You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Book Review - Mastering Bitcoin

in We Are Alive Tribe7 months ago

I was also finding useful with regard to the private and public key sections and how they are generated and was shocked to realise that you could have the same public key generated by another, but although it is long odds for this to occur, it could still happen and I wonder what would happen in this situation!

I use an Apple credit card. As I understand it, as part of their security they generate a new number every time you use it. And the Apple reddit is full of people who get assigned numbers that others already have and have random bills show up on their cards.

Even with low odds, having the same number generated does happen enough to affect people. Of course a private key is much longer than a credit card number, so hopefully it happens less there.

Anyway, great review! I really need to learn more about the fundamentals of Bitcoin. I'm invested enough in it that I should know it better.

Sort:  

I didn't know that about Apple. I think the private keys are much longer so it would be like winning the lottery twice or something for it to happen, but theoretically it could happen! I am also invested in BTC, so it is worth to deep dive a little on the tech.

Yeah, totally. I really need to learn more about both BTC and the technical details of Hive, both of those coins being my biggest investments.

It is worth it in the long run I think. There is something new to learn every day.