You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Brisbane river at dusk

And very striking with those stripes @joanstewart. I am back in West End next week so will check out if it is still about. I would love to meet adult members of its family, I have read although I thought they were found only in Australia I was wrong. According to wikipedia they live in Russia, China, Japan, Korea and Borneo etc. Thank goodness for google!
The Brisbane river is a meandering old river which is very prone to flooding when the rain does not stop for a couple of weeks. The last flood was earlier this year and although not as bad as it can be, many houses, businesses and garages under big unit buildings got flooded.

Sort:  

Birds on the move throw one out when seeing them the first time. Interesting to learn where or why the movement transpired.

Flash floods in drier countries is on the rise with weather change, some places have their sporadic heavy falls every couple of years.