How my screen-time is affecting me

in Hive Learners2 months ago


image

All electronic gadgets especially smartphones and laptops have become an integral part of our lives whether it is to work for entertainment or for killing leisure time (squandering useful time on them is also included). keeping aside positive impacts of electronic gadgets because they are all with moderate use instead of rampant usage, excess use of them is causing many harmful effects to us in many ways. This is not what appeared so easily, that harmful habit shows its toxic effects in the long run.

I am the one who has experienced that all. I am much addicted to my mobile. From the moment I open my eyes in the morning till the last time before sleeping, the screen remains before my eyes. This is corroborated by the images I have attached here. My daily average time varies. Sometimes it exceeds up to 12 hours as well but mostly it remains in the 9 and 10 hours limit as I have set 10 hours as an alarming limit.

The reason behind that much screen time I have mentioned is I guess a a leisure routine. When you have nothing to do, you get busy with your phone. Like many ones, my journey to this vehement use of mobile started during COVID-19 times. When I was in quarantine, my mobile phone was my only entertainment and a source to connect outside.
Facebook, WhatsApp, Instagram, YouTube, Twitter, and ecency are consuming my time here. There was Netflix in this list as well but I truncated that. But that masterpiece of abstaining didn’t do much good for me because I utilized other apps instead of getting away from my phone at that time🥴

One day I noticed that sleep is the only time when I get away from my life(mobile) but then I remembered no usman there are two other times when you don’t use your phones while most do. Guess what is that. It is the time to eat something or the time to excrete what I ate. Most people even don’t leave their phones while eating or while sitting in the washroom. So I am good from many ones as well if I am bad from many. This self-satisfaction is also one of the causes why I don’t get away from my phone.

The screen time which ostensibly enlightens our face, actually brings dullness to our life. It affects us psychologically and physiologically.
The first major harmful effect that it causes is precipitating itching and irritation in our eyes. My eyesight is turning weak. Now distant objects get blurred for me and if I use my mobile phone continuously for an hour without stopping, tear starts coming out of my mind as it is happening right now because my eyes are focusing on the screen to write the blog. To ameliorate it though o am unable to reduce screen time but now I switch on eye comfort mode while using the screen. That mode proved very helpful.

Another effect that I noticed is on mental health. The continuous use of electronic gadgets frustrates and depresss you. You can’t focus on your life doings. This I have suffered often and I faced much abhorrence due to it. Lost-mindedness is very often with rampant use of electronic gadgets because of toxic rays emanating out of your screen.

More than normal screen time distorts your sleep cycle as well. You get drowsy but can’t sleep. Sleep fades away from you and looks jaded.Even though We all understand how important sleep is for the human body, a lack of sleep can cause depression and weakness.

One thing I've discovered through my observations is that watching reels and videos on apps like TikTok and Instagram significantly reduces our focus time and potential. This 40-second reel-up narrows your focus so much that you can't concentrate on anything. You cannot do anything consistently, you will always feel tired. Also, excessive use of gadgets has been seen to eliminate physical activities from your life.Physical activities are extremely important in your life.They have a significant impact on both your mental and physical health.Physical activities are essential for a person's health.Otherwise, his brain, heart, and body functioning will deteriorate rapidly. 🤌🏻

Though this is also a serious concern but uptill now i have failed to curb my so much screen time.I will be grateful of someone shares with me tips to control it.

This is my entry for #hl-exclusive and #hl-w107e3.

Sort:  
 2 months ago  

Your screen time really looks moderated, I wish mine will look same. Your advice is really helpful thanks for sharing.

 2 months ago  

Is it moderated then wht will be extreme😂

Spending too much time on the screen has adverse effects on an individual. It refuses physical activity and interactions with others and affects the eyes too. Moderation is very important.

Hello @ukrajpoot
We've noticed that your engagement with other authors is poor, and that's not encouraging at all. You need to make comments on the post of others and also reply to comments on your posts as well. This is to foster growth within the community.

Congratulations @ukrajpoot! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 1750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2024