My power outage experience: A sad tale

in Hive Learners8 months ago

⬇️

A power outage is one thing I dread the most. I won't be able to charge your gadgets; I don't get the opportunity to use electricity for anything. It is quite annoying.

On such days, I am left in a dilemma. I am left to decide which means to employ to charge your gadgets.

It's quite frustrating to find places to charge my gadgets. Sometimes I wait for my neighbors to turn on their generator so I can go there with my extension and my gadgets. This is a less stressful option, except that my neighbors do not turn on their generator on a regular basis.

Another option is finding a charging station around you. In this kind of place, you pay some amount of money to charge your gadgets. This is a stressful option because we don't have one in my neighborhood; I have to walk a long distance to get to one.
You see how annoying that can be?

In my neighborhood, our power supply is quite stable compared to other parts of Kwara State and Nigeria. We have up to 15 hours of stable power. You know, not every day is Christmas.

One particular day, I was watching a movie with my family. It began to rain, and shortly thereafter, the power holding company cut off the electricity supply. The rain fell so heavily that I was scared it would bring down the roof of our house.

Every Nigerian knows that, once it starts to rain, the power holding company always cuts off the electricity supply. I don't know why, though.

But on this particular day, there was a power outage. We waited a few more hours, and the power wasn't restored. I was so sad. I had a lot of things I had to do.

viktor-mogilat-6Naq7FXH3eQ-unsplash (1).jpg
source
First, it was getting dark, and I realized that we'd have to make use of our rechargeable lamp for the night. I also had a lot of work to do on my PC; there were a lot of jobs I needed to complete that night.
I was left to figure out how to finish up my jobs before the deadline, which was that particular night.

I actually put my trust in the power holding company, hoping that they'd restore the power supply that day.

Stepping outside, I saw a lot of collapsed buildings. There was a cluster of huts somewhere in my neighborhood, and I realized that everything was crumbling due to the impact of the heavy rain.

A lot of the electricity poles had fallen, and their wires were intertwined. I needed no soothsayer to tell me that we wouldn't have power supply for a while.

I had to bear the consequences of that day because the power outage affected a lot of things I had to do. I was unable to deliver jobs, and we had to rely on the rechargeable lamp for illumination in the house.

The power outage lasted for two weeks, and those two weeks were one of the most annoying and stressful periods of my life.

Thanks for coming to my blog!

⬇️

IMAGE SOURCE: UNSPLASH