Which do I prefer?

in Hive Learners19 days ago

Before now homemade meals were less expensive compared to takeout, but with the current economic condition in my part of the world cooking at home is getting quite expensive, what makes it preferable is the fact that it can be stored in the refrigerator for further consumption without spending money in purchasing it.

Fast food comes in handy, it saves you the stress of entering the kitchen and making something in your hungry state, so what you do is just place an order and it is served, just like the name "fast" even as fast as it is I still prefer my cooked food.

Certain people find cooking entertaining I don't know if I do as well or maybe I do but what I don't find fun is the after-work, the cleaning of the kitchen part, ahhhh!!! That part counts me out, I wish I could cook and let someone else do the other part, aside from that I love to cook not like a professional chef though but with the few meals I've prepared and from the feedback I've gotten from people after tasting it I think I'm good, cooking brings out this creativity in me when I try out new recipes, there is this feeling of fulfillment I get when I'm preparing my meals especially when the finished product comes out as expected, so I do prepare my food.

Whenever I have a jam-packed work schedule, I patronage fast food at that moment to satisfy my stomach, but then I still create time to cook, not because I love it but for the fact that I love to have food in my fridge, I don't like my fridge being empty well you can say I'm among those women that would say their kitchen is dry cause there is no cooked food.

Source Link
One thing that makes me rely more on homemade meals is safety and health, I've heard a lot of stories about people experiencing food poisoning when eating out, well it isn't the normal food poisoning we see in Nollywood movies though, I feel like everyone's way of cleanliness and taste is different, others won't know how you like to clean your ingredients, they don't know the number of spices you like in your meals.

Let me talk about my experience with an eatery I visited some days back, my friend and I decided to have a little hang out so we visited an eatery, when we were settled in we asked for the menu now a little advice "Don't trust these waitresses" one came and was telling us about their most preferred meal on the menu, she preached about it being the reason behind the crowd in the eatery, with all the sweet words we decided to give it a try.

When the food came it looked very attractive and had a very nice aroma, so we watched our hands and took the first bite I forgot about the taste immediately and was just focusing on the amount of spices they used, I don't know if they used all the pepper in the entire market in preparing it, at that moment I couldn't feel my tongue, so I didn't continue again. Now the chef in charge wouldn't know everyone's taste so the person just focused on preparing the meal without putting those who don't like spicy food into consideration, that's another reason I rely on home-cooked food. I love to be the chef behind my meals.

Thanks for reading🌹

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 19 days ago  

That’s how one waiter at a restaurant I visited recommended a particular dish and it was a disaster. I just had to smile and ask them to bag the food for me cos I wasn’t ready to die.😂😂

 18 days ago  

You even smile, you are a good person, I can't pretend for such a thing though I would frown my face 😁

 18 days ago  

😂😂😂sometimes we try not to make people feel bad, you know.

 19 days ago  

I think cooking and putting it inside the fridge works best for people that are working class and hardly have time to cook because if they dont, they would spend their fortune eating out.
I am a fan of cooking once and keeping it in the fridge, then picking it up when I need to.
This was interesting to read

 18 days ago  

Yeah, putting it in the fridge avoids us heating it always, it even makes the food look more alive and delicious.

Thanks for the nice comment!! 🥰

 18 days ago  

You’re welcome

 19 days ago  

Indeed, having to wash the dishes after cooking is the worst part! I like to cook, but that dampens my enthusiasm a bit. Maybe that's why people like fast food so muc, no dishes to wash after eating!

 18 days ago  

Ahh!!! I hate that part and most times when I'm done cooking my mum would screen my name and ask me to come look at the kitchen, it's tiring though but that's what makes it cooking, it's cooking and cleaning at the same time.

Thanks for your comment!!

I have a hunch you're an amazing cook.

Well, you're right. There are health and safety concerns with fast food. One can never know the condition in which those meals are made, and that's a concern. So for me, homemade food is preferred.

 18 days ago  

I have that hunch as well, I can't tell though but then I know I cook my food😁