Immersing in the Vibrant "Art District" of Bacolod!

in Wednesday Walk3 months ago

Walking through the shadows, I get into this corner full of incredible masterpieces – a product of the creative hands and minds of the people of Negros was the jaw-dropping Art District of Bacolod. The artworks that stood in the dark gave me chills and a newfound admiration I never felt before for all the genius artists out there! I was in awe and had so much appreciation for these artistic people!

Picsart_24-01-30_19-36-21-255.jpg

Undeniably our tour in Bacolod Negros gave us unexpected wonders be it the natural beauty of the island or their heritage sites!. When I expected the least, the surprises kept coming, especially when I was able to visit the city’s famous Art District!

IMG20231229180854.jpg

IMG20231229181004.jpg

So how about coming with me as I revisit this interesting Art District of Bacolod? Let’s go! Taraaa!

IMG20231229181236.jpg

IMG20231229180705.jpg

Located at the heart of Bacolod City is a space where artworks of talented people come to life. As I entered, the metal statue which I honestly didn’t comprehend what was it all about intrigued me. I find it weird, but I think that is what ART is all about. Interestingly weird.

IMG20231229180719.jpg

In the entrance alone, one could already tell that he/she is about to enter a kingdom full of art because the walls of the buildings are filled with paintings and drawings depicting creativity and expression.

IMG20231229180712.jpg

I was taking huge strides of steps as I was very excited to see all the art displayed in this corner and I wanted to finish exploring everything in a short time since my family was waiting for me in the van with their tummy growling coz we hadn’t had dinner yet. But deymmm , who wouldn’t slow down upon seeing these amazing masterpieces showcased in this place?

IMG20231229181253.jpg

Drop Dead Goddess!

The very first display I passed was this wall with a big mouth opening. My brow raised since there were sculptures of animals such as a dog, a monkey, and a dragon seemed to guard this intriguing space. At first glance, it looked like some girly thing because of the vibrant colors and flower design, but I was surprised, before me stood a statue of some skull of a Virgin Goddess.

IMG20231229180747.jpg

IMG20231229180756.jpg

Though it was crowned with flowers and draped in a robe I’m pretty sure it wasn’t the Virgin Mary because it was bringing an owl and an overall eerie aesthetic face. Haha! But yeah! That was an incredible craftsmanship! And when I shared it with my niece, she revealed that it was a character in some movie!

IMG20231229180930.jpg

IMG20231229180935.jpg

Who’s dropping their eyeballs?!

I continued my stroll, I was even amazed at how this space was filled with many corners that one could turn to and be surprised by the different art that each corner revealed. Each turn awaits a new set of creativity! One of the cute crafts I found was these eyeballs scattering on the ground. Haha. They are perfect spheres and each of them comes in different designs! Haha. I couldn’t help but playfully wonder if some Cyclops dropping their eyes here!

IMG20231229180848.jpg

IMG20231229180820.jpg

Even the swings are artistically made with black metal vines adorned their flowers! I was torn between trying them or just staring at them! Haha! Those were the most unique swings I ever encountered.

IMG20231229180837.jpg

IMG20231229180829.jpg

Cars filled with Art!

One of the most amazing pieces I found in the Art District is these old cars covered with some paintings like of that street art! I have no skills in identifying car models, but I believe the cars being displayed adorned with expressive designs are vintage ones! Each of them has a fiery design which reminds me of some hot and wild car racing in movies.

IMG20231229181046.jpg

IMG20231229181104.jpg

IMG20231229181041.jpg

IMG20231229181319.jpg

Which one do you like? Fire or Ice? Haha

Metalled Mens!

Worry not, because there are ‘armed men” guarding the district 24/7. So, everyone will surely feel safe while strolling. The armed men I’m referring to are these men made of metal. These robotic guards are excellently crafted from metal scraps. It's so brilliant for these artists to create such pieces. Some I say we're coming from the motorbike parts. There’s so much talent behind these robots.

IMG20231229181113.jpg

IMG20231229181117.jpg

IMG20231229181144.jpg

While the metal sculptures are definitely men, there’s one creation in the corner that showcases the feminine and sensuality of a woman. It depicts the curvature of a woman that floats underneath the see-through cover.

IMG20231229181155.jpg

The Murals- Creativity and Expression on the walls!

As I moved from one captivating corner to another, I was even stunned by the mural paintings I saw on the wall! Each of the murals is artistically and meaningfully created by whomever the artist is. Those walls are a living gallery! I’ll show you some of the murals that left me mesmerized which also provoked some thoughts in me.

IMG20231229180805.jpg

This mural painting of 5 men with elongated mouths surrounding the Virgin Mary piqued my interest. What do you think they mean? What does it symbolize? Mhmm?

IMG20231229181036.jpg

Next is the black and white two-faced painting. In the simplest sense, the mural depicts two personalities, a duality, but I just don’t know what those multiple eyes mean.

IMG20231229181242.jpg

I get to pass this wall of a building with interesting murals. I think the mural portrays an ‘inferno”? or was I seeing it that way?

IMG20231229181021.jpg

Aside from those thought-provoking murals I encountered, I found a cute roll-up door of a store. It appears funny when it's close. I’m curious about what would it look like if the roll-up door was open.

IMG20231229181332.jpg

More of the murals:

IMG20231229181226.jpg

IMG20231229181416.jpg

IMG20231229181431.jpg

32
IMG20231229181539.jpg

I so love how this Art District provides an open space for those people who are passionate about the arts. I think it feels great to have this kind of place where they can showcase their creativity and unique individuality as we all know not everyone possesses such a creative mind. I recommend this place as a “must-visit” when traveling to the island of Negros. The art district of Bacolod is truly a window of the souls of the artists in this city.

IMG20231229181354.jpg
I felt so blessed that I got to immerse my self in this space. I have my forever appreciation for these amazing people.

Cheers to all the artists out there!

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR READING!


1705734669528.jpg

🖊️@callmesmile

📚She is a public school Teacher on weekdays, a Jill of all trades on weekends, outdoorsy on holidays, a mother, and a blogger in between. 😉

🍃She's in love with nature and the simple life of the countryside. As a lifelong learner, as she is, she is attracted to learning opportunities and growth.

❤️Join her as she shares life's simple joy and its beauty through traveling, exploring nature, the wonders of creating things through some of her DIY, the good things about countryside life, a glimpse of being a Public School Teacher, and more!

If her content makes your heart smile, please leave an upvote, comment, or reblog.🤗

"TOGETHER LET US MAKE LIFE MORE BEAUTIFUL.
SPREAD KINDNESS AND SMILE MORE OFTEN.
🥰"

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png


Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Looks so colorful in there, tita. How cool!

Yes baby girl.😍 it was an art hub full of brilliance. 🥰

That's wonderful, tita 😍

Wow. This is awesome. Kudos to the great talents behind these work of arts! And proudly pinoy!

It was my first time exploring the Art District and my heart was just full of appreciation Maam. Talented kaau mga pinoy Ma'am! 😍🥹

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2135.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

It's is really a jaw dropping and unique display of art.

And thought provoking as well! 😊🥰

Congratulations @callmesmile! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 36000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 37000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2024 Winners List
Be ready for the February edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2024

Congratulations @callmesmile! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2024 Winners List
Be ready for the February edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2024