Indoors

in Hive Learnerslast year

Season's Greetings once again!

Another Christmas is in sight and that awesome Christmasy feeling is here again.

People celebrate Christmas in various ways ranging from odd ways to normal, regular celebrations even within families.

In my family we don't have a set in stone tradition or a particular way of celebrating during this season, we just go as the Christmas spirit leads.
Some years we all prefer to travel to our hometown to celebrate with extended family members and also to get to know one's family better. Christmas in my hometown is really fun and very much enjoyable because of the sights and sounds.
During the season a lot of public performances are displayed by the youths of the community, there are some carried out by the men sometimes but most times it's usually the youth who run up and down the highway and busy roads causing traffic.

Whenever such a performance is going on, people (villagers and visitors alike) flock into the nearest restaurant close to the rigorous performers to feast their eyes as well as their mouths. On days like that, local restaurants usually get a high influx of customers who will stay for the duration of the performance.

The food tastes really great too. There's nothing like watching a live show while chewing on assorted meats.
It is something indeed. ;)



When we decide not to travel or can't make it in time for the festivities in our hometown, we decide to enjoy Christmas in the city in every way.
It gets even more fun because close family and friends visit often and sometimes it's a really full house which just adds to the beauty of Christmas.
When everyone is settled after a day or two, we go sightseeing and shopping or we go on picnics.

As one happy family..


MY PLANS FOR CHRISTMAS


Paola Chaaya


This year is going to be a little different from previous years (though I'll still be with family, my immediate family members) because I'll be changing some things to suit my needs.
Normally we were supposed to travel but we decided not to travel this year which is fine by me. For the first time in years I want to spend Christmas indoors.

It may seem odd, but I really just want to stay indoors and rest as much as I can before work resumes in January and the stress resumes with it.
I just want to chill a bit.
I'm in dire need of a bit of chilling at this point and going from state to state doesn't seem like the best option to take when chilling because I will not be allowed to chill once I'm in the midst of people throughout the festivities.

I plan to read as many novels as I can, which will be a lot. I also plan to eat properly throughout the holidays (my eating habits have not been so good). I plan to watch all the movies I have been collecting and piling up for times like this.

Trust me, it's a lot.

I am going to have so much fun watching movies and series throughout the holidays because I deserve to rest. School and work won't be the end of me. 😑

So help me God. Amen.

Another thing I plan to do is catch up with my friends, really catch up with them and basically see how well they're faring though it will all be done virtually as I have no intention of stepping out until the holidays are over.
All the conversations we couldn't have during the year we'll have them all.

I also plan to cook more, bake really. I'll try some Christmas baking recipes and see how it turns out, hopefully good enough so the family can enjoy it.

I plan to spend time watching my favorite shows and favorite channels too, for my peace of mind. I'll lock all seriousness in a box to be opened once the holidays are over.
I haven't felt the need to stay indoors during this season before but this year has been quite a ride and it just calls for indoor activities all through the Christmas season, nothing more.

I got invited by some extended family members to come spend the holidays with them but I didn't accept because I really just want to spend the holidays in my own space not worrying about anything except what to eat for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

This year's Christmas theme is SOLITUDE and that's what I'm getting, nothing less. My mind needs to absorb as much of the Christmas season as it needs to, positivity for the new year.



This is in response to the #HiveLearners weekly contest.

Merry Christmas! 🎄

Sort:  
 last year  

It's ok to have some time only especially when work takes a lot of your time.
I wish you A Merry Christmas 🎁 🎅 🎄

 last year  

Thank you so much. 🎄

 last year  

You really intend to just stay indoors with this plan of yours. It's a big day, we all need to have some fun.

 last year  

😅. I'll have fun, indoors.

 last year (edited) 

I've experienced this type for mood in celebration and it really made sense for me because I'm the introvert type. As long as I have food, data and my constant Light to charge my phone, I'm good to go.

I know this your indoor celebration will make sense with a those things you mentioned (food and movies) plus a virtual lovey-dovey moments with fiance🤗

 last year  

😂. Yes, those things make indoor activities fun.