You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dolphins in human care: what do studies of their behavior tell us?

To be frank, I am not a supporter of zoos or dolphinariums, perhaps I say this from my perspective, since in my country, Venezuela, many animals have perished in these facilities, and in aquariums, product of neglect and crisis, have been innocent victims of humans. Maybe, in a kinder place, properly cared for, dolphins can be with some degree of welfare and provide benefits to humans, especially to those who are sick and require their interaction with them; but I am also convinced that nothing replaces their life in the open air, in the wild, in freedom. I admire your work, because I know it is documented in previous scientific research, but as a naturalist, I cannot help but express my opinion. Regards.

Sort:  

Hello @sirenahippie thank you very much for your comments! Everything you say is respectable, I really understand your point of view, actually, this post is written from the point of view of the dolphinariums in Mexico where he had the opportunity to work on some scientific work. One thing that is certain is that human beings have deteriorated their natural habitat (pollution and above all, excessive fishing) so that the average life under human care almost triples what they can live in the wild. Greetings and I appreciate your comments!😁🐬