Newbies task 3~ Hive keys and Account recovery procedure.

in Hive Learners3 months ago
Hi everyone!! It's the third task of the newbies initiative, how do I feel? I'm excited cause I get to learn new things about the platform in our tutorials, every tutorial comes with a new thing I hadn't known before, our previous tutorial was taken by @vickoly who highlighted our hive keys and the importance of these keys. Imagine you lose your hive keys how do you restore them, well you are about to find out, you might be wondering how one can lose his/her keys, the truth is, it's very much possible.

Black White Sketchy Chalkboard E-Commerce Business Mentor Presentation_20240530_115354_0000.jpg

Highlights on a trustee account

The first question would be, who is a trustee? It is someone you trust cause even the word had said it all, a trustee account is someone you trust and has put in charge of your account in terms of recovery, it is someone who can assist you in recovering your account if anything goes wrong, and it could be a friend but remember it should be someone you trust, someone that can be easily accessible, but by default, the frontend used in creating our hive account is been set as a recovery account but the thing is those accounts aren't easily accessible. Mine is showing Leo. voter cause I used the Inleo frontend in creating my hive account, now imagine something happened to my hive account how do I access Leo.voter? and report the issue I'm having, how do I know the particular person in charge of my recovery account cause these accounts are handled by different people?

How do I change my trustee account?

Firstly log into your hive account and go to your profile, in your profile you'll see three dots that's beside the setting icon,20240530_120345.jpg
then click on it and some items will pop up, and then you'll go to keys and permission.
20240530_120405.jpg
Click on it and some information will pop up again You'll see different option displayed, and you will see the recovery account click on it.
20240530_120424.jpg
It will take you to the next step, where you'll see your recovery account by default If you wish you to change it, which is advisable then you click on the change icon and you're almost done with changing your trustee account.
Screenshot_20240529-205408_Chrome.jpg
After clicking on it, you'll see a page requesting your desired trustee's username and your owner key.
Screenshot_20240529-205443_Chrome.jpg
Then you fill out the page and you are done changing your trustee account.

Hive keys

They grant us access to our account and enable us to carry out different transactions on the platform, the hive keys are used for different purposes, and thats why we should make it our priority to safeguard our keys with jealousy, without these you will not perform any activity on the platform. Just like when you misplace your house key and you find it difficult to enter your house unless you break it but then the hive door can't be broken except you follow the right procedure.

Memo key: This is the less used key though I haven't used it before, it is used to send encrypted private messages on the platform.

Posting key: This key is needed to perform our daily activities on the platform like posting content, I think they should have named it our engagement key hehe!! Cause without this key you won't be able to log into your hive account, you won't be able to place a comment, or like other author's posts.

Active key: This key is used to perform our financial transactions in the platform, without this you can't withdraw the funds in your wallet.

Owner key: This key is very significant, its function is to recover the other keys if lost, or if you wanna change your hive keys this particular key has the veto power to do such.

Master key: This is the baba of them all, this is the most significant key, it is used to recover a lost account and can be used in place of the owner key in changing our hive keys as well.

Peradventure my active key got exposed to the public, what I would do?

Firstly I'm not gonna loud it or panic, I'm gonna keep my cool, and then the first step I'm gonna take is to transfer my funds to my trustee account which is someone I trust, I know my funds are in the right hands, then I'd request for new keys with my owner key or let my trustee account assist me in it.

Thanks for reading🌹

Sort:  

The loud it aspect got me laughing 🤣🤣
Your points are accurate👍

 3 months ago  

Thank you so much😁

You are welcome

 3 months ago  

I Love how fun Your post is, I enjoyed reading it while also getting the most of learning through your well detailed explanations.
You did a great job,Tari,
Keep it Up👍👍