Happiness is a decision

in Hive Learners2 years ago

pexels-photo-5254867.jpeg
Source

It's true that happiness means different things to different people, while some derive happiness from the simplest things in life, others derive it from other things. We choose what makes us happy and when we're sad most of the time, it's because we've chosen to make ourselves sad.

If you search for the meaning of happiness on Google, different articles would tell you it's a state of being joyful and excited so the question is what makes us happy? The big things in life, the small things or both?

I saw a video recently of some kids playing in the mud, sliding and jumping. They we're happy, truely happy. These days, we say we get our happiness from having money because we've never seen any cry in a Lamborghini. But is that true happiness? Would having all the money in the world make us truely happy?

If I were to answer that question for myself, having money would make me happy because I'd be able to afford everything I want when I want but it so not derive my happiness from just having money alone.

I'm not where I want to be financially but I'm not letting that stop me from being happy. I want to live in the moment as it comes because life is short and hard already and I'm not saying I'm dying anytime soon but I can't let myself stay sad up until when I have the kind of money I want.

What makes me happy?

I have my family and friends with me and I am happy every single time I get to hang out with them, they might annoy me sometimes but they make me happy.
Watching my favorite tv show makes me happy. When I can sit and watch what I want without anything stressing me out, I'm happy. I feel a certain level of joy and peace mixed together.

Food!! Food makes me happy. I don't think I've ever been in a position where I was too sad to eat. I'm a foodie, I love food, not only does it strengthen us physically, it does it for me emotionally too.

Whenever I'm stressed or sad and I eat, it takes away the feeling and it works almost all the time.

In the era we live in, a lot of us allow social media to define our happiness. We see people's lives and the internet and start to feel sad because we want to be in their position and we can't. We start to depress ourselves because we see our mates in flashy cars and expensive clothes.

First off, everybody has a time, your time will come. Second, when did we start adding so much value to material things?

To me, true happiness comes from being with the people I love, sharing experiences and ideas. It comes from having access to food when I'm hungry, watching my favorite tv shows when I want.

Having money just amplifies that but I'm not going to let that decide if I'm happy or not.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Rightly said, it is quite nice to hang out with one and a half friends. Although sometimes it feels boring, then it doesn't feel good without you. Well written. thank you

 2 years ago  

Food 😂, I forgot to add this one in my post. Food is another source of happiness.

 2 years ago  

Hahaha bros I can see you really value food it it means fasting is not in your agenda, of a truth food is another source for happiness because money or love can not full your stomach, thanks for sharing.

 2 years ago  

Thank you for mentioning food. All of us that like food will make heaven 😁.

Nice write up bro 👍

 2 years ago  

I was so sad a few minutes ago, but reading your post made me smile 😊, am happy and relief. You see, only words from people could bring happiness to you.
Happiness is important.
Everybody has their own time we should stay positive.

Hehe... It is quite easy to be happy. Placing the key to our happiness in the pockets of others is just the same as asking for hige disappointments and backstabbing. It will be inevitable.

Thank you for sharing this with us.

Happiness is a personal decision I agree with you, no one can take it away from you unless you allow that to happen