The Narrowest Street From Sibiu

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago

This day is the one that reminds us to walk, if we have forgotten that. I haven't forgotten, but I couldn't.

The excessive heat this week I don't know how long it will continue. What is certain is that this heat wave that is making me less enthusiastic about that the part of the world where I live is now included in the Mediterranean climate.

The excessive heat at the moment prevents me from doing the walks I used to do. I should follow the example of @tattoodjay, who walks very early in the morning. I should, but I can't either. Because at night it's very hot, and I can't sleep and what little sleep I do get is early in the morning when it cools down a bit. And because I'm lazy!

Under these conditions, I have to resort again to the memories in the camera and talk again about the walks I did, two weeks ago, in the beautiful city of Sibiu, in Transylvania. In the middle of Romania. In fact, I'm following a tradition of topics, because all last week I wrote only about Sibiu, from whose image and memory I still can't get away.

From morning to evening, the short holiday in Sibiu was a permanent walk. Sibiu, with an old medieval center, with houses still inhabited that were built 500 - 600 years ago, some even older and obviously some newer.

Apart from exploring the streets and buildings, the people were a reason to walk around. Observing people, mostly on trips and vacations as well as city dwellers, is something I enjoy. I love discovering interesting, educated people and I love seeing their behaviour when they are relaxed.

Following a group of young people on bicycles, I discovered one of the narrowest streets in Sibiu.

Sibiu is not a small city but what I call Sibiu now is the historic center, an island in the middle of the city where the medieval town exists and is no bigger than a village. This means that the locals who live here or meet here know each other. Young people in particular, probably schoolmates, all seem to know each other, they meet in groups at the terraces or go on bike trips together.

The old centre of Sibiu is intended for pedestrians but cyclists are also allowed. For them, it is a pleasure to walk here without fear of cars.

I tried to follow the route of these young people and so I discovered the narrowest road. It is, in fact, a kind of tunnel under the houses that separate the famous squares of this city.

These teenagers know all the shortcuts! Absolutely normal, since they must have been playing around as little kids.

These narrow crossings probably served a military purpose in the past. Now it's like a tunnel that opens into the Little Square, right in the terrace area. Terraces are everywhere and now the purpose is no longer military, just to get from one table to another as quickly as possible...

Of course, we walked along this narrow but very short street. I think we did it in less than 30 seconds.

This is where this short street or tunnel runs, in the Small Square.

There's everything you need here, from the views to the many terraces and cafes. In front of it opens the passage to the main square of the city, the famous Grand Square. A much shorter but wider tunnel.

Another story starts from the Grand Square. It is the central place for events and meetings and needs a separate post.

I am nostalgic for the days I spent in Sibiu. Beautiful days, more than pleasant temperature, no worries at home. I think now that I didn't enjoy this beautiful and short holiday enough.

befunky_design_7_

@bluemoon
Thank you!
Disclaimer
I made this post with passion, effort, and respect for you. I hope the result proves it.
Since English is not my first language, please forgive any grammatical errors that I can easily make.

green_fever_3_.jpg

Sort:  

All alleys and small roads lead to the town center, cooler going through these during the hot days walking.

Lovely photography with fond memories attached to your walk today.

@tipu curate 2

Thank you! The memories remain, thankfully.

Lovely region to explore.

Yes, it is different from where I live. Thank you!

I've been to Sibiu once and I loved its streets, squares, architecture and people, had some great time there. Romania is very beautiful with plenty of places to discover!

!PIZZA
!ALIVE

You are a great traveler! I'm glad that a foreign tourist's opinion of Sibiu is as good.
I can also say that Bulgaria is a very beautiful country full of surprises. Thank you!

Not so great of a traveler lately... I hope for the better though!

It is quite entertaining how we open our eyes widely when we travel abroad and sometimes neglect the beauties of our own countries, heheh :)

!PIZZA
!ALIVE

@bluemoon! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @lightcaptured. (8/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

That's right, that's why I'm glad I don't live in the places I like best.

