Traditional wedding ceremony: how it's been done in my tribe.

in Hive Learners2 years ago (edited)

Greetings Hivers

Today I'll sharing with you how traditional marriages are being done in my tribe which is the ijaws in the southern part of Nigeria.

Traditional wedding ceremony: Although white weddings and court marriages are practiced quite the same all over the world, traditional marriages are different for each people, tell us about it, how it is done in your tribe, we would love to know.

Agreement between the man and the woman: in the ijaw culture they don't force people to marry, before you can think of marriage in the ijaw land, you should have found someone you want to marry of which the both you have agreed to spend the rest of your lives together, it also means that the both of you are compatible.

However someone's parent can pick a wife for their son to marry but only with his consent.
If the man and woman has agreed on everything, then they will relay it to their families independently and the families will have to carry out background check on each other, if the result comes out positive then the traditional marriage rites continues.

(Image not shown due to low ratings)


(Image not shown due to low ratings)



(Image not shown due to low ratings)

Images were hidden due to low ratings.
Sort:  
 2 years ago  

The Ijaws and the Isokos have very similar traditional marriage ceremony process. It felt like just reading mine. This is quite interesting and very colourful

 2 years ago  

Nice wedding ceremony.
Does the husband have to give the wife money to make her happy?

What will he do to make her smile again?

Awesome traditional wedding, I like the sound of that.

 2 years ago  

The sound of money been given huh

 2 years ago  

Yea that's it

 2 years ago  

Okay

 2 years ago  

A very simple list is what I like about this your tribes marriage ours is always 4-5 pages full

 2 years ago (edited) Reveal Comment
 2 years ago  

The matching colours are really great
It is something we look at to see
It is great

 2 years ago  
 me saying to myself what if the groom picks someone else thinking it was his wife what will now happen".

This is tricky but I believe it's just for fun😀

Your tribe marital rites are simple oo and also no long lists like Imo State people 😀😀🤣🤣

 2 years ago  

Hahahaha
I can relate, I wish they did this trick during my own traditional marriage, I would have loved it well 😀

I love the couples outfit

 2 years ago (edited) 

Wow, what a unique wedding ceremony. Choosing a bride among other women makes it a challenge in itself. Hehehe... 😂
Nice post mate...👍👍

 2 years ago (edited) 

If there is one thing I have noticed about reading all these posts on marriages is that there is usually a lot of color and fanfare.
Getting married will always be a reason to be happy, hopefully, the marriage itself will make the couple extremely happy.
Thank you for sharing this with us.

P.S: We noticed that you did not source your first image, you need to do so at once or your post will not be supported.

 2 years ago  

the replacement clothes are very colorful so beautiful

 2 years ago  

The bride will be brought out and will be accompanied by some other maidens having their face and body covered with wrapper, then the groom has to select his wife.

In that case the groom has to be very smart in making the selection oo!
Before marriage blunder will be committed😆
I enjoyed reading your post, thanks for sharing.

 2 years ago  

Awesome to read
But you omitted a part

 me saying to myself what if the groom picks someone else thinking it was his wife what will now happen".

WHAT WILL BECOME OF HIM, WILL HE MARRY THE ONE HE HAS PICKED ?
Please I'll like to know oo, in case I'm heading there😁😁

Thanks for your wonderful Post

 2 years ago  

Smiles, it's alright
I'll still enquire more

Till next time, stay safe

 2 years ago  

This is nice.
Tradition differs though, I enjoyed reading through this dear.
The tradintion is quite simple though.

 2 years ago  

The Ijaws? Uhm, they are also in a part of my state of origin - Ondo state. I love these dresses, mehn! And of course, no one should be forced to marry or to a particular person cos marriage is not for a period, it is meant for eternity..
Thanks @tarilayoung maybe now I could consider an Ijaw babe..😁

 2 years ago  

Who are the we that'd be waiting?

 2 years ago  

Na so them marry me true true

 2 years ago  

Dresses are really colourful and looking great ♥️
Loving the way you explained 👌