Frozen Lake Walk

in Wednesday Walk3 months ago

Hi fellow Hiveians,

Today I wanted to enjoy a bit of a walk around the close proximity shoreline of the lake!

IMG_2455.jpg

Hive Divider Bar Text.png

Frozen Lake Walk

We've had some bitter cold weather here lately, which is good! I've been looking forward to this weather occurring for a while because it is what we need in order to freeze the damn lakes and ponds LOL. Last year we didn't get any persistent deep freeze weather and it was pretty annoying. This year that has changed which is a good thing!

We missed out last year for sure on the cold weather activities because we just sadly didn't get a whole lot of cold weather. It was enjoyable in it's own right, because you could go outside walking most of the time and your face didn't feel like it was getting frost bite. With this past week or so we've had what we didn't get last year which is a consistent week of temperatures that didn't get above freezing at all! I know most people would be complaining about it but I've been loving it haha.

IMG_2459.jpg

The ice on the lake is finally thick enough for people to walk on! I haven't ventured out on it yet because it was actually incredibly steep of a dip between the sand shoreline and the actual flat ice for us to walk on. We didn't have cleats on and we would have slipped on our ass if we tried to venture out on it lol so we felt it is best to just stay on land and appreciate it from there.

As you can see in the picture above, the shoreline ice was pretty thick! The ice in the shallows is even thicker but we can't get out that far since we didn't want to fall. The shoreline ice was about 4 inches thick which is pretty darn good for shoreline ice considering that it has used up all its moisture to make the ice. The ice on the actual water is likely double that, I would say around 8 inches thick. This makes very good ice for doing things that you'd like to do such as ice skating or ice fishing on the lake. I didn't see anyone out there yet because it was in the teens for temperatures but I'm sure that if things warm up into the 30's this coming week, there will absolutely be people mulling about and enjoying it!

IMG_2457.jpg

I love being able to look out at the lake and just seeing the wide open expanse of ice everywhere. The stuff in the middle is definitely not safe to walk on - the dark spot you can see in the pictures that is in the deepest parts of the lake. That is because it's moving open water. Yeah it is frozen but maybe only 3 inches thick or so, maybe a little bit more. I wouldn't trust myself walking on that unless I had cross country skis or something lol to spread my weight out quite a bit. No need to fall into the frigid water and have a heart attack hahaha.

IMG_2456.jpg

It's really cool to see the lake finally frozen though. There is such a peaceful feel to it, very quiet and somber. There isn't all kinds of boats and shit all over the place, or jet skis making all that noise. Occasionally there will be someone skating across the ice but for the most part - everything is still and quiet. I think that's what I enjoy the most about winter, especially when I go out hiking with my son in the snow. The places that we go are incredibly quiet not only from the silence of the lack of animals moving around but the snow blanketing the area creates such a deep quiet it's really nice!

IMG_2453.jpg

I am hoping to be able to get out here next weekend to do some exploring around! My son and I have walked around quite a bit of the lake with the water levels being down and drained but now that the lake is frozen, and we've got some continued freezing temperatures coming up in the next week or so, the lake will be a good solid ice cube for a while! As long as we don't get a week of 50 degree weather, this should remain this way for the rest of the winter which would be nice.

I would love to go around the other parts of the lake that we don't get to very often, I've got a couple places in mind. It would be nice to go down to those areas and just walk along the bank, on the shallow ice of course just to be cautious and just see what everything is like. The more we can explore around, the more we can figure out the little nooks and crannies for fishing and stuff!

When we got to the lake here, the temperature was 15 degrees. When we left, it got down to 13 LOL so it was really planning on adding a couple inches of ice to the layer that was already there! I'll take it for sure. I also have to get my son an updated pair of ice skates so we can try to skate around the place a little bit!

IMG_2455.jpg

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

-CmplXty. Real human written content, never AI.

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Connect with me!

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 2,900 PRE tokens, with a market value of $180.27. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link below and spread the word!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043


Image source

Sort:  

It really looks so calm and quiet. I wish someday I have the opportunity to walk on a frozen lake, that's kind of impossible where I live 🇨🇺😅, such a tropical country 🙄.
Are you thinking of doing some ice skating there? Can you do that on any frozen lake or does it take any special treatment or something? Just curious 😁

Yeah ice skating is on the menu for sure! We want to get it to freeze a little thicker before we go for some ice skating but it's likely safe to do it around the shore where the ice is thicker. The middle is too thin.

Hopefully you get to see a frozen lake one day! It's a beautiful scene for sure!

BRRRRR. Warm up with some !COFFEE

You just received 0.05 COFFEE! Good coffee my friend

number of commands left: 1

If you also want to send COFFEE buy them here on hive-engine

Haha yes every day!

It's good to know you are comfortable with the extreme cold weather when most people are just complaining about it. The frozen lake looks like a place to take a refreshing walk and I'm sure you had fun while walking along the shoreline. Thanks for sharing the pictures with us and have a good day.

It was a beautiful spot indeed! I wanted to stay longer but it was incredibly cold lol but we got a nice refreshing walk in! I do enjoy the temperatures because it kills all the bugs and stuff :D

Great descriptions and pictures of the frozen lake. We had some frigid temperatures here and the ice is pretty thick here. This week since Monday it's been just above Freezing every day. Snow is melting and I hope to get on the ice this weekend to do some ice fishing. I might have to go to place that has a dock that extends on it. Fish an ice hole on a sturdy dock. Not about to do an ice plunge. Of course this all depends on thickness at that time. I like 8 inches but prefer 10. Today is fishing report day here so I will certainly be checking it out 😊 🎣

Yeah 10 inches is a good thickness of the ice for that! I need to check out the fire departments page to see what they say about the thickness. We didn’t see any ice huts or hockey rinks set up yet so I don’t know if people are out on the ice yet. I haven’t been there since the weekend though so I will check it out this weekend and see!

Good luck with getting out ice fishing man! The dock sounds like a good idea - do you have any that are still in the water? They take all of them out around here.

Some stay in here because they are permanent fixtures. There's a few that come off though. Mostly all the boat ramps are taken out.

Ooh my God
This is my first time seeing a full picture of frozen lake
One should be able to walk on it or what do you feel?

You can likely walk on it but it was so steep to get on it we didn't try, didn't want to fall!

You should take more pics from that landscape. I mean, all white, frozen and cold frames are gorgeous to view it. Loved your work but I want more, haha

Haha thanks, yeah it was a little cold when we were there. It was 13 degrees fahrenheit! We weren't dressed as warm as I would've liked so we were down at the lake for 15 minutes tops. I'm hoping to get out to the lake soon to do some more walking and get some more pictures!

Pleaseee. Do that! Enjoy the frozen weather and cspture it!!!

I'm so jealous! I've always wanted to experience the magic of a frozen lake. Have a blast for me!

It's really nice! I know that I appreciate all of the seasons for their own reasons. The cold of winter can be challenging sometimes but other times it’s great!

Congratulations @cmplxty! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 1400 posts.
Your next target is to reach 1500 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

It must have really been quite frozen out there