A little walk in Chapinero Alto and a yummy lunch

in Wednesday Walk3 months ago

Hello, Hivers and Wednesday Walkers!

Today's walk was actually two weeks ago when I was in Bogotá.

One of the things a bit frustrating when you visit a city like Bogotá and you are alone is that you have to be very cautious on the street. So I couldn't photograph what caught my attention on the streets because I couldn't take out my cell phone. But at some point, I felt more confident in the neighborhood where I was staying. And this little walk I took on Wednesday two weeks ago.

It was past noon when I got rid of the paperwork I had to do that day and I was ready to go out to explore the area of Chapinero Alto where I was staying. So the first thing I did was to go to a place to eat. The place I chose was a few blocks away. A cafe called Domestica.

Domestica1.jpg

I decided to order the menu of the day. And I ordered a beer. I tried a dark beer of the brand Club Colombia, I told about it in A black beer perfect to chill out on the terrace.

The menu included spinach cream, which was very tasty.

Domestica2.jpg

Domestica3.jpg

And then the main course was a chicken acevichado (with lemon and red onion dressing), on a patacón (fried green plantain) and a salad. It was a lot of food, to be honest, and everything was yummy.

Then I had a black coffee, un tinto, as they called the Americano coffee.

Domestica4.jpg

Domestica5.jpg

All this cost me around10 dollars.

After that lunch, I was ready for a little walk. And I needed it because I ate too much.

So I walked through the streets near the cafe. I loved the bushes on the sidewalks of this street.

ChapiAlto_24Jan_1.jpg

And the buildings in this part of town, especially the one or two-story houses, were beautiful. I like that in this part although there are some modern buildings they are not very tall. Almost all the ones I saw were only a few stories high.

ChapiAlto_24Jan_2.jpg

Going around the block, I landed on 57th Street, which I took almost every day to go to the place where I was staying. But that day, instead of going up that street, I decided to keep exploring and went straight down a different street.

ChapiAlto_24Jan_3.jpg

This led me to discover a small neighborhood market where they sold organic and vegan food.

Since it was so hot in Bogota those days, I was craving an ice cream. In this little market, I got an artisan ice cream sweetened with agave honey, which is better for those of us who have to watch out for our sugar intake. That day I tried the lemon cream. And then in the following days, I went back a couple more times to try other flavors, hehe.

Metkalu.jpg

VerdeMango_CremaLimon1.jpg

I continued my way along the street leading up from the market.

ChapiAlto_24Jan_4.jpg

This street bordered a small park called Parque Portugal.

ChapiAlto_24Jan_5.jpg

ChapiAlto_24Jan_6.jpg

More two-story houses, made of bricks, of the kind that I like so much and that can be found in some neighborhoods of the city. In this street, there was a pedestrian passage directly to the street where I was staying.

ChapiAlto_24Jan_7.jpg

The passage was some stairs that communicate both streets.

ChapiAlto_24Jan_8.jpg

Some graffiti on one of the walls facing the stairs.

ChapiAlto_24Jan_9.jpg

And the view of the basketball court in the park that I almost always saw being used, even late at night.

ChapiAlto_24Jan_10.jpg

Another view of the street behind me.

ChapiAlto_24Jan_11.jpg

Arriving at my Airbnb. I went straight to the terrace of the building to enjoy my lemon cream ice cream. And by the time I remembered to take a picture of it, I had already taken a bite, lol.

VerdeMango_CremaLimon2.jpg

And I stayed there for a while contemplating the view of the street and the afternoon of clear skies after a nice little walk and a yummy lunch.

ChapiAlto_24Jan_12.jpg

And so ends my walk today.

This is my post for this week's #wednesdaywalk challenge hosted by @tattoodjay.

Thank you for reading.

All images and writing are my own unless otherwise stated.

© CoquiCoin

February 7, 2024

If you're reading this and you are not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through my referral link. I could delegate some resource credit to help you get started.

Sort:  

Lunch looks nice and coupled with a lovely walk it makes for a lovely day, especially when ice cream is involved as well. Thanks for sharing.

