Walking Through Contrasts

in Wednesday Walk28 days ago

One thing I can't get used to is that there are abandoned buildings in cities large and small and (especially) in tourist resorts visited by many people. These abandoned buildings in an advanced state of decay damage the image of a place, bringing a note of neglect and carelessness. Always when I see such places and buildings I wonder why they are not demolished and the place cleaned of dirt.

I've been thinking and researching and it's not simple. Problems related to ownership, authorizations, and procedures prevent these situations from being resolved quickly.

The other day I took a short walk in a small area of Balcik in Bulgaria. It was a walk as long as a staircase.

IMG_0146.JPG

The staircase is a shortcut and leads from the seashore, past the castle garden in Balcik, to the town above. This route is old, as is the castle, and the staircase was built around the 1930s.

IMG_0147.JPG

This route greatly shortens the distance between the waterfront promenade and the part of the city in this area. The slope is steep and the journey is hard, especially for older people like me, but the journey time is shortened by at least half an hour.

IMG_0149.JPG

This staircase-long walk ended rather quickly but brought back a lot of images that I am now in a hurry to share with any viewers through my eyes!

The start of the walk...

IMG_0123.JPG

IMG_0126.JPG

... and a glance over the shoulder to the sea.

IMG_0127.JPG

I passed by something that can be classified as: yes and no...

Yes and No!

We spoke at the beginning about abandoned buildings that spoil the image of some streets, towns, or tourist resorts. In Balchik, somewhere in the central part of the promenade where most tourists walk, there is a group of buildings that should have been villas and hotels. They were abandoned before completion and I believe they did not have building permission.

IMG_0015.JPG

Fortunately, nature has done its job and covered these decaying houses as much as possible.

IMG_0014.JPG

My upward walk allowed me to see more of this unhappy place.

IMG_0131.JPG

IMG_0132.JPG

A closer look at these abandoned villas made me realize they can still be saved. With a good investment, they could be repaired and refurbished. The place where they are built is exceptional.

IMG_0140.JPG

The fact that it would be a good idea to restore these houses is shown by a cluster of recently built villas nearby, on the other side of the staircase I walked up.

IMG_0134.JPG

IMG_0136.JPG

The people who built this place went right into the part with the abandoned houses and set up a small square (which will be a parking lot, in my opinion) which they decorated with an old anchor. Very nice!

IMG_0133.JPG

This new image of the place gives me hope. If they can acquire the old houses nearby, I believe that these people will be able to bring them to the same degree of beauty. It's in their interest. The access to their villas passes by the sad abandoned houses and this view could disturb their tourists.

IMG_0137.JPG

IMG_0138.JPG

IMG_0139.JPG

Abandoned and lifeless houses are one of the saddest sights possible.

IMG_0141.JPG

There is hope, fortunately. Just as nature is always reborn, so can man-made things change for the better.

My staircase helps me to see the landscape from a height...

IMG_0142.JPG

IMG_0143.JPG

IMG_0144.JPG

The walk is pulling me up. I hope shortly I'll see more repaired houses here and a more attractive place. The interest in these buildings has almost made me forget the sea.

I am now looking for the sea hidden by the abundant vegetation...

IMG_0148.jpg

IMG_0151.jpg

IMG_0153.jpg

Balchik

IMG_0157.jpg

Return to the sea

IMG_0165.JPG

The Black Sea now has faint traces of green but more greyish.

IMG_0167.jpg

I like to go to the sea before the season starts in June. The lack of crowds affords more relaxation and observation time. I invite anyone who can visit Bulgaria, Balchik, to try this walkthrough of less "touristy" places.


Make a point of looking around and up and see what you can find to get shots of that otherwise you may miss.


This is one of the recommendations made by @tattoodjay for those who prefer walking and are used to sharing impressions and photos in his community, Wednesday Walk, every Wednesday, like this one today.


BeFunky-design (2).jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

A stunning, secluded and spectacular place to explore with a beautiful view of the sea. What more could you ask for!❤️

It is not nice to see tourist sites surrounded by abandoned buildings, that certainly damages the appearance of the place that no matter how beautiful it is, the ruins around it will overshadow it.

Greetings @bluemoon

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

I feel the same way about abandonment, and those 1930s stairs are still a glorious path. Good walk, always keeping the body active.

I think there's a lot of abandoned at your place, but this may have a certain charm and remnant of a world gone by, @nanixxx.

Yes, everything here is a mess hahaha... in some places it's not. Maybe next month I'll go to one of those places. 😉

It seems to me, from a distance, that there is a charm of cities left over from a bygone era.

Whenever there is such a beautiful place, we are very happy to be there and we get to learn a lot from seeing it. I also try to do the same.