Hehehe, absolutely get you :)

!PIZZA
!ALIVE

@bluemoon! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @lightcaptured. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

@bluemoon! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @lightcaptured. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

I can so imagine the heat at the moment, it’s hot in southern Spain too. I was glad I was the last 5 days in Paris to get a little bit of fresh air. @bluemoon take care in the heat… 🥵 stay safe. It is just hot to sleep… I know.

No problem seeing this beautiful city again.
Great captures and it is fun to see the locals wizzing around through all the little paths.
Love the street scenes.
Have a wonderful day today 👋🏻☀️

Thank you! I wish you the same.
You were in Paris?! How nice, Paris was my dream when we weren't allowed to travel outside the country, now I'm allowed, but I've lost the desire to go there. I prefer shorter trips (I'm not comfortable traveling by plane).

You are so welcome @bluemoon 😁
Yes… just returned in the middle of the night. It truly was amazing. For us, a short trip from southern Spain to Paris.
That is a shame. Yes, I understand. We didn’t want to travel further also. So stayed rather in the area.
Hope it changes in the future more and you can visit it one day.
It’s beautiful. Will post some posts about it. Just did a walk about seeing canal locks.
Have a wonderful day further 👋🏻☀️
Thanks a lot.

Well, the area where you live is particularly beautiful and well-known. It would be a shame not to travel. I look forward to seeing your posts about Paris.

Yes, you are right… it would be shame if we didn’t travel around the area and see a bit more.
Thank you so much @bluemoon 👋🏻☀️ Much appreciated!
Enjoy the day further 😊

Strangely, we will have a rainy weather both on Saturday and Sunday. Also, Saturday is the start of the religious holiday which will last for about a week. I hope it won't ruin the holiday plans.

I'm glad if it rains, the earth needs water now.

Nice, cycling is very good for healthy, seen in groups,through city street,hallways of old building. Thank you.

With pleasure! Unfortunately for me, I am not a cyclist.

I almost like your memories better - but that is not true ... I like them both, however, your memories are more thought over, even vivid, you pull the tiniest, most wonderful details out. Following the kids, was classic and a good idea! They do know all the good places and the shortcuts.

The old town of Sibiu is such a wonderful city inside of a city. I appreciate every post that you put out on it.

Thank you so much. Back home after a short few days gone.

It's good when you come home, especially when you love your home, @dswigle!
I like memories too, I like to tell from memory... it also gives me the freedom not to be very precise and sometimes to improvise if my memory doesn't help me anymore.

Now, as I write, I realize how inspired I was to choose Sibiu.
I'm glad you liked it!

You are a wonderful teller of stories and your posts always show it off!

You repeat this every time, probably until I say I agree. Anyway, you know better...
Thank you! I can't lie and say I don't like what I hear.

Hehe! I am so glad to hear that! :)

Thank you!

memories, I was in Albania 6 weeks ago, loved Sibiu, I shall be blogging it myself soon

IMG_6253 2.JPG

You have every reason to love Sibiu, if I look at the photo. Thanks for reinforcing what I say about Sibiu, and your testimony has more power. I look forward to reading your impressions from there.

I understand that Albania is a place worth visiting, the Mediterranean climate and a lack of development
(rural and urban, due to the savage communism that was there) that is now interesting to see.

hi @bluemoon yes it is a very beautiful country, with lots of brutal Soviet architecture mixed in with other types, the old villages are remarkable as are the people and food. I loved my time there, and would recommend it to anyone

You're right, thank you!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you!

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@lightcaptured(3/15) tipped @bluemoon (x3)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Thank you!

Such a beautiful place I love seeing your walks there and it makes great sense not walking when the heat there is so intense and getting sleep in the cool hours of the early mornings

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Thanks for understanding, I was sure you'd understand why I shy away from the sun on these hot days.

Ohh yes I shy away from the sun as well these days partially because of the heat and perhaps more so as I have had to many nits of skin cancer removed so avoid the sun as much as I can another reason for my early morning walks

Yes, you have good reason to protect yourself from the sun. In our youth no one said it was dangerous.

Ohh yes indeed, in my youth I was out in the sun often with no shirt of hat day in and day out, little did I know back then

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @bluemoon.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1609.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

That's pleasant new news, @ybanezkim26 and @pinmapple.
Thanks again for considering my little story worth mentioning!

You're welcome!