You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Local Garden Club: Visiting the Annual Plant Sale [Gardening]

in Always a Flower • 2 years ago

Very interesting post 🙂 The garden clubs look very interesting. I have not found local clubs here yet although there is a Rhubarb festival coming up that promises to sell rhubarb plants. The variety and homemade planters plus arrangements look exciting. Although I'm sure you would need an experienced eye to find the true gems. I do like buying locally raised plants which is becoming a challenge as the Home Depots and Walmarts crush the competition and limit the selection. I have loved getting to know the owner of a local tree farm and I expect every seller at the garden clubs share his enthusiasm and some even share his knowledge 😉 There has been a resurgence in heirloom apple varieties as well as interesting new crosses. A local grower took a macintosh only orchard and over the last 10-15 years has grafted heirloom varieties on to nearly every tree. He now grows dozens of different heirloom apples. Growers like him give me hope for the future.