EBI KILAJOLU FESTIVAL || THE MASQUERADE THAT FLOG KINGS

in Hive Learners2 years ago

Yea, I know you'll be wondering "who as the gut to flog a whole king", I was once in the same shoes as you are right now, wondering why and how, until I experienced it myself, and if you stick around till the last dot of this article, you've have equipped yourself with enough knowledge about the EBI KILAJOLU FESTIVAL.

FB_IMG_16478609431363318.jpg

image source

The EBI KILAJOLU FESTIVAL is a festival celebrated among the Epe people of Lagos state Nigeria, and presently as I write this article, the festival is been held in Epe since about two days ago.

Note: The kilajolu festival is significant for the fact that citizens willing lay down their back for thorough flogging, citizen's also engage in flogging Challenge with their pair group, to show how strong they are or how much they can withstand pain.

hl_footer.png

EBI KILAJOLU FESTIVAL

hl_footer.png

The festival always kickstart year with masquerade kilajolu visiting the palace of Oba Epe to pay homage to the king and as well complete the Spiritual rite, the king will come out to attend to the masquerade and other Spiritual leaders in the palace premises.

The king will then hold the hands of the masquerade and say some prayers and incantations, after which he'll present two cane to the masquerade, the masquerade will flog him and once that his done, the Epe people believe that once the king as been beaten, then no one is above their flogging or dare stand in their way.

FB_IMG_16478610429481048.jpg

image source

hl_footer.png

SIGNIFICANCE OF THE FESTIVAL

hl_footer.png

  • The main purpose of the festival yearly is for the cleansing and purification of the land and it people.
  • It's believe that after the festival, miracle begins to happen, like people getting what they always longed for and the likes.
  • It's believe that, as much a you willingly lay down your back for floging, is how your problems will be flogged out and gives room for blessings to go in.
  • One unique thing above the festival is that it'll surely rain on the day the festival was been held, it doesn't matter if the weather forecast state otherwise, it'll rain, and it's said that the rain is a sign of an answered prayers and acceptance of sacrifice by for god's.

hl_footer.png

WHAT I LIKE ABOUT THE FESTIVAL

hl_footer.png

The kilajolu festival is source of blessings to the people of epe, and it environs,as the festival as ushers in;

  • Tourist from different parts of the country and the world at large. Epe is unique for having many species of fishes that are filled with important nutrition and vitamins our body needs, so this also aid the reasons why tourist visit the festival.
  • It's an avenue to have a reunion with your old Pals and friends, because almost all indigen of epe always come home to participate in the festival.
  • Business opportunities is one of the blessings we enjoyed during the festival, during my undergraduate days, I use to follow caterers and work as a cook, waiter or ushers during the festival, that mean I get to have another means of income aside what I get from my parents during the festival.

FB_IMG_16478610741896544.jpg

image source

hl_footer.png

THE DOWNSIDE OF THE FESTIVAL

hl_footer.png

In as much as people love the festival and tend to come home to celebrate the festival, it still has some down side that seems like a plague yearly, like;

  • Death and injuries of some people is usually recorded yearly, maybe due to so extremists who go beyond the line and flog people who ain't willing to participate in the flogging Challenge.

  • Some use the festival as an avenue to settle old score with their long time enemies.

hl_footer.png

It's worthy of note that I'm not a citizen of Epe, but I hadmy university education there, I've stayed and attended 7 different kilajolu festival in the space of seven years that I stayed there.

hl_footer.png

Thanks for staying with me till this point, I hope you've got value, and learn a few new stuff!

  • What do you think about the Kilajolu festival?
  • What festival is being celebrated in our place?

You can free share your opinions with me in the comments section, and you can also join the @hive-learners community and also join this week 2, 1st edition topic.

hl_footer.png

Thanks for checking out my blog post, if you want to know who @vickoly is😉, I'm a shoemaker, who is also into fashion designing and other related craft, to know more about me you can check out my Introduction post on hive, thanks once again, have a blessed and productive day ahead 🥰🥰.

Sort:  

It's so amazing and I'm really curious about this festival.

 2 years ago  

Yea it was indeed, but then you'll enjoy every bit of it.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 98 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
4

 2 years ago  

Alll my flogging would be wiped out
God please o
But the purification is very important.

 2 years ago  

Lolz, it's very funny, but that's their tradition, and of a truth we all need purification. But I don't need it in that process.

 2 years ago  

Perfectly written post too

 2 years ago  

Thanks

EBI KILAJOLU FESTIVAL looks a best cultural festival. Your Post is so awesome because you also use markdown perfectly. I think it is a perfect post on cultural festival.

 2 years ago  

Thanks so much for your Beautiful compliment of my post, I really appreciate it, have a great day.

 2 years ago  

Interesting read... you really went to town with analysing the event.

 2 years ago  

Thanks boss, yea I've attended the festival several times as a chef assistant, so I know much about it.

 2 years ago  

Ohoh... That's quite interesting!

 2 years ago  

🤝

 2 years ago  

I want to see this culture firsthand, it looks so unique, my friend

 2 years ago (edited) 

Yea it's, and assuming you're in Nigeria you'll witness it, it was celebrated since about 3days ago now, but it's a yearly festival, so there is next year

 2 years ago  

This is amazing 😍
EBI KILAJOLU FESTIVAL is great to see ❣️
Really enjoyed a lot 🤗

 2 years ago  

That's good to know, thanks for your support my friend.

Hmm... Masquerades that flogs kings indeed. Better run for your life if you don't want to be the next.
This is a truly detailed post.
Although, I don't think I will want to attend😂
Make them no use cane finish me😋
Thank you for sharing this with us.

 2 years ago  

Smile, it is really wise not to attend such festival if you don't want to be flogged.

I can boldly say I've never been flogged for the 7 consistent years I attended the festival, but I have a good means of defense.

Like I said I use to work for caterers who cook for them, so if you flog me, just know that there's no food for you 🤣, that always my escape route.