Mr. President for A Day

in Hive Learners3 years ago

images (17).jpeg

Source
A President for a day! I might not achieve much but I would definitely effect some changes in my country. Being a President is no doubt the most tasking job in the list of all political position. This requires meetings, visitations, advises, decision etc. So being a President for just a day, I would assume all these but taking 'decisions' is my job for that day.

I have noted 3 different personalities of past Presidents of Nigeria since i was matured enough. And the summary is a President must be hard at taking some decisions without much overthoughts. As such, the first problem i would tackle is the problem of Insecurity. Seeing alot of people killed by herdsmen is really hurting. These brutal nomads have caused enough sorrow to communities in the name of raring cow. So, i will totally place a ban on Nomadic cattle raring. Every cattle owners must have a field reserve and the government would also have a cattle reserve of her own in each state.

Another appalling normal in my country is the high rate of selfish, old, nose-sighted politicians take up political offices and vye for elections. I would relief them of their jobs and execute policies that will favour younger people to run for election. Permanently restrict presidential candidacy age to 30-50 years. I still don't understand what my grandfather wants to do with power? He can just support the government with ideas.
I will also cut down the huge allowances and salaries of all political leaders and create a political environment of public considerations for rewarding politicians.

Economically, I understand that crude oil is the main source of foreign exchange for Nigeria. And there has been no successful policy to refine the crude oil in the country. The resources is always exported to other countries to be refined and then we have to import them back into Nigeria at a high cost. This is sick. How can one harvest corn from their farm and sell it out to people who will re-sell it to you at a higher prices for cornflakes.
So i would release funds to create enough refineries in the country so that we can have our crude oil processed without importing them again.

One other problem I would solve is diversifying our means of earning foreign exchange. Have you noticed some commodities have higher prices than crude oil in the market? Why then dont we produce this commodities? Afterrall, we have alot of fertile land in the middle belt. This is why i would make agriculture more appealing for the citizens, providing them with more mechanised tools and resources for farming.

Finally, I would invest more in the educational sector. Someone onces said, "take away education from a nation and watch it collapse". It's disheartening to see how human knowledge and resource are being lost in Nigeria. Every young graduate are finding every slim opportunity to travel out. This is because there is value placed on them. A graduate gets paid peanuts and to earn bigger you need a master's degree of which you get better chances if you studied abroad. This is so bad.
So, I would overhaul the whole sector, relief old lectures of their jobs with a good pension and have you researchers to take up the role. Revamp the courses outlines of every departments too, thereby, giving young graduates hope and trust in the system again. It is not a bad idea if we have influx of foreign students to come learn in Nigeria.

Thanks for reading without missing any letters and punctuations. 😃

Sort:  

Diversity... this is something our government keeps talking about but never really do a thing about. Looking into it and actually going through will go a long way in boosting the economy.
Thank you for sharing this with us.

 3 years ago  

Honestly, this will make a whole lot of changes in our country

 3 years ago  

I have noticed that many agree on the issue of education, which is vital for every nation. How sad it is to read that many people die at the hands of shepherds, that is, human life is worth less than that of cows for them. But something did leave me disturbed, you talked about old politicians and your proposal to reduce the age to 50 years, I'm 46 and I'm in the prime of life haha. Reading that left me destroyed, you called me almost old and without concern haha 🤣.

 3 years ago  

Reading that left me destroyed, you called me almost old and without concern haha 🤣.

Hahaha. Wasn't my intention tho. I know i did generalised it over edge. But you could consider office jobs and leave politics. You'd do well.

Better still let me make 55years because of you. 😃

 3 years ago  

Hahaha do not worry. I know that when you are young you see ages differently from how those of us who are older see them. You'll remember me when you turn 50 lol 😁

 3 years ago  

Hahaha. Yeah. For good i hope.