Sometimes...

in Wednesday Walk4 months ago (edited)

Sometimes it happens that way...

The new year starts differently than usual, with something good and memorable. I think this is happening to divert our attention and vigilance from what's to come. Unfortunately, there are no signs that it will continue to be good for some of us. A great many of us, I fear!

Last year was the year when the climate was angry and gave us more and more signs that the future would not be the same as it was before. This year I see more and more people, everywhere, more and more angry and eager for change. Change there will be, but I'm afraid we won't like it.

The beginning of the year has been very pleasant for me and maybe because those pleasant moments passed so quickly, I came to such pessimistic conclusions.

I feel that those who have read this far have already become impatient and are wondering... What could have been so good with me at the beginning of the year?

Well, at the beginning of the year, I turned a round age and because it only happens once in a lifetime (as indeed does every birthday of ours, of all of us), I've made it my mission to remember it in all my posts this month.

Yes, I turned 70... which is both good and bad. Good, because I managed to reach that age, and bad... because I reached it! In the sense that it can't last much longer... or, however long it lasts, it's still too short! Haha...

What's unique about this anniversary of mine is that I celebrated it in a very pleasant way. I received a gift of four days of vacation at the seaside. Winter!?! Yes, winter, and it was more than okay.

Photo Grid 16_9.1.jpg

Again, there are two reasons for saying this: Winter didn't look like winter, it was more like spring, and the hotel we stayed at had "Spa" written at the end of the name, which is great in winter. I mean pool, saunas, jacuzzi. It was exactly what I needed, total relaxation and... a few walks.

IMG_20240104_094919.jpg

The people who gave me this mini holiday, some good friends, knew very well about my passion for the sea and for a certain town in Bulgaria, on the Black Sea, which fascinates me and where I go every year to the sea ( only in summer). Balchik!

IMG_0707.1.jpg

So I resumed my walks in Balchik and today I will tell you about one such walk...


Walk through Balchik in the off-season!

Balchik is a small town on the Black Sea in Bulgaria.
It is a place that fascinates and attracts me not only for its beauty but especially for its history.

I am Romanian and I live in Romania. Romania borders Bulgaria. That is why the history of these two countries has some common points; one is the city of Balchik.

Balchik (in Bulgarian Балчик, in Turkish Balçık, in French Baltchik, in English Balchik) is a town on the Black Sea coast, in the Dobrici region, South Dobrogea, in northeastern Bulgaria, 42 km from Varna. It is currently one of Bulgaria's Black Sea tourist attractions. From 1913 to 1940 it belonged to the Kingdom of Romania, together with the rest of Southern Dobrogea, following the Second Balkan War (June-August 1913). In 1940, Cadrilat, including Balchik, was regained by Bulgaria. Source

...
IMG_0421.jpg

Old stories, old wars, territories occupied and then returned. Facts that once happened. These events have influenced the existence of those places and, in particular, the city of Balchik. This is because Queen Mary of Romania chose Balchik as her summer residence. She bought a large area of land on which Balchik Castle was built and beautiful gardens were laid out. The town's development was strongly influenced by the presence of the royal estate there.

Now the castle and gardens are the main tourist attractions in Balchik.

IMG_20240103_115711.jpg

This complex consisting of a castle and gardens, plus a large greenhouse full of cacti is open all year round and tourists come every day to visit. The castle is the same in winter and summer, of course, but the gardens are not as spectacular in winter. The colors of the flowers are gone and most of the trees are leafless, but there are also many evergreen trees.


Balchik Castle and the gardens beyond the fence.

I have visited the place many times, so this time I didn't go in. I was pleased to view the royal estate from the outside, from the long promenade that borders the sea at Balchik.

IMG_0378.jpg
Even though it was early January it was a sunny day. Only the thick coats of the walkers suggested it was cold and seasonal outside.

IMG_0379.jpg
Part of the gardens facing the sea. The white building is the greenhouse with cacti. It houses the largest collection of cacti in south-eastern Europe.

IMG_0383.jpg
Abandoned parasols are another common sight in winter in seaside resorts.

IMG_0388.jpg
The villa of Prince Nicholas, son of Queen Mary, and one of the waterfalls in these gardens. The large green-leaved tree in the middle is a magnolia grandiflora.

IMG_0404.jpg
The Korona terrace so crowded in summer is now deserted and sleepy. In a few months, it will recover.

IMG_0411.jpg
The beach in front of the castle. Sad as any winter beach.


Promenade

I think I said the weather was particularly beautiful and very far from what it should have been in the middle of winter. Global warming is showing its power and has changed the face of the seasons. Taking advantage of such beautiful weather, many of the winter tourists, whom I am seeing for the first time, chose walking and sports.

IMG_0699.jpg

IMG_0372.jpg

IMG_0470.jpg


A bit of sunbathing in winter, isn't it?


