To The Faraway Countryside - Finding The Lost.

“Suppose one of you has a hundred sheep and loses one of them. Doesn’t he leave the ninety-nine in the open country and go after the lost sheep until he finds it? And when he finds it, he joyfully puts it on his shoulders and goes home. Then he calls his friends and neighbors together and says, ‘Rejoice with me; I have found my lost sheep." Luke 15:4-6

Hiking in the middle of the grasslands and sugarcanes under the scorching heat of the sun, I found myself walking full of mixed emotions and my mind full of running thoughts. Today's walk is not my typical exercise walk or my leisure walk. Today I'm out, with my school uniform on, (thankfully I was not wearing high heels)on a hike to these unending greens of grasses leaving my 38 sheep, just to find my lost two sheep.

IMG_20230420_130501.jpg

I left my 38 good students to find the two that are lost.


A brief background.

It's almost 3 months since I noticed my two Grade 12 students (John and Dariel) excessive tardiness and consecutive absences in class. We are in the middle of their Work Immersion and we only have more or less 2 months left before their Graduation, yet these two haven't submitted their requirements and hadn't complied with any single requirement for the semester.

"Don't they like to finish their Grade 12 and graduate this school year? Are they dropping from school already?", I asked their neighboring classmates more than 10 times already.

"Maam, mu-eskwela paman daw sila, they want to graduate". (Maam, they said, they still want to go to school and graduate!") The answer I always got from them.

"But where are they? How can they graduate if they don't come to school and learn!?" I'm honestly getting frustrated with these two.

So I sent them a message via Facebook messenger asking them to come back to school so we can talk and discuss if there was any problem but only got No response from them. I ask their classmates too to bring them to school. Yet, No John and Dariel appeared in the room. This time I wrote a letter to their parents to come to school together with their sons for a heart-to-heart talk and identify what needs to be addressed. Still NO Parents, No Jhon and Dariel showed themselves in the school.

Technically, Jhon and Dariel were already considered "Dropped-outs" for this school year, but for one last chance, for one laaasst chaaance, I need to go and look for them. I must visit their homes, reach out to them, listen to them, and solve what needs to be resolved, after that if still they won't come to school, then I'll drop them automatically and officially.

This may sound very kind, but I honestly am angry, frustrated, and disappointed at them and I think I only had a last drop of patience for them. How could they take for granted their Free Education and my concern for them knowing for a fact that they are one of those students who really need assistance because of their poor performance at school? (Deep sigh)


A walk finding the lost.

Wednesday, 2 o'clock, I set out on a mission of reaching them. Together with me was Jayson, their neighbor, and classmate too.

IMG_20230420_130818.jpg

I was informed that Jhon and Dariel were living in a very countryside and that we can reach the place if we walk but it'd take a lot of time, so Jayson suggested that we will ride a motorbike going to the highway, and walk once we get to the path going to the village where they live.

IMG_20230420_130429.jpg

I learned and discovered that the way going to the village is private property and no stranger is allowed to enter. I talked to the local guard and told him my purpose and he lets' me enter the gate. I learned from Jayson, that every day, they need to pay 10 pesos (0.18USD) for them to pass the gate. They don't have a choice because there's no exit other than this.

IMG_20230420_130444.jpg

IMG_20230420_130933.jpg

We started walking going to our destination. I see no houses so I was wondering how far were we going to walk. And instead of asking, I started to enjoy walking and felt at ease because of the beautiful scenery in front of us. The air was just so fresh and soothing. I must admit I felt the enchanting tranquility of the whole place.

IMG_20230503_162916.jpg

The beautiful rolling mountain, the azure blue sky with its lovely clouds, the lush green sugarcanes and cogon grasses, the view of the little valleys and hills, everything is naturally perfect. I somehow temporarily forgot my troubled thoughts of failing them or finding them and my frustration for them. Little by little the scenic and refreshing view took my heavy mixed emotions away.

IMG_20230503_162929.jpg

IMG_20230420_130852.jpg

As I keep on walking and gazing at the scenery I could feel that my heart started to feel lighter. I was silent during the whole walk as I filled my lungs with fresh air. Gone are the thoughts of scolding them and reprimanding them. I was totally soothed, nature was literally cooling me down. And I couldn't be more amazed by that instant change in my mood!
What a therapy!

IMG_20230420_130559.jpg

IMG_20230420_130908.jpg

We kept on walking on and passed by a small basketball court, fortunately, Jhon and Dariel were there! They were surprised to see me and so was I. I could also see that they felt ashamed and sorry for themselves.

