A walk from the Loop to Lake Michigan through Grant Park - Chicago

in Wednesday Walk17 days ago

GrantParkAndMore_ChicagoWalk.jpg

Chicago - A walk from the Loop to Lake Michigan through Grant Park


Hello, Hivers and Wednesday Walkers!

Today I'm going to tell you about another of the walks I did on my trip to Chicago last month. And it's actually the walk I did following the one I showed you last week at https://peakd.com/hive-155530/@coquicoin/a-little-walk-at-chicagos-riverwalk. It was past noon and I had arranged to meet my son for lunch and spend the afternoon together while my husband attended some activities at the film festival to which he was invited.

My son and I met in the Loop, downtown Chicago, across from Millennium Station. He insisted that we grab a quick bite to eat and go for a walk. And he took me to what he said was his favorite fast food when he wanted to eat chicken. He told me it was a Midwest chain and I had to try it. And he took me to Raising Cranes.

RaisingCanes_Chicago.jpg

After eating all that combo I felt guilty and needed to walk to get off all those carbs I'd been eating. But the good company and the food was worth all the carbs, lol.

RorroYo_Chicago1904_1.jpg

We were almost in front of the Art Institute of Chicago. Another time I will tell you about the visit I made to the museum another day. At that time, we just wanted to walk around and my son suggested we take a stroll through Grant Park.

ChicagoLoop_ArtInstitute.jpg

We walked in front of the Art Institute building and at the corner, I took these pictures because I liked the view of the street and the buildings in the background. That night, I realized that by chance I had been where the sign of the beginning of the mythical Route 66 is. Of course, then I had to go back with my husband to the site because he has always wanted to do a road trip on Route 66, one of the most famous routes in the US.

U.S. Route 66 or U.S. Highway 66 (US 66 or Route 66) was one of the original highways in the United States Numbered Highway System. It was established on November 11, 1926, with road signs erected the following year.[3] The highway, which became one of the most famous roads in the United States, ran from Chicago, Illinois, through Missouri, Kansas, Oklahoma, Texas, New Mexico, and Arizona before terminating in Santa Monica in Los Angeles County, California, covering a total of 2,448 miles (3,940 km) More info.

Route66Begin1.jpg

Route66Begin2.jpg

That day we continued on our way and crossed Michigan Ave. Of course, I took some pictures of the view at that point towards the north.

SMichiganAve_1.jpg

And towards the south. And it's amazing but this area of Chicago offers beautiful, photogenic views in every direction.

SMichiganAve_2.jpg

From there, we crossed over a pedestrian bridge that leads to Grant Park and crossed over the railroad tracks of the Metra electric train system, which I will tell you about another time.

JacksonDrive_1.jpg

JacksonDrive_2.jpg

Grant Park is a huge park in the center of the city. In it there are museums, some icons of the city and it is also where some big festivals are held especially in summer, such as the Lollapalooza music festival.

GrantParkChicago_1.jpg

Of course, it also has many green areas and even though it was quite cold that day, some people were enjoying sitting on the grass.

GrantParkChicago_2.jpg

One of the icons of the park is the Buckingham Fountain. But when I visited it was not yet the season in which it is in operation. The fountain is lit in the summer months and at night it is illuminated.

GrantParkChicago_3.jpg

The area where the fountain is located is immense and I imagine that in summer it must be very pleasant to walk there.

GrantParkChicago_4.jpg

GrantParkChicago_5.jpg

We continue walking in the direction of Lake Michigan. And we crossed DuSable Lake Shore Dr. to the shore of the lake.

GrantParkChicago_6.jpg

Lake Michigan is the only Great Lake located fully in the United States; the other four are shared between the U.S. and Canada. It is the world's largest lake, by area, located fully in one country,[10] and is shared, from west to east, by the U.S. states of Wisconsin, Illinois, Indiana, and Michigan. More info

From there, following the coastline, you could see the Adler Planetarium and the Shedd Aquarium to the right and the Navy Pier to the left.

