Taking The Bull By The Horns

in Hive Learners15 days ago

It is a beautiful day in my beautiful country and today, I will be talking about fear and overcoming fear on a personal level.
Firstly, WHAT IS FEAR?
According to Merriam-Webster,

an unpleasant often strong emotion caused by anticipation or awareness of danger and accompanied by increased autonomic activity.

In other words, it can be said to being scared of the unknown. One thing that causes fear is when you are exposed to something new. No matter how little it might be if you have not brought yourself to face it head-on, you will forever be a slave to it. As humans, most of us are scared of death but what differentiates us civilians from most in the army is their exposure to near death. Always putting themselves in the line of death has helped them to develop that resistance to fear when they face that environment. Most people are specifically trained and tortured so that they can develop that tolerance. This doesn't mean that they have flipped a switch that turns off fear. No, they have just gotten past it and when the fear comes, they control it. Just like a pilot is calm when a plane is in turbulence or a doctor after being exposed to a lot of blood. These professions have built and taught themselves to be calm in situations like that.

𝓜𝔂 𝓯𝓮𝓪𝓻𝓼 𝓪𝓷𝓭 𝓱𝓸𝔀 𝓘 𝓱𝓪𝓿𝓮 𝓬𝓸𝓶𝓮 𝓽𝓸 𝓬𝓸𝓷𝓽𝓪𝓲𝓷 𝓽𝓱𝓮𝓶.

So, as you might have known or thought I am a human (if you didn't, well now you know), and as a maturing human, I also have my fears that I have discovered over the years and while I have brought myself to develop some tolerance towards it, there are still some that I have can't imagine myself getting rid of.

Two fears I know I have come to overcome are;

  • failure/loss
  • heights

- Failure and Loss.

Everyone is scared and afraid of losing and failing. Even though that is a good fear, it will also prevent you from doing great things. No matter how good or careful you think you are, if you go outside your comfort zone, failure is lucking around those decisions you will be planning to take. I took a wrong decision and it ate me up. You can see it here how I went down and built again. This was a new path for me and the failure/loss alone was supposed to take me down big time but as a crypto trader who has faced losses due to uncalculated risks or wrong judgment of the market, I was able to bounce back and get back on my feet. At first, it wasn't easy but I knew I couldn't just go down like that. So, I picked myself up and started again from ground zero. It wasn't easy getting my head around it but I did and I thank God for that. At least I used the knowledge from the failure to fix up a solution and I avoided every mistake I made back then.

- Heights.

I have always been scared of heights since I can remember. I don't know if something traumatizing happened to me while I was young but the fact that I developed this fear is what I didn't know. The fact that my profession requires me to do heights is what pushed me to try getting rid of this phobia.
There was a time during my 1 year in IT after my diploma when we were sent to an industrial building where the ceilings were very high and we needed to run pipes and cables for the installation of CCTV and PA devices. We were just 2 sent to the site and my supervisor was too big (fat) to climb that high I had no choice but to climb that high and as went higher, my legs started shaking (no safety harness, no scalp fold, no ladder) so why won't my legs shake?
For me to have done up there, was a big step for me in getting rid of that fear. However, the following day I requested for safety harness from the office because fear or no fear, accidents happen. lol.

I guess the next stage is to board a plane. in as much as the idea freaks me out, I want to see if I would have a heart attack or faint during take-off. Another thing on my bucket list is to go skydiving 😅😅😅. Yes yes, I know it might be suicidal but you only live ones.

There are also a few that I'm still scared of but that's a story for other time. Don't worry it's not cockroaches or rat 😜😜

𝕿𝖍𝖆𝖓𝖐𝖘 𝖋𝖔𝖗 𝖗𝖊𝖆𝖉𝖎𝖓𝖌 𝖙𝖍𝖗𝖔𝖚𝖌𝖍. 𝕴 𝖜𝖔𝖚𝖑𝖉 𝖆𝖑𝖘𝖔 𝖑𝖔𝖛𝖊 𝖙𝖔 𝖍𝖊𝖆𝖗 𝖞𝖔𝖚𝖗 𝖔𝖕𝖎𝖓𝖎𝖔𝖓𝖘. 𝕴 𝖆𝖜𝖆𝖎𝖙 𝖞𝖔𝖚𝖗 𝖓𝖎𝖈𝖊 𝖈𝖔𝖒𝖒𝖊𝖓𝖙𝖘.

20240115_125838_0000.png

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 15 days ago  

Fears are good upto a certain extent as far as they work as a protective agent for us. When they start freezing us, they become hazardous.

I don't think there is a single person who hasn't passed theough some losses in the world of crypto. You are just one of them.

It's good to know that you were able to overcome the fear of heights. You seem to be a courageous man who is ready to face more of his fears.


Want to Know more about Hivepakistan?

Ping Us On Hive Pakistan Discord server

To support HivePakistan, delegate Hive Power to hivepakistan and earn 90% curation reward :)

Here are some handy links for delegation


| 50 HP | 100 HP |500 HP | 1000 HP | 5000 HP | 10000 HP | 20000 HP |

A delegation of 500 or more HP makes you earn Hivepakistan supporter badge.

 15 days ago  

I am still overcoming that fear of heights but I don't see myself giving up though. Thanks for the upvote and for reading through

 15 days ago  

!LUV

trojan1, amberkashif sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/4) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

 15 days ago  

in this blog you explore the definition of fear and also discuss the concept of fear and share how you overcome it on personal level. you share role of fear in exposure of overcoming fear is great. you recounts facing your failure in crypto trading and bouncing back.

 15 days ago  

Thanks for reading through.
Hope it was on point though

Congratulations @trojan1! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 800 comments.
Your next target is to reach 900 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Though I can't speak of myself as being afraid of height but I do not thing I can take the risk of climbing that height with no with nothing to support me. You are really a courageous person, I guess that incident made realize more of yourself.

 15 days ago  

Yes it did. Thanks for reading through boss

You are welcome

 14 days ago  

✌️✌️

People have different fears, I'm actually not scared of heights but I fear cockroaches so much 😌😪 they irritate me