IF YOU LOVE THIS POST, YOU CAN KINDLY SUPPORT IT WITH YOUR COMMENTS, REBLOG AND UPVOTE. IT WOULD BE MUCH APPRECIATED

54TLbcUcnRm3sWQK3AJf6fuxkTxiKXRNCarffscTjF9JnBqLzj89NH5s1rKH2Cga4QvMPvvEcb4koTvuCHZXnviw8k7xAcqd9HsbFKjw6hj1Y72M87h86FHy9hno4Dmynf1K26XEe.png

THANKS FOR VISITING MY BLOG 😇💕

▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  
 last year  

Hmm, I see, well it will be better to set someone else as a recovery account, you can't tell me there is no one you can trust in that aspect, if there isn't then it means you can't be trusted too (I'm speaking in general 🙂).

That's one reason why we need to engage with people, that way we will be able to know who we can trust with something of such because it will be hard to see someone here that pretends although I won't say there isn't.

Thank you so much for taking your time to give this beautiful tutorial, it's always educative visiting your blog.

Happy new month sir 🤗.

You already have your sister in cases like this.

For k-banti, I know him personally. He brought me to Hive. I misplaced my keys at one point, and luckily he still had them with him. He saved me from creating a new account. This was over two years ago.

 last year  

Yes I do have her even my brother, hehe.

Oh wow, you were really lucky oo, I just can't imagine starting over again, it's not going to be funny at all 😏.

 last year  

I had a situation with a friend of mine whom lost his account to a hacker ...till date we don't know how he gets his hands on the account and started powering down... I had to report to some oldest oldbies and they began the process of account recovery... what was use to recover the account is the Master password and it worked perfectly...is that another aspect of recovering account??

 last year  

Wow this is such a wonderful idea to make such an insightful and educative vblog on the process of setting up our recovery account, it's an important aspect that we shouldn't take lightly because of the impending future we know nothing about what it as in store, so having someone we know and can easily reach in case we lose our account is highly essential.

I hope the newbies will learn from this.
@alidickson @mercysugar @glorydee @dimmablogs @rafatrony @mojtee07 @joyman kindly check this out.

 last year  

Yeah...it is indeed very valuable and informative. I learnt a new method from here and will work on it to back up mine.

 last year  

Thanks for the tag boss

 last year  

Wow....this is so educative and I believe majority of people here in hive needs to know this too. No one knows tomorrow, anything can happen though we don't pray for such but then setting someone we trust as our recovery account will save the day if anything negative happens.

@justfavour
@seunny
@floraada
@theycallmewell
@desiredlady
@isaacngore
@depressedfuckup , kindly come and check this 👌👍

 last year  

My amazing team leader. Thanks for tagging us. I'll surely go through this.

 last year  

You are welcome 🙂👍

yeah... I love the idea of recovery account on Hive... It is a very smart one and people needs to be aware of who they have as their recovery account.

Nicely done and very educating @starstrings01. I believe this would greatly make accounts more secure and prevent it from been high jacked by scammers.

 last year  

This is really helpful, but to me I will prefer writing my key down some where self because no one to be trusted apart from your self and God

 last year  

Okayyyys. I have some people to trust and seriously maintaining two accounts or even keeping 2 accounts would be a big headache for me, so I will go for option 1.

Thanks for the explanation. It is quite useful

 last year  

very useful article and certainly very useful for many people.

 last year  

Thanks so much for this tutorial it was indeed very helpful... Definitely I have someone I can trust, my mentor as I use to call him. Blessings man✌️

 last year  

Does this means we can have multiple account on HIVE?

yeah you can..

I now see various ways by which I can recover my account. Thank God I have someone I can trust 💯 in this platform. Thanks @starstrings01

Hello friend, thank you for the guide. I will follow it up as a newbie in the system.