The Sooner! The Better!

in Hive Learners2 years ago

image.png



The chirping from my window startled me out of bed. I can't tell exactly how long I had fallen asleep but I do know it was deep and long enough for me not to have heard Tom walking into my room.
He had this habit of walking in on me and taking his favorite spot to watch me sleep and maintaining close eye contact. Doing that must be fun to him but every freaking time he scares the life out of me.
This time it wasn't Tom's eye contacts that woke me up, neither his scent nor breathe but something chirping around my glass window.



Hey there! Sleeping beauty!
It took you so long to get yourself out of the other island huh?

Tom said and then gave me his usual sheepish smile.
I rubbed off my eyes and struggled to get up from bed.
When did you get here Tom? I asked, what brings you to my room to say the least?
Come on Cia! Why talk like we are strangers? We've been friends for almost 15 years now and I still need a reason to visit you? Or surprise you?
Yeah! That's my point Tom? To what do I owe this surprise if I may ask?
Okay, your mom mentioned to me on the phone that you weren't feeling too well and so I rushed down there to check up on you.
As what? A doctor? Please Tom, when will you stop all these acts? I know we are friends but can't you see what my mom is trying to do?
She wants to get us closer than we already are, don't you get the whole drama?
Anyways, I am fine so you didn't have to worry about me

Really Cia? So what is wrong with what you just said? I mean your mom trying to get us to become closer than we are now? There is everything wrong with that Tom
Be reasonable for once, you and I have been friends since fifth grade and I can't believe you are still thinking like a fifth-grader.
Cia, look here, I... keep it down Tom, mom might hear you.
Hear what? What do you think I was going to say? Besides your mom is out already, she left you under my care for the meantime until she gets back.
I am not a baby Tom, I can take care of myself, so you run along now, will you?.




Two (2) hours have gone and Tom is still here, feeling at home in the sitting room. What do I do to get him to leave? I don't like having Tom around cause his presence reminds me every freaking time what a mess he could make of himself if he doesn't stop crushing on me or liking me. I mean why me of all people? I can't even imagine it, let alone stand it.
Don't misunderstand me, Tom is quite the guy every other girl would want or dream of, but not me. He is Tall, with blonde hair and charming-looking brown eyes. He meets the perfect description of a cool or nice guy and to be honest he could be anyone's desire or dream man
I don't just have anything with him or for him.
We are just friends and I keep reminding him of this very fact but he acts otherwise which bothers me a lot.
Mom thinks Tom is the perfect guy for me, for reasons I know nothing about. She has been rooting for Tom since we were younger but my almost weird but calm mind prevented myself from flaring up at the thought of it and each time she brings it up.

Who knows what she did this time? Calling Tom up to check up on me simply because I caught a slight fever? Seriously? Isn't that a bit extreme? Why would she even think of doing that? Can't she just give us a break and just let us be the normal friends we are and have always been since fifth grade?
I was getting furious at the thought of mom's action and I guess it was high time I let her know and understand Tom's place in my life and that there was no way he was going to be anything other than a friend to me.
I think the sooner I had put her through this, the better it will be for all of us including poor Tom.



PS: This is one of my fiction writing with non-existing characters.
I really do hope you enjoyed the twist and turns of the whole work. Let me have your feedback in the comment section, I would love to know what you think of it. Looking forward to reading from you guys, thank you!

Image



My dear viewers and readers!
Thank you guys for being my source of encouragement here, with all the time you dedicate to my blog with your upvotes and reblog, your comments, and feedback as well.
Your support is my biggest encouragement and I will always be grateful for it
THANK YOU...!



              15 March 2022