Inside Of Me.

in Hive Learners2 years ago

img_0.07623418342281746

Image Source


What Writing Is To Me

I've always had a penchant for writing since I was a little girl. Growing up, my head was full of stories, lots of them and I'd make up a whole series in my head not knowing that I can actually pick up a pen and write them down.

At the age of ten, I found the perfect way to make space in my head for more stories, I began to write. Writing my stories down for the first time, arranging the events in the story the way I wanted them to be arranged and bringing it to a satisfying end was the greatest feeling ever. It still is and it doesn't fade, it just gets better each time I write something.

I wrote my first book at age ten, it isn't published yet and is still preserved in it's manuscript form, but it's the first book I ever wrote and I wrote it when I was in junior high - JSS1.
What made it even more fulfilling was the demand for my book, after writing the book I had told my friend and seatmate about it and she asked to read it and I wasn't expecting her to actually enjoy my story and ask for more which I didn't have because that was the first. She read it and enjoyed it and spread the news that I could write and before long the whole class had read my book.

It felt good. Still feels good.

I smile every time I remember the eagerness they had when reading my book and the hunger for more.

That's how it all began. I wrote a few more in junior high then stopped because of school activities and responsibilities. Writing just came to me naturally because I found it easy to put my imaginations in order and form a story and I still find it easy today only that sometimes I get lazy. :)

That shaped the writer inside me, the demands for my stories. It was my motivation.
In Senior high, I wrote a few more and this time it was in a different School with different classmates and they all loved my story all the same. The whole class didn't read my stories this time because we were a lot back then, but a very significant number got to read my stories and helped spread the word and I was just so happy with myself because it's something that came out from inside me and I was able to make people see it the way I wanted it to be seen.

Over time I stopped writing once again because of school activities and responsibilities but this time I stopped writing for a very long time. I didn't have a writers block or anything though I get those a lot, I just decided to stop for awhile. So I didn't write any story again, though my head was filled with ideas. I think as I grew older so did my stories and I didn't know yet how to put those complex stories down without confusing my audience, maybe that was why I took a break.

That break lasted years.

Until I came across Hive and realised that I can write anything in particular, anything that came to mind though I had to make the audience understand of course, but I could write things that are very well relatable and easy to write on without much Ado while I take time and polish the complex stories for other platforms.


My Motivation

At first, the reader's pleasure was my sole motivation, but now it's that and several others. :)
Having people enjoy my story remains at the top still. It's like an energy pill and it makes me want to write more.

Thank you to those who enjoy my write ups and encourage me here on @hivelearners, it keeps me going.

When I'm asked what my talent is, I usually don't know what to say but I know now, my talent is writing. Putting words on paper and bringing characters to life. Bringing my insane imaginations to life, that's what writing is to me.

Whenever I go back and read my first books, it's like time travel and all I do is laugh because I remember the joy and thrill I felt when I began writing.

Truly, the first time is always the sweetest.

I still feel that thrill especially when I know it's a story that'll blow the minds of my readers to Oblivion and back. :)


Thank you for reading and I hope you're inspired by my write-up never to stop writing even though it might be tough at times as it can get pretty rough but the fun is in the process. ✍️

This is inspired by the #hivelearners weekly contest.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Wow! Thanks for this. I also wrote my first book when I was in Jss1. I also wrote short stories for a WhatsApp group. Thanks again.

 2 years ago  

That's really great to hear. Thank you for reading.

 2 years ago  

Wow, i wrote my first book when i was in jss1 also, i loved your motivation as it is my first observation as a writer, the interest of my audience and since then i have been writing and it has been so good ..thanks for sharing

 2 years ago  

The audience is always the motivation. Thank you for reading.

I know what it feels like to have people really enjoy your book and genuinely want to read more of your work. It is one of the best feelings for a writer.
You have done well.
Thank you for sharing this with us.

 2 years ago  

You're welcome. 🥰. It's absolutely the best feeling in the world.

My friend loves to write in his hand. I know it's a very old method, but he has a hobby. On his birthday, I ordered him a handmade pen at https://ancora1919.com/collections/pen-collection-big-five. Italian pens of very high quality and with beautiful designs. A friend was delighted!

 2 years ago  

That's very thoughtful of you. I'm sure he's happy.