A Wednesday Walk with my friend Rose from France

in Wednesday Walk9 months ago (edited)

Hello there, everyone in the Wednesday what Community.

I hope you are well this week and having an amazing and safe time where ever in the world you are and what are you doing!

And ofcourse, I can’t go past my greetings without waving to @tattoodjay over there in the USA and say thank you For creating this community for us to share our #WednesdayWalks with each other around the world and if you’d like to join in, please click on this link it to find out how. https://peakd.com/c/hive-155530/created

So I couple of weeks ago, I spent the week sick with Covid or some old-fashioned equivalent of it self isolation for a week and worked from home.

At the tail end, I had a wonderful friend arrive from France, who stayed with me for two days, which lucky enough coincided with my two days off work, so on the first day, she took pity on me and cooked me up some traditional savoury, French crêpes for breakfast as I had only been living on soup for the previous week.

And of course Indy had to jump in and make sure those traditional French crêpes were up to scratch before I could eat them.

INDYA ND CREPE.jpg

And apparently they were pretty good, so good that I had to wait my turn before she let me eat any!

INDY AND CREPE2.jpg

Then after breakfast, we wandered into the CBD as we both had to run some errands.

On the way, I took many photos of Rose so she could send them back home to her family and friends in France and show off Melbourne!

So we started off at Flinders St station,

FLINDERST ST.jpg

The walked up past the historic Melbourne Town Hall...

MELBS TOWN HALL.jpg

Then across the usually bustling Bourke St Mall...

BOURKE ST DAY.jpg

Then past the popular State Library of Victoria

TATE LIBRARAY.jpg

Then found the post office as I had to post some of Mum's vintage patterns that I had sold on Ebay.

https://www.ebay.com.au/usr/chocolatescorpi

PATTERNS3.png

PATTERNS2.png

https://www.ebay.com.au/usr/chocolatescorpi

Then after posting off the patterns, we walked up and wandered through the gorgeous green of Carlton Gardens and past the stunning Queens Exhibition Building

EXHIB BUILDING.jpg

EXHIBITION BLD.jpg

And then up to Trades Hall, which is one of the oldest buildings n Melbourne and one that has supported the workers, the minority groups, the underdogs, the artists, and every one involved in improving others lives in one way or another since the 1800's.

TH POSTER 4.jpg

My Comfortable old friend, Trades Hall has seen people tread up and down its worn bluestone stairs from every class and every corner of this world for over 150 years- including me everyday from 2005- 2010... as I had to go there to deliver posters for my good friend Nicole from San Fransisco who is Creator and Producer at Estrella Suerte productions for the digital audio play called, The Forever Wave set in San Francisco for the Melbourne Fringe Festival in October Inspired by Dylan Thomas’ iconic Under Milk Wood, The Forever Wave is set in a drowned San Francisco, circa 2070.

Combining geography, climate science, Bay Area history, and an assemblage of voices—survivors and dead alike—

ForeverWavePoster_MelbourneFringe_A3.jpg

So if you want to listen to something unique, underground and immersive, the click on this link here to find out how..https://melbournefringe.com.au/event/the-forever-wave/

And her below is a rep from the Melbourne Fringe festival collecting the posters off me...

FRINGE DUD W POSTER.jpg

So after we dropped off the posters, we wandered back into town, but not before we left Trades Hall and met Zelda

TH ZELDA 1.jpg

And who was Zelda I hear you ask (like we did....🤣..)

TH ZELDA 2.jpg

Zelda D'Aprano was a community activist for decades, in particular campaigning for equal pay for women.

TH ZELDA3.jpg

And a women that felt so strongly about equal pay for women, that she not once, but twice chained herself to doors in protest to the court dismissing the case against equal pay...
https://www.vic.gov.au/zelda-daprano-ao

And then after thanking Zelda for her efforts, we walked past the Old Law courts

OLD LAW COURT.jpg

And down to Melbourne Central for dinner as we were pretty hungry and I had some discount restaurant vouchers

MELBS CENTRAL 1.jpg

DINNNER.jpg

Then we decided to walk through Malboune central as it was cold outside and found that mot of the shops had closed so enjoyed the peace and quiet

WALKWAY 3.jpg

WALKTHRU.jpg

MC1.jpg

Eventually we had to go outside and found this gorgeous little hidden delight full of people enjoying food surrounded by history.

FOOD LANEWAY.jpg

FOOD LANEWAY3.jpg

FOODLANE6-PPL WAITING TO GE TIN.jpg

FOO LANEWAY2.jpg

FOOD LANEWAY 4.jpg

FOOD LANEWAY 5.jpg

ENTRY- FOOD LANEWAY FROM BOURKE ST.jpg

SIGN ON BOURKE ST.jpg

And then arrived back out onto Bourke St Mall again, this time under the starry lights at the other end

BOURKE ST NIGHT.jpg

And then kept walking towards home where I found the Turkish Lamp shop https://peakd.com/hive-196308/@chocolatescorpi/my-dazzling-turkish-lamp-adventure

And then after trying to decide which lamp I wanted to make...

We arrived back at another entrance to Flinders St Station

FLINEDRS ST NIGHT.jpg

Then across the Yarra River

BRIDGR OME NIGHT.jpg

RIVER HOME.jpg

And then soon we were home after a fantastic day out seeing the sights and getting stuff done.

So I would love to thank my dear friend Rose for being the star of my walk with you today and for taking me out to discover more of my own beautiful city to share with her and you on this wonderful #wednesdayWalk

I hope you two had a wonderful walk and discovered some new things about the city that you love with some wonderful family and friends too!