Becca 🌷

It was indeed a lovely day. Thank you for stopping by, Becca:)

It looks like you enjoyed the ride, the food looks very tasty.
I was in Bogota in December 2021, it was a week but I was also able to taste your food and it was a very charming experience for me. I missed going to Cerro Montserrate, but that will be on a future visit.
Greetings! 👋

The architecture of this neighbourhood is very beautiful. And it looks very cool with all those trees. I would be craving an ice cream too ... vegan? First time I've ever seen vegan ice cream. 🙂

When the food is really delicious and you overeat you have to take at least 10 steps after, according to the Chinese hahaha... I don't know, I've heard people say this. 😅

I bought the ice cream not because it was vegan, hehe but because it was sweetened with agave honey, which is healthier for those of us with glycemia problems. But the vegan part is because it was also lactose-free ;)

When the food is really delicious and you overeat you have to take at least 10 steps after, according to the Chinese hahaha...

I have to walk a lot then lol

🤗🤗

I imagine they will make them with other milks. Soy milk, coconut milk, almond milk... these are other things that can be milked. Hahaha... that sounds weird in Spanish (otras cosas que pueden ser ordeñadas). 🤣

;)

😂😂 sí suena un poco raro, jeje
Un abrazo!!

Nice walk and the more it allowed you to discover this artisanal ice cream shop, the cherry on the sunday 😀
Have a lovely day

I have never seen a vegan ice cream before

I'm going to take a closer look to see if I can find it and try it.

Lately I've been giving vegan a try with some very pleasant surprises.

Happy #Wednesdaywalk

I'm going to take a closer look to see if I can find it and try it.

This ice cream was yummy as also all the other flavors I had. I hope you'll find one to try.

Happy #Wednesdaywalk!!! Saludos:)

I'm waiting for the summer to arrive here in Spain and I'll take a closer look to see if I can find any more.

!PIZZA

Oh, I can totally relate to not being able to take pictures because of the fear of safety. It happens to me a lot but I'm glad you were able to take such beautiful pictures. I love the scenery and the delicately trimmed flowers. It's been a minute, dear friend. Glad you're okay.🌺

What an interesting walk Eli, it's such a privilege being able to see the world through the eyes of Hivers like yourself. I always enjoy seeing old and new architecture, parts of the city is very pretty!
What a pity though that one has to be careful with valuables in certain cities and towns!
We're very familiar with that here.
Lemon Cream Ice Cream sounds and looks very good, I love anything with Lemon!

Oh love the different architecture and I am glad you were aware of your safety Super Eli!

Food and an ice cream makes for a great excuse to go walking!

That's a delicious plate of food you have there..
Houses in the area look cute..with lots of history behind them..
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@jane1289, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @coquicoin and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (6/10 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Good afternoon dear friend @coquicoin
Insecurity is something that has grown in much of the world, but I believe that in this area of the universe the growth of crime has been even greater, it is a shame that one cannot go out into the street and carry a mobile phone in one's hands without being in danger. be stolen
What a beautiful area of Bogota, I love the great presence of nature in the streets.
Your entire order at the Domestica cafe looks really exquisite, black beer is always very good to accompany chicken meat, and coffee is a good way to digest, in addition to the walk you have taken through this beautiful place
Beautiful photographs, I appreciate that you let us know about this experience of walking in the streets of Bogota.

Yes, in Latin America we have to be much more cautious in the streets of the big cities, and as they say in Colombia, No dar papaya.

Thanks, amigo @jlufer for appreciating my post and pictures.

Abrazos!

The neighborhood is very nice, it looks very clean and welcoming. What caught my attention is what you say that if you are alone you should not take out your cell phone, Can rob it you?
A beautiful walk.

I loved the neighborhood. And well yes, in Bogota like other big cities in Latin America, the security issue is something to consider and it is better not to attract attention even in areas that look quite safe. Here in Caracas, there are also many areas where I wouldn't take my cell phone out either, and it is better to don't wear valuable things.
Saludos!

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@castri-ja(1/5) tipped @coquicoin

!ALIVE

@coquicoin! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ cryptoyzzy. (8/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.