WINDY WEDNESDAY IN THE PORT OF LIZNJAN

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago (edited)

The day was gray and cloudy. I had to buy some stuff in the grocery store, and then ...

005_samomalo.jpg

... when the shopping was done, I needed a short walk and a bit of fresh air & open space ...

(Enlargeable)

... so I drove to Liznjan, the village that I often visit when I feel like walking.

1_vitrocerada.gif

The wind was pretty strong ...

(Enlargeable)

... the fishing boats were rocking on the water ...

img_4267_samomalo.jpg

... and I was feeling great.

2_vitrocerada.gif

The wind always brings a certain excitement to the overall atmosphere.

(Enlargeable)

When the usually calm and inanimate things start to relentlessly move ...

(Enlargeable)

... flutter, and sometimes even sing, it looks like the sleepy little harbor it's celebrating something that we humans don't see and can't understand.

liznjan_invert.gif

Here I changed a bit the scene in Photoshop. Only a simple INVERT option was applied to the series of shots that ended up forming this animated GIF.

(Enlargeable)

In this very ordinary shot, all the moving stuff is still, frozen in time.

img_4266_malo.jpg

Only two windsurfers were active in the bay. One was speeding across the waves.

(Enlargeable)

The other, connected to the kite, was pretty high above the water when this photograph was taken.

(Enlargeable)

Meanwhile ...

img_4080_malo.jpg

... on the dock ...

(Enlargeable)

... the boats were still dancing on the water. The rhythm was more or less the same.

(Enlargeable)

A friend was also there with me.

(Enlargeable)

Her hair was dancing all around her face.

img_4081_malo.jpg

The main dock for bigger fishing boats functions also as an outdoor repair shop for local people. So the area is pretty large. As you can see in this photograph.

img_4082_malo.jpg

Here you can see a bit of celestial light caught in a shallow puddle on the ground.

4_liznjan_invert.gif

In this GIF you can see all that stuff in movement. The photographs were inverted in Photoshop, as you probably already noticed. I like this simple effect a lot 😄 as you probably already noticed, I guess.

3_vitrocerada.gif

This fluttering blue tarp was photographed in another inlet near the main dock, a place with many smaller, makeshift piers with small boats of various types tied to them.

img_4422_malo.jpg

Before reaching that part of the port ...

(Enlargeable)

... I took another shot on the main dock. I photographed this lovely sailing boat that is out of water for maintenance. The clouds above it looked pretty cool.

img_4426_samomalo.jpg

In this wide shot, you can take a better look at the inlet with small boats. And see practically everything that's floating on the water in that area.

img_4268_samomalo.jpg

Some small boats were stranded on the shore ...

(Enlargeable)

... and among them ...

img_4350_samomalo.jpg

... I saw the one with the blue tarp ...

4_vitrocerada.gif

... that was fluttering like a cloak on the superhero in flight.

(Enlargeable)

That simple tarp looks kinda majestic on a day like this.

img_4428_malo.jpg

Here you can see a nice collection of garbage ...

img_4427_malo.jpg

... in the decaying wooden boat that is slowly, piece by piece, rotting and disappearing.

img_4423_malo.jpg

This boat was stranded closer to the sea. It probably gets reached by the water when the tide is high.

(Enlargeable)

And that's it. It wasn't a long walk. Just a short rambling around the docks before returning home to eat something and continue working on posts to publish here on HIVE. It has almost become a full-time job.

AS ALWAYS, THE PHOTOGRAPHS ARE MY WORK - THE END.

Sort:  

Well you know I love walking at the port here and hence found seeing your post so interesting to see

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

I can see you Wednesday was lively with a little activity. Mine was no fun 🙂but I’m grateful for life 🙂

I used to live on an island and I loved going down to the dock on foggy, windy evenings to listen to all the clanking of bits of metal on the masts and such. It was all the creepier when you couldn't see through the fog.
The action shots really brought me back to that. Thank you for sharing.

True 🙂things look creepy and mysterious through the fog. And offer many opportunities for great photography. Glad you like the post.

Hi @borjan ,I agree with you, working on this panel takes time, but I like to see the rewards, not only economic ones, the human factor is important, I comment and comment, I like it and in this way sometimes some comments or posts make my life happy, the work that most of us have, plus the one here is a complement to this life full of conflicts and sad news.
A hug

I see so many ships that are on the shore are they not operating? and I also saw some ships that had been damaged, but the scenery you shared was very beautiful, I have many things to learn

Yes, I think that those stranded ships need a bit of repair. Or a fresh protective paint, at least.

It seems so, so that it looks a little newer if you add new paint.

Yes, it looks newer, but that's not the main reason for painting. The paint contains chemicals that repel sea organisms that get attached to the boat or make minuscule tunnels if the boat is made of wood.

yes, i agree with you, i see it often here, if the boat has a leak it will definitely be covered by new paint, and also remove any objects stuck to the boat

Great share, thanks.
!PIZZA
!LOLZ

I’ve been told crocodiles can grow up to 15 feet
but I’ve never seen one with more than four.

Credit: reddit
@borjan, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @brianhuang
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (6/6)

Wonderful seaside images on a windy day!

Have a great day.
!PIZZA
!LOLZ

What do Thanksgiving and junkies have in common?
Cold turkey.

Credit: networkallstar
@borjan, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @steem82868
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (8/10)

I really like the harbor view as it feels very peaceful and comfortable. thanks for sharing it's been so long i haven't seen this

Very windy, but nevertheless taking a ride in little boat is amazing. The coastal air is clean and fresh🌊

Lovely captures and what a way to explore on a Wednesday

beautiful wednesday in early march, have a nice day

what a beautiful view where is that place

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@steem82868(9/10) tipped @borjan (x1)

Join us in Discord!