Thank you so much for reading my post , I really hope that you enjoyed it and look forward to your comments and thoughts.

🐠🐃🐌🕷🐍🐓🦆🐸🐁🐿🦋🐢🐞🦍🐈🦆🐥🐜🦑🐛🐄🦇🐪🦏🐳🐊🦀🦌🐖🐢🐏🐋🐝

And unless otherwise stated- ALL photographs, all media, material and writings, are all my originals taken by me sometime in the past few decades or so somewhere in my travels and as such, ofcourse they are subject to all international IP and copyright laws and I may have already used them for my own commercial purposes here https://www.redbubble.com/people/CHOCOLATESCORPI/shop And here https://fineartamerica.com/art/chocolatescorpi, So please ask first if you want to use any of them as we wouldn't want you getting into trouble. Thank you 😊

🐠🐃🐌🕷🐍🐓🦆🐸🐁🐿🦋🐢🐞🦍🐈🦆🐥🐜🦑🐛🐄🦇🐪🦏🐳🐊🦀🦌🐖🐢🐏🐋🐝

The Ladies of Hive- your own crypto world girl gang full of fun and suprises, so click on the link to find out more about this brilliant community of caring, companionship and creative contests, such as this one...https://peakd.com/hive-124452/@ladiesofhive/ladies-of-hive-community-contest-152

image.png

@hiveaustralia, formerly @teamaustralia check us out now!

Please feel free to checkout my other work on
https://chocolatescorpionc.wixsite.com/chocolatescorpi

https://www.redbubble.com/people/CHOCOLATESCORPI/shop

https://fineartamerica.com/art/chocolatescorpi

https://deepdreamgenerator.com/u/chocolatescorpi

https://www.instagram.com/rawscorpi/

https://www.instagram.com/chocolates.scorpion.creations/

https://www.behance.net/chocolates0386/projects

https://www.pinterest.com.au/chocolatescorpioncreations/

https://twitter.com/CHOCSCORPI
🐠🐃🐌🕷🐍🐓🦆🐸🐁🐿🦋🐢🐞🦍🐈🦆🐥🐜😊❤️🙏💛🙏💚🙏💙🙏💜😊🦑🐛🐄🦇🐪🦏🐳🐊🦀🦌🐖🐢🐏🐋🐝

Sort:  

Wonderful walk… you saw a lot with your friend.
Great captures. I am sure at her home they liked them.
Thanks for sharing your day with us.
Sorry to hear about you being sick a couple of weeks ago. Nice she made French crepes 😉 for you, they look delicious 😋
Have a fantastic end of the week dear.
Give Indy a cuddle from me.
xxx 🌺☀️
!HUG

Dear @chocolatescorpi, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @littlebee4.
(2/3)

Thank goodness you had recovered from the covid by the time your friend arrived and they were able to walk from dawn to dusk.
I didn't know Zelda (now I can say for sure) thanks to you.
I was fascinated with Melbourne. Thanks for sharing that fantastic tour with us.

How are you dear friend @chocolatescorpi good afternoon
I am very sorry to hear that you have contracted Covid. Luckily you have been able to continue working from home.
What a beautiful walk you have done in the company of your friend who visited you from France, they visited really beautiful places.
Excellent shots, I appreciate you sharing this beautiful experience.
have a beautiful afternoon

Waving back at you :)

Sorry to hear you werent well but so cool your friend visited and you were up to a wonderful walk around the city Melbourne is such a charming city

PS those crepes look so so good

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk :)

i had to smile when i saw those vintage patterns. my mother was a teacher in what was referred to as home economics back in the day.

Loll....I even remember home economics back in the day...🤣

And I was so absolutely crap at it- then and now still...

Showing my age here now...😱🤣

Wow! You have a delicious breakfast and had a great walk from morning until evening.

Oh yes it was a delicious breakfast and well needed after not eating much for a week- especially much needed fuel for a pretty epic walk too!

Wow, that panoramic pic of Trades Hall is quite impressive, but...

Indy, is it? lolz.... little mischevious one there, that look of, "Can I get away with absconding with some of that yummy bread, or should I wait for permission?"

Coz you know being so cute results in awards everytime :)

Thank you for this Wednesday walk - much appreciated, your sharing and the wonderful photos!

#tallship #favs

.

Yeah Trades is certainly an impressive place with an impressive list of people that have been through the doors- from film and tv stars to politicians, gun slinging gangsters, unionists, hippes and the like, it has an incredibly colouful history and I really should do a blog on it one day and my time there too.

Right now it's home of the Fringe Festival and is the annual home for the Comedy at Trades for the Melbourne International Comedy festival...

And yes, Indy is a little ratbag and so damn adorable that she would def get away with murder...

I lost her in the kitchen once when I was making soup and I looked EVERYWHERE for her...

INDY AND CAULI LEAVES.jpg

You sound like an interesting person and I look forward to reading your articles on tech stuff...you've got no idea just how much I LOVE technology and I would dearly love to know why it hates me so much though...😥...🤣...😭

Anyway, I'm glad that you enjoyed my tour of Melbourne and look forward to sharing more of my part of the world with you.

I hope that you're having a great day and look forward to seeing you soon.

Wow, this is a beautiful visit through the CBD, you took me back to Melbourne for some time!
It is beautiful to see how it went all from a delicious meal with Rose and Indy, with the bright daylight to the beautiful darkness of the night, with the city lights reflecting in the water.

So glad that you enjoyed the virtual tour!

It is a wonderful city- very colourful and very friendly.

I hope that you get to come and see it for yourself someday and when you do, let me know as Indy and I would love to be your hosts and tour guide! 😃