IMG_20230420_130633.jpg

IMG_20230420_130755.jpg

We had a serious conversation. I gave them conditions and we had an agreement.

IMG_20230420_130733.jpg

IMG_20230420_130649.jpg

The next day, I saw them at school. They gave me a bright smile and I nod at them as a sign of welcoming them back. I know in my heart, that the walk I did of finding them will forever be carved in their hearts. I hope they will remember, that once in their life when they were lost and thought of quitting, there was one teacher who looked after them, believe in them, and gave them one more chance. (Ah gotta end this blog now, I'm teary-eyed.)


Takeaway:

Teaching in a Public School is a very challenging noble profession. It goes beyond filling students' minds with lessons, giving grades, and disciplining them; it is influencing the student, touching their lives, and showing care, responsibility, and empathy towards them.

Lastly, a walk with nature is 100% therapeutic and soothing.

IMG_20230420_130616.jpg

That's it for this parable-like Wednesday walk. Thank you so much for reading. I wish you all safe and well always.

Don't forget to smile often!😊😍🤗

IMG_20230420_130832.jpg

Sort:  

Very beautiful scenery, wonderful walk! I hope that Jhon and Dariel will finish school successfully, education is really important!

Hopefully Ma'am they will. And yes the scenery is simply beautiful. If I were the one living there, I'd be motivated each day to walk with that kind of scenery.

Thank you so much for dropping by.

Sometimes when life gets rough and tough, when we're losing hope, when we ran out of reasons to believe in ourselves, we just need one person who believes in us. This could really make a difference.🤗

What you did @callmesmile says a lot about how much love you have put into your calling.❤️

Thanks, Nenetz for the kind words. 😍

It feels great to be sometimes the source of courage and belief in oneself. Though there are times nga mkasapot usahay ang students. But at the end of the day, it feels fulfilling to have helped them and others.😍

True smi. Dakong kalipay gyud makatabang tag studyante. Para sa atoa, trabaho ra na nato pero para sa ilaha, basin saving grace na.☺️

You're an inspiring one..you don't take
teaching for granted but in all your heart....you will be remembered by those students of yours once they left the school. I hope all teachers are as kind and responsible as you.
!LUV !LADY

You have already used the number of tips you had for the day. Please try again tomorrow or buy more LOH tokens to send more tips.

These words are so beautiful to hear. Thank you so much, Miss Jane. Words like these inspire me more to be the best teacher to my students.😍

Just keep smiling even though some students are stubborn. 😅, as your name shows hehe

Congratulations @callmesmile! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 1500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 2000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners
Feedback from the May Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2023 Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal

Salute to you for taking a time out to go and check out on your lost sheep. That's truly a noble thing to do. Hope Jhon and Dariel will put their hearts your concern for them, and in turn take this as an inspiration to finish school.

Awww😍 thank you Maam/sir for these words of appreciation.😍

Hopefully, they will take their studies seriously and graduate this June!

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on my post, I do appreciate it.😍 Have a great day!🤗

the scenery is s beautiful, but overshined by your kindness to take such a walk to try and help your two students

I clearly touched them since they came to school the next day

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk, its my pleasure to host it and see all the posts each week from all around the world, including yours, if you have time visit some of the other walks this week there are so many interesting ones

My heart is touched by your words, sir. Thank you so much for that.🙏

I am thankful that a community like this exists to share our beautiful walks.😍

👍🙂👍

What an inspiration! Thank you for your kindness cher, for going out your way to reach out to them. Need ra jud nila a little push to keep going! Well done to you 👌❤️

Aww, thank you.😍

And you're right, students nowadays are easily distracted so they needed help and motivation. Hope lng id magbinuotan na, kay layu2x jd ug bagtasunon.😃

Have a great day @pinayinireland !☺️

You are a great teacher mam smile. Grabe sacrifice ang teachrs jud. But it will all be worth it. One day these two sheeps will graduate and come back to you and remember how you change their lives mam.

I love this walk. Beautiful scenery. Ka kas pod ug kwarta muagi dha mam kay magbayad paman ug dies. Mao cguru di ganahan muschool kay giusikan sa 10 pesos..

Gidaginot jd sa haciendero ang mga pobre Maam, may pa entrance fee .

Hopefully they will finish their studies and help their parents. I felt like a hero when I looked for them bsan na ug gisapot ko slight sa ila.

Thanks Maam @bluepark for your kinds words. Good evening Maam!😍

Wow, I can imagine that teaching in a public school is not easy and that you need empathy for the students, great how u went about it!
Best regards :)