'Tis The Season!

in Hive Learnerslast year

Jonathan Borba


'Tis the Christmas Season!

Season's greetings fellow Hive Learners!

There are so many things I love about the Christmas season, even the idea is something to be happy about.
Christmas is a time of joy and happiness and for me the whole idea of Christmas itself brings me happiness.

Christmas is celebrated differently in all parts of the world and one of my life's missions is to get a taste of different Christmas celebrations and I sure will.

Over here, the Christmas spirit is ushered in slowly and gradually beginning from the month of October. By the middle of the month signs of the coming Christmas season can be seen everywhere. On the screens, on the roads, in the markets especially and individuals who have already begun to shop ahead of the season's rush crowds.

As December draws near, the sound of knockouts and fireworks blasting can be heard from anywhere, especially in the streets where kids and the youth have the freedom to blast away to their heart's content. It's one of the things I look forward to, the loud noise of the knockouts and the odd smell of the fireworks as it pivots to the sky to burst into a million colorful pieces.

I could sit and watch fireworks blast away all night long.

There are other fun sounds sold but knockouts and fireworks are the most popular, it's basically what everyone prefers to use during the season.

On the streets and in the market places, at the bus stops and in busy places, popular Christmas hymns are always being played from loudspeakers to help usher individuals into the season of Christmas. I unconsciously hum along whenever I hear a Christmas carol playing and I guess I have been successfully ushered into the season.

One of the things I love doing during Christmas is decorating. I really, really love to decorate the house in a Christmas-themed way and the feeling I get while doing that adds to the fun and joy of Christmas.
Stringing the lights, hanging the garlands, decorating the tree are things I enjoy doing during the season.

Another thing I look forward to during this season is traveling.
Sometimes I feel like it's one of the best times to travel to a different environment and just relax and unwind for the holidays. Christmas travels are lit and I always look forward to going somewhere different each Christmas.
It might be to a close aunt's place or to our state or to a favorite uncle's place or someplace else entirely, someplace I haven't been to before and the experiences I have had have been wonderful and permanently saved in my head.

Something else I look forward to is the food.
:)
I don't think I'm the only one who noticed that Christmas food (Rice and Stew usually) tastes way better than everyday food. Maybe it's because seasoned chefs (the women only, usually elderly) get to prepare it and so they surely have a secret ingredient.
It must be why it tastes so much better than usual, trust me on this. I am usually a fan of Rice and Stew than Jollof.

The company of family and friends and extended family during the period is something to always look forward to every year.
Also the outings which are always fun with the crowd that we are will remain golden to me. Going out with everyone makes me feel alive and really happy and more times than I can count I have wished for such days never to end, but I can't control it.

Each Christmas every year is always different for me, I don't think I've felt like I had a repeat of Christmas celebrations and maybe I'd like to do something I have done before, it wouldn't hurt trying it again and it would be twice as fun.

So far Christmas has been filled with activities that I love and the people I love and that's the best part of it all and why I eagerly look forward to Christmas every year. It's the company, the love, family and of course the fun too.
The giving and receiving of gifts, and the Christmas wishes all make me super happy during this season and is why I look forward to Christmas every year.

There's always something extraordinary that comes along with the season no matter how small it may seem.



This is in response to the #HiveLearners weekly contest.

Thank you for reading!

Merry Christmas Hivers! 🎄

Sort:  

Hmmm, you want to have a taste of Christmas in every place?? That's interesting and indeed an adventurous character. I wish you well. Maybe I should join you sometime you know we often need companions🤷

 last year  

😅. I'll be sure to invite you one day.

🙇🙇

I don't think I'm the only one who noticed that Christmas food (Rice and Stew usually) tastes way better than everyday food.

You're more than right dear, Xmas rice has this distinct taste that you can even cancel your fasting if probably you're doing so on that day just to taste the Xmas food.

 last year  

I'm glad someone else shares the same views. 😅

 last year  

Hehe... You can tell the Christmas spirit in just about everything. The kind of movies that will be shown on TV, the adverts, the banners. It will be all over the place.
That's what adds to everything.😇
Thank you for sharing this with us.

 last year  

Thank you for reading. 😇