A Quick Walk Through The Palace Garden

in Wednesday Walk5 months ago

Sometimes I miss a walk, I mean a walk in a certain place. Otherwise, my walks are pretty much done in the same places, there are a few favorite places where I walk a few times every week.

I love these walks, city-dweller walks that have few alternatives. Walks on the streets and walks in the parks.

Fortunately, sometimes there is more! There are some special places that I rarely go to.

One such place is the Mogosoaia Estate, consisting of the Mogosoaia Palace and its beautiful gardens.

It was an extraordinarily beautiful day even though it is now winter. It was clear and pleasant in temperature, that felt like spring. I had the feeling that winter had passed in one night.

The desire to take a walk in the garden of Mogosoaia Palace appeared instantly and somewhat inappropriately because we had a very short window of time available. Much wiser would have been to postpone the walk to the next day. I couldn't give up once this desire took hold of me.

It was a quick walk but enough to quell the desire to get out of town. I'm also lucky enough to live on the edge of the city, on the edge of Bucharest, and, more importantly, on the right edge. I mean the edge that is closest to Mogosoaia. Mogosoaia is a small town close to Bucharest, so close that I think it will soon be assimilated as a new district of the big city.


Mogosoaia Palace

Mogoșoaia Palace is a historic building in Mogoșoaia, Romania, about 15 km from the center of Bucharest. The complex contains the building itself, its courtyard with the watchtower, the "cuhnia" (kitchen), the guest house (Vila D'Elchingen), the icehouse, and the Bibescu family vault, as well as the church "Saint George" located near the courtyard walls. The Mogoșoaia Palace was in the possession of the Brâncoveanu family for about 119 years, then passed to the Bibescu family. The palace was built by Constantin Brâncoveanu, ruler of the Roman Country. The work was completed on 20 September 1702.


At the entrance to the Palace Garden, there is a playground for children and adults. Terraces and small shops selling sweets, toys, and drinks.

IMG_0001.jpg

It is the place that is specially arranged before Christmas. Our morning stroll found these little shop houses still closed. In the afternoon and especially in the evening this place changes. Lots of colorful lights, lots of people with children, music, and joy for the winter holidays... even if winter is not yet here!

IMG_0004-2.jpg

Very long alleys, perfect for walking, leading to the Palace.

IMG_0023-2.jpg

In the distance, you can see the greenhouses of the Palace, greenhouses made for Martha Bibescu, a princess who inherited this estate and loved it enormously.

IMG_0026.jpg


Mogosoaia Palace


The focal point of this large estate is the Palace and associated buildings. Since I do not intend to give an architectural overview, I will show these buildings only in passing, as a touch. In the foreground is the guest house(Vila D'Elchingen) and in the background is the Palace.

IMG_0046-2.jpg

The entrance tower and the kitchen (cuhnia).

IMG_0054-2.jpg

A touch of the entrance to the Palace, the staircase to the balcony, and the door leading to the basement. To the right is the main entrance, but not visible here. There's also a little sculpture that I like very much, it's called "Motherhood"!

IMG_0058.jpg

Behind the pines, you can see the Palace and to the left, you can see my wife and a corner of the glacier. To the right is the lake!

IMG_0072.jpg


The Garden


Gardens with ancient trees, trees that have formed centuries-old forests on these sites. Conifers keep their leaves green in winter and other trees remain leafless in winter. A contrast that I like and each has its beauty.

IMG_0042-2.jpg

IMG_0010-2.jpg


Lake Mogosoaia


The lake plays an important role in this landscape. It brings a lot of beauty!

IMG_0061.jpg

View from in front of the Palace. The lake borders part of this wonderful area.

IMG_0112.jpg

Every walk has something specific and there is almost always a surprise. The surprise of this walk was... swans!

IMG_0088.jpg

The warm weather this early winter has prompted waterfowl, ducks, and swans, to enjoy a few more mild days. Unfortunately, the coming cold will be a big problem for the existence of these creatures.

IMG_0075.jpg


It was a ride done at high speed, but that didn't detract from its beauty. I took a lot of photos that will help me to make a more detailed presentation of this wonderful place on the outskirts of Bucharest.


BeFunky-design (2).jpg


every_picture.jpg

Sort:  

An absolutely wonderful place... the shadows of the oak trees with the sun behind them, the swans strolling in the water, the tower and buildings that look like they are from another world. Wonderful, I love it! Thank you for taking me there with your pictures!❤️

With pleasure, as always!
Yes, it's a great place near town and thankfully it's well looked after. It is now a cultural center. They organize concerts, exhibitions, and the palace is a museum.

These cultural activities are the best of all, lots of events that reflect art, culture and history. A marvellous.

It was a wonderful place! The first photo of the shop looks like it sell a lot of wonderful items for Christmas.That what I am expecting.

The palace also looks grand, and that made me curious, is there royalties still living there?

I'm glad you like this palace. No, there is no royalty in Romania anymore. This palace is now a museum.

I enjoyed walking with you in this beautiful park around the Mogosoaia Palace
It reminded me of Stryi Park in my hometown Lviv.

Glad I reminded you of your hometown park and sorry you can't get back there sooner rather than later.

In my heart lives a pleasant nostalgia for favorite places in Ukraine, but I enjoy my life in Turkey.

Yes, I think it is very pleasant in Turkey. I've seen the places you've been to and I can tell you I'd love to be by the sea like you are.

WOW that sure is such a beautiful place and a wonderful walk

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk :)

With pleasure, you know how much I love to walk and talk about it.

1


This post has been selected for upvote from our token accounts by @watchlist! Based on your tags you received upvotes from the following account(s):

- @dhedge.bonus
- @dhedge.pob

@watchlist has 2 vote calls left today.

Hold 10 or more DHEDGE to unlock daily dividends. Hold 100 or more DHEDGE to unlock thread votes. Calling in our curation accounts currently has a minimum holding requirement of 100 DHEDGE. The more DHEDGE you hold, the higher upvote you can call in. Buy DHEDGE on Tribaldex or earn some daily by joining one of our many delegation pools at app.dhedge.cc.

Thank you!

I would walk in every seasons of a year in this palace garden.

Glad to hear it.
Do you know that the builder and owner of this palace, Constantin Brancoveanu, was beheaded along with his four boys by order of Sultan Ahmed III in 1714?

No, I didn't know. Anything can happen in this brutal world.

You're right!

It's amazing to be a part of this walk. The photos are nice. The place is more of trees which makes it more beautiful.