GET A USB EXTENSION SOCKET TO SAVE COST... HERE IS HOW IT SAVES COST

in Hive Learnerslast year

I am the type of person who has a lot of devices, including two smartphones, a 20,000mAh power bank, a 10,000mAh mini power bank, a mifi, and Bluetooth earbuds, so it can be challenging to charge them all when I only have two chargers, which I use primarily for my iPhone XR and Xiaomi Poco X3 Pro.

22F2D198-4FF6-453B-808A-1E0B26E9AC30.jpeg

You might be wondering why I have two power banks, I suppose. My two power banks are serving their main purposes. I refer to the first as a Take-Out Power bank and the second as a Home/Travel Power bank. The 20k Mah Power Bank is what I use at home and carry with me when I move away from home for an extended period of time, according to their name descriptions. But because of its light weight, the 10k Mah is what I use when I go about my regular daily activities.

006BADD7-719D-440B-B8A8-204297BD16B7.jpeg

Even with having two power banks that is there to save the day from low power, I still get stranded with electricity. I live in Nigeria, so our power supply is not always available and due to fuel scarcity in Nigeria, it is tough to run electricity on generator. So thereby I need to have enough chargers to charge my devices anytime there is power with me but it would cost a lot to buy chargers for every device I have.

If I am to do that, I would be getting about 4 to 6 more chargers. This would be difficult to carry about and also expensive to get. So I thought, why not get an extension with up to 6 USB ports and charges fast as well.

6CF5BE92-4385-43DD-8C73-54C97B81BE25.jpeg

This is the packaging of the extension box. It has a beautiful look and good-quality packaging. From looking at the packaging, one can easily decide that the product is quality and Original. When I opened the box, the wires were thick and strong. Then I concluded that I had spent my money well.

085AB941-BE73-4D0C-A6BB-BFB825D196D6.jpeg

The extension only cost me $10 delivery inclusive and I got it from the popular Nigerian online market; Jumia.ng. It took approximately 4 days to get delivered to my location in Abeokuta, Ogun State after it was ordered.

The amazing thing about this extension socket is that the USB ports gives a output as fast as 3.4A for each port. From the specification it gives a 17W fast charging. Isn't that amazing? To get a single fast charger on Jumia, it costs $10 at least but I got 6 fast-charging USB ports, and 3 extension socket for $10 all together.

Now all I need to do is to buy USB cords for each of my remaining devices so that I can charge at go. it cost about $2 for a single USB cord and I plan on buying 3 more USB cords.

B6E2C774-2BDF-43B4-A35E-297146439964.jpeg

Anytime the extension is plugged in, there is a white indicator that turns on that way it would be easy for me to know if the plug of the extension has been tampered with or not.

You can see the portability of the extension. It is very easy to carry and lightweight, so you don't have to worry about it being mobile or not.

30D6DB2D-53FE-4106-B2F7-3343E7438231.jpeg

If you want to read more on this particular USB extension socket, here is a screenshot of the specification. You can read more about it... Let me know if you have one or gained an interest in one...


WHO IS STARSTRINGS01


image.png
Designed by @ grisvisa

Starstrings01, also known as Giftedhands, attends the Federal University of Agriculture in Abeokuta to study Mechatronics Engineering. He is a lover of the hive, a guitarist from Nigeria, and a student.

His ambition on Hive is to be more than just an ordinary blogger; he wants to be someone with a purpose. That's why he started the newbies initiative @newbies-hive to help guide and support newbies. Please follow the @newbies-hive curation trail by clicking here.

He tries to juggle education with being active on the chain, but his love and passion for Hive keep him on track..


All images are mine except indicated otherwise
All gifs included are powered by Tenor


54TLbcUcnRm3sWQK3AJf6fuxkTxiKXRNCarffscTjF9JnBqLzj89NH5s1rKH2Cga4QvMPvvEcb4koTvuCHZXnviw8k7xAcqd9HsbFKjw6hj1Y72M87h86FHy9hno4Dmynf1K26XEe.png

IF YOU LOVE THIS POST, YOU CAN KINDLY SUPPORT IT WITH YOUR COMMENTS, REBLOG AND UPVOTE. IT WOULD BE MUCH APPRECIATED

54TLbcUcnRm3sWQK3AJf6fuxkTxiKXRNCarffscTjF9JnBqLzj89NH5s1rKH2Cga4QvMPvvEcb4koTvuCHZXnviw8k7xAcqd9HsbFKjw6hj1Y72M87h86FHy9hno4Dmynf1K26XEe.png

THANKS FOR VISITING MY BLOG 😇💕

Sort:  
 last year  

Woahoo, that's a really good way to cut unnecessary costs, I never knew there was such a USB extension with so many places to put a cord and from what I can see, I think it is worth the money.

Nigeria is a place that will just be making somebody talented and creative in thinking, lolz. Now you have been able to think of how to solve the problem of not being able to charge your phones and power banks all at once .

Thank you so much for sharing this with us, I will go find out more about it, I'm sure it will be really helpful and avoid power wastage if you know what I mean 😅.

Yeah it was somehow for me when I could not charge these my devices at a go... Before I am done charging my phone, they would have cut off the power supply and it's usually annoying.

You should check it out.. it's worth the money

 last year  

Exactly, that part when you will be charging your things one by one and nepa won't let you charge all most times 😂.

Well, I will surely think of getting one, my Dad loves those kind of things even when he won't be the one to use it 😁.

Man you’ve done very well with the phones you use. Both the iPhone Xr and Poco X3 Pro are high end smartphones.

These extension cords are great, but I’ve always feared that in the long term, they damage your batteries. I don’t have any proof or anything to back this, just a fear I’ve had concerning using these types of ports.

I also just feel like even though their specs and description mostly says it’s fast charging, they’ll be slow chargers in reality. Maybe when you’ve used this for a week or two, you can make an update post about it’s performance? I’d love to read about it. I’ll get myself one too if you give it a good review after use.

I have used the USB ports on the extension and they are actually fast. Let me just say it was 2 days ago I got the socket and it has been doing really well..

Oh sweet! Seems like fear was all it was. I’m glad they’re actually fast. Do you think I would find the same gadget on jumia from the store you bought? I would want to buy one for me sometime when I get some cash.

 last year  

Yeah,I've seen extensions like this before and I have used one too. But the type I bought then, had only two cord space.

I used that extension very well till it got spoiled hehe.

Meanwhile, I like your style. Home/traveling power bank, outing powerbank, two smartphones mhen

This is what they call being prepared and it's just perfect.

Our devices to me are our inanimate social friends and company in this contemporary we live in . Without our phones on and active one is literally shut out from what's happening in the world. For a country like Nig where light has never been constant one has to employ means to get our devices on and active . Most people even refer their phones , pads and laptops as their office .

 last year  

That extension is very helpful and it truly saves lots of cost expecially when one is having limited usb header compared to the cable. Brilliant idea there @starstrings01