A little reading corner in the park

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago (edited)

MiniBiblioteca_VizcayaPark1.jpgVizcaya Park, Caracas

Uno llega a ser grande por lo que lee y no por lo que escribe.” - Jorge Luis Borges

“You become great by what you read, not by what you write.” - Jorge Luis Borges



The days are still a bit hectic in my little corner of the world, but my stress level has gone down. It is a blessing that my mother is doing well. And even though her arm is broken, it is only a matter of time before it heals. However, my little bubble of calm has been disrupted. The house has been busy with visitors for my mother, and I'm adjusting to a new routine these days. So today, I had to go to the hospital to pick up some tests, and on the way home, I stopped for a while in one of the nearby parks. I needed some time to be quiet and alone.

It was midday, and no one was at the park, but it was perfect for a short walk.

MiniBiblioteca_VizcayaPark2.jpg

These days when I passed by in the car, I noticed in the park that they had placed one of those wooden mini-libraries. It is similar to the one that was placed in another nearby park some time ago.

I love these mini-libraries and hope this one will get visitors to the park excited about reading. This park is very busy in the mornings and afternoons because it has a lot of paths and people go there to walk and exercise.

MiniBiblioteca_VizcayaPark3.jpg

The area where the mini-library is located has also been landscaped with small gardens and what is most interesting is that everything is donated by private enterprises. The whole arrangement of the space was donated by one of the big supermarket chains, and I am happy to see such initiatives in the city.

MiniBiblioteca_VizcayaPark9.jpg

I had a couple of books in my car that I was going to leave in the other mini-library that I had seen months ago in the other park, but I decided to leave them here.

MiniBiblioteca_VizcayaPark6.jpg

MiniBiblioteca_VizcayaPark7.jpg

And today, I had to go back home. But one of these days, I'll escape for a while to read on that bench in the park.

MiniBiblioteca_VizcayaPark4.jpg

In addition to the landscaped areas, there are also a couple of busts in homage to two great Latin American writers.

MiniBiblioteca_VizcayaPark8.jpg

One is for the Argentinian writer Jorge Luis Borges, who I quote at the beginning. And the other bust is of the Venezuelan writer Rómulo Gallegos.

MiniBiblioteca_VizcayaPark11.jpg

MiniBiblioteca_VizcayaPark10.jpg

I took a short walk admiring nature, like these pink dracaenas with their colorful leaves.

MiniBiblioteca_VizcayaPark5.jpg

And walk under the shade of the Acacias trees.

MiniBiblioteca_VizcayaPark12.jpg

When these Acacias are in blossom, they are a colorful spectacle which I have already shown you a few months ago.

But even if they are not in bloom, they are gorgeous green these days because of the rains of the last weeks.

MiniBiblioteca_VizcayaPark13.jpg

The walk helped me to recharge my batteries. And I came back home full of good vibes.

This was my little walk this Wednesday. I had not planned it, and it turned out to be very pleasant.

This is my post for this week's #wednesdaywalk challenge hosted by @tattoodjay in collaboration with #makemesmile hosted by @elizacheng.

Thank you for reading.

All images and writing are my own unless otherwise stated.

© CoquiCoin

November 2, 2022

If you're reading this and you are not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through my referral link. And I could delegate some Resources credit to help you get started.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @coquicoin ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

looks a beautiful even more so without many people there

I love seeing those mini libraries around all over

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk

My pleasure to join when I can. These mini-libraries are awesome. I wish there was one in every park or square in the city.
I hope your wife is recovering. Cheers :)

Wow! A reading corner at the park is something I have not seen in my place. How amazing is this concept my dear friend @coquicoin. What a breathtaking place as well. Surely our minds and soul will really be relaxed there. Thanks for touring us in your beautiful place. It was a great Wednesday walk. Have a nice time and take care!

Yep, it is an amazing concept. I love it:) Thank you and have a lovely day 😊

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wonderful to read the walk helped you so much @coquicoin 😊 to recharge… and get new energy.
It can be challenging. New rhythms and having your mom and visitors around. Hope she recovers well.
Do take breaks when you need them. 🤗 take care!

Such a cute place for putting up a little library’s and books. Wonderful.
I hope many will enjoy them.