Beach on the bench...

IMG_0463.jpg

The usual beach spot has put up its umbrellas and is waiting for summer to come.

IMG_20240103_115111.jpg


The Black Sea

We came for the sea. Paradoxically, we go to the sea... for the sea and then realize that we give the least time to the sea. When we remember that we will be leaving soon, we suddenly miss the sea and try to take it with us in our photos, to the surprise of a local cat, eager to see more people there.

IMG_0360.jpg

All this time of our walk the sea was going about its business. It was the same as summer but much colder.

IMG_0362.jpg

IMG_0675.jpg


There is a saying: Summer is not like winter! And the reverse is true... Winter is not like summer! No matter how warm, no matter how clear and sunny it is, winter is not like summer...

IMG_0355.jpg

But it looks like autumn!


BeFunky-design (2).jpg


every_picture.jpg

Sort:  

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2122.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thanks for the selection. It is always a great pleasure and joy to find myself among these wonderful colleagues.

That they do so much good that in the same way they go to walk over beautiful places every day. When a person gets older, all these things start to look more beautiful. We must go, seeing such beautiful sights relaxes our mind so much.


Want to Know more about Hivepakistan?

Ping Us On Hive Pakistan Discord server

To support HivePakistan, delegate Hive Power to hivepakistan and earn 90% curation reward :)

Here are some handy links for delegation


| 50 HP | 100 HP |500 HP | 1000 HP | 5000 HP | 10000 HP | 20000 HP |

A delegation of 500 or more HP makes you earn Hivepakistan supporter badge.

It means you're young. When you're old, not everything is so good.

Yeah you are right.

First off a belated Happy Birthday you have a few years on me I turned 64 yesterday and had similar thoughts as you

that spa looks beautiful

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk

Have a great day

Thank you! I'm in the same situation as you and I wish you a belated Happy Birthday!

This post was curated by the Visual Shots Team
Join to our Discord Channel
Be part of our Curation Trail

Delegations are welcome

| 25 HP | 50 HP | 100 HP | 200 HP | 500 HP | 1000 HP |

Thank you!

What a beautiful place, what a comforting mini holiday, I imagined walking in that place and said to myself how relaxing.

The last three pictures I liked the most! Thank you!😃

Thank you! It's a nice place to holiday.

Very beautiful!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you!

Ah, beautiful Balchik, once again :)
Always great to see it through your lens too!

!DHEDGE

Thank you. I am now under the impression of a recent trip.

1


This post has been selected for upvote from our token accounts by @lightcaptured! Based on your tags you received upvotes from the following account(s):

- @dhedge.bonus

@lightcaptured has 7 vote calls left today.

Hold 10 or more DHEDGE to unlock daily dividends. Hold 100 or more DHEDGE to unlock thread votes. Calling in our curation accounts currently has a minimum holding requirement of 100 DHEDGE. The more DHEDGE you hold, the higher upvote you can call in. Buy DHEDGE on Tribaldex or earn some daily by joining one of our many delegation pools at app.dhedge.cc.

Thank you!

Post manually reviewed. 😊

Thank you!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @bluemoon.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Thank you!

Happy birthday dear @bluemoon, although I am late, but wishes are wishes even when they are belated and I wish you all the best with all my heart! Good health, love, luck and great travels!
So happy you had such a great gift. Your friends know you well and this place looks awesome! Well deserved :)

As you can see, I'm very late in responding too, dear @traisto!
It seems to be a paradox that I respond late to those I appreciate most... but it's not. I do this because I want to respond when I have enough time to say whatever I want.

I was glad when I saw you started writing here again. I hope it's a sign that the stress of the changes in your life has passed. I hope you have found a path that leads to good in your new place of living. I saw in Stefanos' posts how beautiful the city is. I understand it is the town of your childhood. I saw that Marcos has many pleasant walks.

I'm glad you're back in town and left the farm experiment, which must have been very hard, physically. You must be very busy now and I hope that what you are doing satisfies you. I often think of you two. Thanks for the wishes!

I totally understand what you mean by why responding late, same here for the same reasons!

I have finally found a rhythm that allows me to spend time here as well. I had missed it. A lot. I was reading some posts, but it seemed huge to reply or write a new post. I guess that's a progress! Nafplio helps, it is a very nice place, life is definitely easier here, although there are so many things I have to do, mostly work and walks but I am quite happy with that :)

Really glad you are well! We also often talk about you and we are dreaming of a trip up there! Don't forget that there is no see to cross anymore :)

... mostly work and walks but I am quite happy with that!

That's the most important thing, to be satisfied, to be happy. Life takes care of the rest.
Yes, there's no sea to cross... but how many seas are left to cross, especially for you, who are young. Fortunately, you are part of a seafaring people.
So much I wish we had a good year!