We’re all different - Don’t Assume And Treat People Badly.

in Hive Learnerslast year




I designed this on Canva.

The world we live in has become such that people are treated differently due to several reasons. They include color, gender, tribe, wealth and a whole lot more.

We can term this kind of treatment as stereotype. Stereotype is largely frowned upon but it has managed to slowly become a part of our society where a lot of people don’t see anything wrong with it.

I am of the view that no one is born as a natural stereotype but certain factors change people or mould people into such behaviors. The environment we are raised in, the challenges and trauma we’ve been through and other factors cause some people to behave these way against others.

Most of us have been victims of stereotyping either directly or indirectly. And sometimes even we the victims stereotype against people.

My case was due to my tribe. I am from the Northen region of Ghana and a Dagomba by tribe. You wouldn’t see this as a problem till you leave the North to the South.


151FB3D7-B5EE-4036-A325-A57DFF3141A6.jpeg

T.I Ahamdiyya Senior High School

I was fortunate enough to gain admission into my high school of choice, T.I Ahmadiyya Senior High School I’m Kumasi. The school’s situated in the Ashanti Region of Ghana where the primary tribe there is Akans or Ashanti’s. The language spoken there is twi.

It’s natural that when you find yourself in a new environment, you become close to anything that reminds you of home. And that was exactly what I did. We had a lot of Northerners in my school and so when I realized that I associated myself with some of them.

We didn’t know that this was kind of a problem. The issue is that the school had seen so many of such instances where they form a group and cause problems.

Yes, this was partly true because our predecessors were very troublesome. It gave every other Northerner especially us Dagombas problems because everyone assumed that all Northerners are dagombas.

Because of their past experiences in the school and the general misconception that every dagomba is a troublemaker, it made life frustrating at times. Dagombas are accused of being troublemakers, being rude, being loud and a whole lot more. Every bad thing that happened in the school us Dagombas were blamed.

If a student is beaten and the language used isn’t twi or English, then the dagombas did it. If there’s any misunderstanding anywhere and twi or English isn’t heard, then dagombas did it. Even if some of the students caught are not once there’s a Northener, you’re taken as the leader and the one that caused everything.

The day I got fed up with this was a Wednesday morning at general assembly. The day before, a group of students beat a prefect for seizing someone’s phone. Most of the boys involved were Hausa students but surprisingly our senior house master with the mic in hand announced the prefect was beaten by Dagombas. Like come on even if we did, is that something to say? 🤷🏾‍♂️

We were all mad because we knew exactly those who did the beating. We had an association and our leader with some other executives decided to confront our senior house master and told him it wasn’t Dagombas who did that. All he did was say sorry to them and didn’t even correct his statement at the next assembly.

Anoter instance was when I got to shs 3. This time I was directly involved. I decided to run for a position. So I went for my house master to sign my form for submission and while I was there a house mistress just said they won’t approve any Northerner to stand for election. I was pissed and wasn’t to speak my mind but I just held it in didn’t say anything.




source

My house master then said to her that I wasn’t like my tribe mates and I’m different. I still didn’t utter a word and she still said they wouldn’t because we’re too much trouble.

I was amazed because she doesn’t know me and she just concluded I am trouble. You go through all this and if you’re not lucky you start to treat Ashanti’s the same way because it is very annoying I must admit.

Past experiences probably caused my school authorities to have this misconception and behave this way but then it’s completely wrong. We’re all different and everyone should be given the benefit of the doubt.

I pray and hope we all do better.

Thank you.

Sort:  

Congratulations @yahuzah! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.
You got more than 200 replies.
Your next target is to reach 300 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Quarterfinals - Recap of Day 1
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Sometimes it kinda pissed me off when everything was being blamed on the Northerners. They judge all Northerns as trouble makers probably because a few years back some students did something. So they just brand all Northerners as trouble makers, which is very bad.

 last year  

I know right. It was very annoying what they did. And the thing is they don’t even see it as a problem.

 last year  

I attended shs in upper West and still had that problem. Most of the waala people were muslims and it was a catholic school so we were usually given the worst punishments. Suspended, hard labor, just name it

Sadly these things seem to to everywhere you go

 last year  

Seriously. It happens everywhere. I had heard stories about how some of the christian schools limit the Muslims and that was one of the reasons I always wanted an Islamic school.

This thing of stereotype doesn’t look like it would end anytime soon and it’s just sad.

 last year  

Some people are just tribalistic naturally. And just because someone from one tribe does something, they assume that everyone else from that tribe does the same. A very sad thing we face in our world today.

Thank you for sharing this with us.

 last year  

I don’t understand why people are like that. It’s very annoying when you’re judged for something you have no knowledge of.

 last year  

The people who beat up the prefect were Hausas.. As in Nigerian Hausa?

I know it might be a dumb question but I'm just curious to know😅

 last year  

Oh no they weren’t Nigerian.😂
They were zongo boys who lived in Kumasi and mostly spoke Hausa so everyone called them Hausa boys.

 last year  

But is Hausa like a language on its own that originated from Ghana.. I'm asking because we have Hausa here in Nigeria too.. It's among the three main ethnic groups on Nigeria (Igbo, Yoruba and Hausa).

 last year  

Oh no Hausa isn’t originated from Ghana. Over the years people have migrated into and out of Ghana to Nigeria and picked up the language. I’m certain that’s how come we have so many people in Ghana that speak it now.

 last year  

Oohh okay.. I was just a little bit surprised.

How are you @yahuzah, we have chosen this post to be curated by MCGI Cares(Hive) community. We are inviting you to join our community that study the words of God.

We can also follow our official Facebook page

Keep doing the great job ❤️

image.png

 last year  

I’ll do well to join the community. Thank you very much.

Well done @yahuzah! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to view your board. Click here to check your ranking.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Quarterfinals - Recap of Day 2
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Quarterfinals - Recap of Day 1
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal