Time Off

in Hive Learnerslast year

I remember vividly how busy and occupied I was throughout 2021. My head was always buried in books and I was always up late at night to bury my head in books because I had to ace a particular examination.

This went on throughout the year and I didn't think too much about it because there were no early symptoms that my body was already tired and needed to rest for a while, I didn't notice and so I went on with my routine.

Fast forward to early 2022, February to be precise was when it all went down.

Literally..

By the middle of January 2022, I was beginning to feel the signs, but I didn't think it'd become a serious issue so I carried on as usual until my body couldn't take it anymore and my body gave up on me.

I fell terribly ill. I missed classes for a week because I badly needed to recuperate. Doctor diagnosed me with typhoid and malaria which didn't treat me nicely, my blood level also dropped and so I had to take a lot of blood giving pills and eat lots of blood giving foods and I had to stay away from my books.

It took me a month to fully recuperate, though I wasn't bedridden the whole month but I wasn't yet fit to go jumping back to my old routine so I had to lay back and chill, chilling for a month is what I did with joy.

Throughout the time it took me to recover, I had the best fun.

I had time all to myself, everyone left me alone and attended to me when need be (princess treatment).

There was plenty of time to finish all the books I downloaded a long time ago but couldn't get to because of academics, which I did with joy.


Source


Then, there was abundant time to watch the pending movies and series that I had piled up (I made a list of what to download).

I remember downloading a lot of movies that month, especially series just for the fun of it.
I watched series all day long with several pauses to attend to my health. I didn't dare try to pull an all-nighter because of my health, also the pills helped, some of them make it hard to stay awake until it finishes its work in the body.

It was a wonderful month and a great way to take care of myself.

I resumed eating properly and especially at the right time. Part of the reason I fell sick was because I used to skip meals (a bad habit I have dropped thankfully). I had breakfast at the proper time and ate lunch and dinner at the right time while taking my medications the way the doctor prescribed.

All I had to worry about was getting better and that was what I did. I pushed out distracting and stressful thoughts and focused on taking care of myself.
I also went to watch more movies out in the cinema, just like a little treat and I felt great doing it.

All I did for a month was rest and when it was time to get back to work, I was renewed and energized and I vowed never to take my health for granted. To keep that vow, I pay close attention to my body for the subtle signs and symptoms that are usually hard to notice at first until it escalates to something bigger.

I make sure to rest properly during the weekends, I face work during the week so the weekend is for me alone.
Treat myself to this or that depending on my mood or I'll probably get a lot of sleep in.

I've been good ever since and I hope to keep it that way by taking care of myself every day. I pay very close attention to my body so much that any slight change in balance I'll be aware of it.

The sudden break down that happened to me isn't something I'd like to repeat itself, it's something I'm avoiding totally and will continue to do so. I realized that I really love being healthy and the only way to stay healthy is to treat myself right.


     **this is in response to the #HiveLearners weekly contest**

Thank you for reading!


Sort:  

Congratulations @stellageorge! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 2000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - January 15, 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 last year  

You overworked yourself, not trying to discourage you but too much of reading can affect the body negatively.

Thanks for sharing.

 last year  

I'm not discouraged but I had to learn the hard way.

 last year  

You need to take it easy. Because work doesn't stop, so working yourself to the bone might not do you any favors. I'm glad you learned your lesson.

Thank you for sharing this with us.

 last year  

Thank you for your feedback.