LakeMichigan_1.jpg

LakeMichigan_2.jpg

And the most immediate view to the north of some of the city's skyscrapers.

LakeMichigan_3.jpg

My son tried to make a panorama pic but the result was quite strange as far as the edge of the lake is concerned, hehe. Nothing like the real thing 😆.

LakeMichigan_4.jpg

When we saw the time, we realized it was time to go back as we had to go to the north of the city, that day we were meeting my husband for the screening of his movie with some friends of my son and the movie theater was in the Lincoln Park area. But that's a story for another day.

LakeMichigan_RorroYo.jpg

This is my post for this week's #wednesdaywalk challenge hosted by @tattoodjay

Thank you for reading.

All images and writing are my own unless otherwise stated.

© CoquiCoin

May 15, 2024

If you're reading this and you are not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through my referral link. I could delegate some resource credit to help you get started.

Sort:  

Un encuentro adorable con tu hijo, bajo hermosos paisajes, amiga. Las fotografías están espectaculares, me encantó disfrutar de este paseo a través de ellas. Un abrazo.

Gracias, Aury! El paisaje era hermoso pero lo mejor fue la compañía;)💕
🤗😘

It looks like some gorgeous weather. We all seem so small in the shadows of a big city. I'm not sure about the food though, it doesn't look so healthy! 😃

The weather was nice but a bit cold.
The food! not healthy at all and nothing I usually eat now that I have to watch my blood sugar and cholesterol, but my son was craving it, and the truth is that for once it didn't matter, it was more important to spend time with him. But the next day, when we got together again for lunch, it was my turn to choose, and we went to eat Indian food :)

💯. It's great to spend the quality time and you had some lovely scenery too. Thanks for sharing wonderful photos. You make me jealous, i love Indian food!

I love it too. And I had to take the chance since unfortunately in Caracas, there are no Indian restaurants.
Have a great evening!

The place really looks beautiful. I can't imagined that the sky is so bright, yet it is still cold.

That clear blue sky is quite deceiving, hehe. I think the coldest days we spent on our visit were the ones when the sky was clear!

Oh Route 66 starts there, well that is a coinkydink I read somewhere recently where it finished!

More of that blue sky, you were lucky it appears Super Eli

Hehe panaramic pics can be odd especially if straight edges and water is invloved!

Route 66 ends at the Santa Monica Pier, Super Ed. It must be a fun road trip from Chicago to California, don't you think ;)

Nice walk in this beautiful park... when I visited, it was so hot (even the squirrels were looking for coolness) that we took refuge in the aquarium 😀

Hehe!!! I heard in summer the heat there is scorching, but the wind should help a bit, no? That day I visited, although clear it was quite cold. Happy weekend!

Quite a long walk Eli. You showed us some views of Chicago hehe
!LADY

I found the distances there, especially in the city parks, to be quite long. Perfect for long walks.
I hope you are very well, Jane 🤗

How great that you were able to spend the afternoon with your son in this beautiful city, dear friend @coquicoin
I couldn't have avoided eating something as tempting as this dish, great that you went for a walk to lower the carbs
beautiful photographs, I appreciate that you shared this hiking experience
Have a beautiful day

Omg Chicago looks really like I've seen in the movies ❤️ must have many interesting places to visit and the food you share with us looks yummy, yes not a diet food but yummy 🤤

Chicago is like it is in the movies and more. It is very beautiful. And the food was yummy but the kind of food you have to eat once a year and no more 😄.

Ohhh Grant Park and my favorite museum!!! Awesome!

!LUV 🤗

duvinca, coquicoin sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/1) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Ohoo, a mother and son bonding. That's sweet (。♡‿♡。). The place where you two eat serves a yummy looking fast food. Though unhealthy but having it once in a while is not bad, hehe. The park in there looks really neat and peaceful. Look at all those trees. But because it's the city, you can see more tall buildings than a tree. Those buildings are really just eye catching. For someone who lives in the province this is massive ಥ‿ಥ

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2212.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you for the support and for including my blog in the honorable mentions :)

The place looks beautiful 😻, Many huge buildings