TRADITIONAL BELIEFS WEEK 2 EDITION 3.

in Hive Learners2 years ago

Hello everyone it's another edition for this week, the topic

  Traditional Beliefs: In each culture, there are beliefs that have been passed down through generations, in this era you probably find it difficult to relate to them. But they are still being practiced. Tell us about it, and if you feel it should be abolished

photo-1457342813143-a1ae27448a82.jpeg
Freestocks

Every culture have in or two beliefs ,I actually don't know any belief of my own tribe, but since I am married to a yoruba man, I think I should write about their own belief.
So they believe that immediately a woman becomes pregnant she she supposed to put a safety pin on her cloth were her stomach is, very yoruba pregnant woman do this and if an elderly Yoruba woman sees you being pregnant and you don't have a pin on your stomach , they will come to you and ask you why you aren't putting on a pin?.
It is believed that the pin prevent evil spirit or evil eye from the pregnancy, I remember then when I was pregnant, a woman approached me and was like you are not wearing a pin, I was just looking at her , and then I told her I am covered with the blood of Jesus, I don't believe in such things , only Jesus saves. She was then looking at me like I was rude to her, which I wasn't,I was only stating my own belief too.
Also they believe a pregnant woman shouldn't walk in the sun from 12pm-3pm because in the sun they can come in contact with spiritual evil child that may enter their unborn baby.

Well I personally don't believe in any superstition or believe that is not Christ.
With that I have nothing more to write about this topic. Christ is my only believe, when you got Christ, you become a touch not.

Thanks for reading.

Source

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Ómo, they're a lot of superstitions and beliefs in our societies.

So now they're saying that the pin can actually protect from evil spirits, if it's like that every one for dey waka with pins for body sef,. 😂😂.

Ómo, it's only God that saves, the sooner they understand that the better.

Thank you for sharing ❤️

 2 years ago  

Hahahahah

 2 years ago  

What😳😳
Safety pin?
This is weird 😂
Anyways thanks for sharing

 2 years ago  

That's their own belief

Wow... Considering I grew up in Lagos, I am just hearing about this.
Quite interesting really, but for the enlightened, there is really nothing to be scared of.
It has to be a recent tradition though, because before our people had pins, what were they using to ward off evil spirits and eyes?
This is interesting indeed, thank you for sharing this with us.

 2 years ago  

Really, it's bin around since o, even those old women in the area will criticize you for not putting it on your cloth

 2 years ago  

each region has traditions according to different beliefs, maybe this will sound strange to outsiders. but for people in your area this has become a tradition

 2 years ago  

Yeah it may sound strange to an outsider.

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment
 2 years ago  

I wonder, as in it what many pregnant women do over here