A walk through the exterior of the castle of Grajal de Campos and the church of San Miguel

in Wednesday Walklast year (edited)
Hi friends,

I would like to show you a short walk I took last Friday through a beautiful village in the province of León (Spain) called Grajal de Campos.

Last Friday, for work reasons, I traveled from Oviedo to the city of Palencia. Normally, I usually make the whole trip to Palencia by highway. However, on this occasion, as I was not in a hurry to reach my destination, I took a detour on a local road and I was pleasantly surprised when I came across a beautiful castle in a village called Grajal de Campos.

After making the relevant commercial visits in Palencia, I made the same way back and stopped in the village of Grijal de Campos to take a walk after several hours of driving.

As I had my camera in the trunk, I didn't hesitate to take some pictures while walking around the castle and the center of the village.

The Castle of Grajal de Campos is a military construction of the XVI century that was built on the remains of a previous castle of the X century. It is considered the first artillery castle in Spain. It is an impressive building designed by the architect Lorenzo de Aldonza. It has a quadrangular floor plan with 4 towers where the cannons of the largest caliber were located. It is built on a steep slope. It was declared a National Monument on June 3, 1931.

Source

Despite the passage of centuries, this castle has never been restored. Although some damage can be seen in the upper part of one of its facades.

According to the information on the website above, visits can be made from Thursday to Sunday in winter and from Tuesday to Sunday in summer at limited hours. I arrived at the village outside these hours and found the access closed, so I went to the center of the village, where the church of San Miguel is located and also the town hall square.

After this brief walk, I continued my way to Oviedo, but already having in mind to make a longer visit to this town and to visit the inside of the castle.

Best regards.

Cover and separators created with https://www.canva.com (free version).

Photographies taken with my Sony Alpha 6000L with a 24.3 MP APS-C sensor and a 16-50 mm lens.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version).

Sort:  

Hello, what a good publication, all a fortress, in my town where I live in Venezuela we also have a castle similar to that, it is called Fortin Solano, it is also from the medieval era, they are large structures that were made to prevent enemy attacks and the posts where the cannons go are undoubtedly scary, nice publication, a place worth admiring, greetings.

Thank you my friend for your comment.

Regards

!ALIVE

@theshot2414! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @castri-ja. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 135 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
5

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Wow I am so jealous of you guys over there having such a deep and intriguing sense of history with all of the villages and castles!

Just imagine all of the incredible stories that these walls and even the cobblestone streets have seen over the centuries! Imagine if those walls could talk!

Thank you for sharing as this is now on my list of future travel destinations!

I think there are more than 400 castles in Castilla y Leon. There are many of them well preserved and when I come across one of them I don't hesitate to photograph it and show it to Hive.

OH WOWWWWW 400 castles! That's absolutely incredible!

I thought that there would be a few here and there but that many is just mind blowing really!

Oh wow, please make you you tag me in your posts of them when you do because although I plan to get there one day...someday...who knows when and what can happen between now and then...so just incase, please be my castle tour guide! 😃

WOW what an impressive Castle great to see it from so many angles

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk :)

Now I have learned that there are 80 more castles in towns near the one I brought this week.

I can't wait to go back to that part of Spain and find new castles.

thats cool I would love to see more of them

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1722.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: