Walk and see the small world in the forest near my workplace

in Wednesday Walklast year (edited)

GridArt_20230426_160835294.jpg

I took a short walk into the depths of the woods near where I work. Because it is located at the end of Tuyen Lam Lake, there will be no more resorts or lakeside tours. Da Lat now the areas around the city center within a radius of less than 10km, only pine species are dominant. They have cleared the dense forests to settle, cultivate or to plant different types of pine. Therefore, this is almost a dense forest, the only type of mixed forest located in the center and suburbs of Da Lat city. So I wanted to take a walk there, which at least isn't a common thing here.

The edge of the forest is located about 800m from where I work if you follow the pre-paved asphalt road that winds through the winding roads around the lake. But I have another option, a trail and shortcut that was directed by some of the junglers I know nearby last week. It saves me more distance and time. I called after the guard's Tiger dog at the gate, and hoped it would bring more joy in the journey with me because I know it is very naughty and active. However, it only followed me for a while after running and rummaging around. And leave me and run home on my own because maybe I go too slow and often stop to watch or meditate. Maybe he thinks I'm boring?

20230426_083417.jpg

GridArt_20230426_161124939.jpg

The mixed forest here looks quite poor with most of the subterranean flora of shrubs and interlaced vines. I can feel more moisture, what my nose breathes is also different. The sound is more vivid and intense than the sound in my mind. Because summer is coming and the cicadas are molting all at once, the surrounding forest is resounding with cicadas. But in this forest, there are no tyrannical ticks, birds, crickets, insects still have a market to express themselves.

20230426_083307.jpg

20230423_160346.jpg

20230417_083753.jpg

As the forest is less affected by humans, the vines are constantly developing and it really surprised me with its size. It's rare for me to come across this size of a vines.

20230417_143059.jpg

I don't have too much knowledge about the forest here, from plants to animals. And it motivates me to pay more attention and spend time on the unknown, maintaining the motivation to gather natural knowledge from around. One species of herbal plant that I know is as shown below. It is called Ung Real Silver or maybe by other names such as: single thorns, naked. Its English name is: Zanthoxylum avicennae. Mainly found in the central and northwestern mountainous areas of Vietnam. For a long time, the ethnic minorities here have used it for many purposes. It is commonly extracted from the roots, bark, and leaves of the plant to treat and support liver diseases. The ethnic minorities here also soak the roots with alcohol to drink.

20230417_100116.jpg

Because of my poor eyesight, I pay more attention to small changes. I want to see more of the world of small plants. It has a nicer look and unique structure, or at least it's fancy to me.

20230424_085918.jpg

20230424_090442.jpg

Curiously I peeled off the bark of a large rotting tree and I found a wood-eating creature resembling termites. It looked like a caterpillar larva, and the grooves it made were rather contradictory. But I have tested its feces, can feel the powder, smooth and very similar to a product after eating wood.

20230417_093358.jpg

20230417_093124.jpg

20230417_093439.jpg

Observing some species of moss is equally interesting, their colors and shapes vary, I think that sunlight also reflects a specific color depending on the stage of the lichen moss species. Clinging to rocks makes it more difficult to grow, and they are also often small and skinny.

20230424_090414.jpg

20230424_090341.jpg

20230417_095247.jpg

20230417_092753.jpg

20230417_092622.jpg

The symbiotic mosses on another tree look much better. The denser density makes them more vibrant, lacking space for each individual. Unknowingly I was thinking vaguely about something outside of life that I have a position in society.

20230424_090325.jpg

20230412_113853.jpg

Mushroom species are few, and most of them look inedible. They are too few to be collected by search engines. I kept walking in the forest like that until I wanted to go back to work, after having passed from hillside to hillside. I just passed by without going to the top of the mountain, I think I must have more time on another occasion to try it.

20230424_090643.jpg

20230417_090618.jpg

Today I just need to relax a bit to continue working so will go next time in good weather. See you soon and thanks for watching.

20230424_091506.jpg

Sort:  

Wow what a lovely forest. I loved that you were able to capture so many details and share them in the community.
A hike like that frees you from the daily grind, how fortunate to have a forest a short distance away.

Yes, I feel lucky too. And I have love for it, I will use it to benefit my life.

Only 800M from your work thats great to have such a beautiful place to walk so close by, must be so refreshing walking there

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk, its my pleasure to host it and see all the posts each week from all around the world, including yours, if you have time visit some of the other walks this week there are so many interesting ones

Now I know most only post once a week using the Wednesday walk tag or community and I truly appreciate that and love visiting the posts so for most of you you can ignore the next sentence

I try and be nice and let people know via a comment to only post once a week, but some just abuse it and to me spam multiple posts a week, after asking nicely a few times and being ignored, this morning I regrettably had to mute a couple of people who were spamming the Wednesday walk tag

Well if I take a shortcut by the trail it's even closer. I have plans to go deep into the forest to the west to see the scenery when there is little influence by humans. Thank you @tattoodjay

thats great and will be cool to explore deeper into the woods and see what you can find

@tipu curate

Thank you @tobetada for the support