Thank you very much for the best wishes, Jackie ♡😊
I also hope that many will enjoy it 😎

You are so welcome @coquicoin 👋🏻😊 anytime!
Let’s hope…
Enjoy your evening ☀️🌺

Thank you, Jackie 😊 Good night 🌙

You are welcome 👋🏻😊
Good morning ☀️🌺 enjoy your day.

I just adore how tranquil and peaceful the place was. Thus, I'm surprised that there was a mini-library in the park. Just what?! That was a good idea though, especially to those introvert people who just want to be alone and at the same time, will enjoy the beauty of park. !PIZZA

The idea is great, and the place is very nice to sit and read.
Thank you for stopping by 😄

@coquicoin Awwww - what a lovely and quiet spot. I would love to sit on the bench and spend and afternoon reading a book.

Glad to hear that your mother is doing well. I had missed the news that she had broken her arm. Life has been hectic in the past 2-3 weeks with lot of travel and I was not able to read posts much. Wishing her a speedy and full recovery.

singature small avatar.png

Hello, friend! The place is very nice and the best thing is that people take care of those spaces that are appearing in the city.
Hope you are well. Life has been hectic around here too, my mother not only broke her arm, but the fall led to her being diagnosed with a major problem and required an emergency pacemaker to be fitted. Fortunately, it was done in time and now all that remains is to wait for her to recover from the broken arm.
Thank you very much for your good wishes :)

OMG! A pacemaker! It wasn't just a simple fall then. anyway - I am happy that all got done in time. I am sure she will recover soon.

Thanks for finding time to respond through all the activity going on. I could not even manage posts for over 19 days though I had captured some great images. Now, after things calmed down, I posted them. I had not even logged on for days in the middle. You are much more consistent. It is an example I must follow.🙂

Hehe! aside from the consistency, I must say that being on Hive is one of the things that helps me to relax. However, I've had my notifications on fire for days now ;)

What an amazing idea, those little libraries! Books don't get stolen? Or destroyed? I wonder if it would work here...

I am glad to hear your Mum is recovering. I so understand your struggling with the invasion of well wishers and the shattering of your peace. It will pass: probably just as you make peace with the 🤣🤷🏼‍♀️

So far the mini libraries I have seen around here are a success, and people take care of them. Some carry books, some people take some and leave others, and so on. This one is a bit messy, but the one in the other park near my house is very tidy and the neighbors are proud to have it.

Well, peace will come eventually 😂, but for now, I am grateful that everything has been going well. Have a lovely day 🤗

That's good to hear - and that everything's going well. Take care 🤗

😊🤗🪴

Hello @coquicoin, What a nice place, in the square near my house, there is a library just like it.

It's great. I wish there were one in every park.

So glad your mother is okay. I love little free libraries. Every one I see just makes me smile. Thanks for showing us this one!

You are right. These little libraries make me smile as well when I see them.
Thank you for stopping by :)

That's a great initiative to put a mini library there.. For those who aren't into gadgets can just read interesting books 😊

The initiative is great, and in this one that I saw today, I noticed that there are books that I would like to read.

What a beautiful place..! Seems so calm and peaceful :) I love those little box of books, makes me so happy to share good stories and knowledge through those physical dedicated spots..

I hope your mother will quickly recover 🤞🏼 ... and that the calm of your rhythm restored ! Thanks you for sharing this moment ‘

Hello! :) I love the idea of those little library boxes too, I wish there were more of them. Maybe then people would be more tempted to pick up a book and read.
Thank you so much for your good wishes 🤗

That's for sure, let's instal more of them !

You're welcome, I hope you're enjoying your weekend too 🤞

This world is so big and so beautiful, and there is so much to see. Traveling is the best way to discover that for ourselves. It doesn't have to be expensive, it just has to be intentional and adventurous.

That's right 😄 Thank you for stopping by :)

That mini library in the middle of the park is a gem! I can imagine wanting to go for a quick walk or chill run then saw that corner and decided I'll just sit somewhere quiet and read a few pages while being surrounded by trees. Sounds awesome and refreshing to the body, mind and soul! ☺️

You are right. It's a place refreshing for body, mind, and soul. Thanks for stop by 😊

🍕 PIZZA !
@coquicoin! The Hive.Pizza team manually upvoted your post.

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@dennnmarc(2/5) tipped @coquicoin (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Thank you for the support :)🍕

@tipu curate

Thank you for the support, @ninahaskin 😊

You're welcome!❤

Looks like a lovely wee park. The flowers look great, and particularly those around and on the base of the tree !
!LUV