Walks & Parks - Yam city & citadels, surprise factory and market colors.

in Wednesday Walk17 days ago

Brown Aesthetic Woman Photo Collage Landscape.png


I have been talking so much on how much the business uses yam and how difficult it gets to see yam during this period. Well, determined to get the fluffing yam, I set out on Friday Morning to look for it. Took me three days to get them, I had to look in three different markets.

IMG_8673.jpeg


Did you know that in Kaduna, there are markets for different days of the week? Well, I just found that out. The most popular is the Friday, Sunday and Monday market. Yam took me on a journey to these markets.

IMG_8703.jpeg


The Friday market is situated in Maraban Rido, Chikun L.G.A of Kaduna State. The road to Maraba (shortened) leads from Sabo (Sabon Tasha) Kaduna state, a district from where I stay. I was in the Keke (tricycle) the whole time taking pictures. Fact, I have never been to this part of Kaduna before and if I have, I do not remember.

IMG_8721.jpeg


I noticed that some roads had just finished undergoing construction. I am not good with remembering names of things but I believe this is a bridge? Or flyover? Whatever it is… the road was constructed under it. The road spans miles and you see…

IMG_8728.jpeg

IMG_8725.jpeg

IMG_8690.jpeg

IMG_8723.jpeg


Can you see the joggers? Early morning run…

IMG_8726.jpeg


How about now? Yeah. I do too. One thing made my jaw drop. This…

IMG_8686.jpeg


I had no idea there was an Indomie factory in Kaduna. I always thought it was brought in from some of the other states, which made it quite expensive. I knew it was an Indomie factory by the time the Keke rounded to the front of the building, still traveling the way towards Maraba.

IMG_8746.jpeg

IMG_8747.jpeg


To those who do not know, Indomie is the biggest and most popular noodle brand in Nigeria. I am a Cherie fan as they give soup flavours, but Indomie is the most sought after. Sometime ago, a carton of Indomie noodles was referred to as ‘gold’ because the prices spiked so high, it was no longer affordable. Right now, the prices have dropped. Which is good but I am still a Cherie fan.

Finally, we got to Maraba market. The trike rider called it the New Market. Apparently, one has been existing long before and is still in function. Maraba is a village that has been vulnerable to bandit and kidnap attacks. It is still underdeveloped which makes getting land there cheap right now. Goes for as little as N300,000 ($197.11).

However, there are predictions that once the security of Maraba is sorted, it would become habitable and very profitable.

IMG_8697.jpeg

IMG_8700.jpeg

IMG_8702.jpeg


The market was not as large as I had imagined. They sold all kinds of things from grains to pesticides. Packaged foods, fruits, vegetables, spices, herbs, oil, and tuber crops…

IMG_8701.jpeg


What was even more disappointing than the market size was the size of the yams. Fluffs were like sweet potatoes. Tiny! In addition, sold at head butting prices. Mom and I asked around, we were directed to Monday market after being told that we cannot get wholesale prices there. They mostly operated on retail. So, mom and I headed home with the promise of Monday Market.

Until…

IMG_8679.jpeg


On Sunday morning, Mom said we should go explore the Sunday Market famously called Television Market. It is popular for its sales of Yams and other Tuber crops.

From what Mom told me, I imagined they only sold yams, potatoes, cassava and nothing else… so Imagine my surprise…

IMG_8852.jpeg

IMG_8851.jpeg

IMG_8848.jpeg


It was much more colourful, vibrant and populous than expected. There were fresh vegetables and some of the most common Nigerian grown foods. Someone had mentioned that 40% of people who brought goods to sell in the Television market owned their own farms. Well… I do not know how true that is.

IMG_8855.jpeg

IMG_8854.jpeg

IMG_8857.jpeg


To find the ‘Yam market’ within the market, we had to ask around. We were directed to taking a turn towards the main road. Lo and behold, it was a city of yams. However, I could tell right away that we would not get a good price. Why? See.

IMG_8856.jpeg


Once yams are dropped over this way, they are not going for wholesale. You are buying retail price so I told my mom we should just cut our losses and go home. But mom was optimistic. While she checked out one stall, I moved to another that looked like they gave wholesale…

IMG_8858.jpeg


…until the seller opened his mouth 'waaaaaaaah' and rubbish flowed out of it.

So we left…only to be greeted on the road by these little birdies Google Image revealed as Village Weaver (ploceus cucullatus). See the little one giving me the side eye? Hehehehe.

IMG_8865.jpeg


We stopped for some mangos and headed home to prepare for Monday Market which was the next day.

IMG_8897.jpeg

IMG_8896.jpeg


Monday Market is jammed! What the fluff! Turns out they open by 6am on Mondays when the people from various villages come in to sell off their produce. Unlike the other markets that have little of everything, Monday is a local supermarket with everything you could want!

IMG_8902.jpeg

IMG_8899.jpeg


Situated in-between Kakuri and the rail station [on the road towards the Central market], Monday market is quite large. You could get lost. There are alleys, shortcuts, and areas of residence. It is a town of its own.

IMG_8910.jpeg

IMG_8908.jpeg

IMG_8914.jpeg

IMG_8917.jpeg

IMG_8922.jpeg

IMG_8909.jpeg

IMG_8918.jpeg


Brimming with life and people, Monday sells it all. Underwear, kitchenware, grains, vegetables, livestock, seafood, toys, footwear’s...

A true shoppers promise...

IMG_8903.jpeg

IMG_8905.jpeg


Then we have what I will call the Citadel of Yams.

1AF901D0-486B-4B18-B9CD-7C00FA507365.jpeg


Over here, you can see the difference in presentation, referred to, as ‘casa’, Northern language (Hausa). They have set it all in ‘coreas’ and halves for whichever the buyer is after. If you cannot afford a full corea (100 tubers), you can pick the amount you want and pay for it. I went for a quarter, which is 25 tubers, and blown away at how much I had to pay for it. Thank God for friends.

2A6D66DD-B949-4830-8F01-769D9B4E9EED.jpeg


Overall, Monday market is the right place to visit, here in Kaduna, to experience the full extent of the local Nigerian lifestyle (in my opinion). I was tired and mentally stressed after everything but it was all worth it!

Hive Divider Image.webp

This post is for the Wednesday Walk initiative from @tattoodjay 😎 and posted in the Wednesday Walk Community. A big shoutout to @tengolotodo, my good friend 😁 and @samsmith1971, I love you both 😍.

All Images are mine

THANKS FOR READING!.gif

Sort:  

Indomie

Indomie Generation! See I remembered...

I love markets like that, something we struggle to find in the UK. Those yams and I do love that pic with the sunrays filtering in through the tree leaves!

I am glad you got that quarter and let's hope that this will be the highest that you have to pay 🙏

Praying hand?! 👀 you are praying? That's a surprise. I sincerely hope that it is the highest I'll have to pay.

Fact is... local markets are the best for good prices and fresh foods (still on the fence about this one). Thank you for your heartwarming comment and everything ❤️

Little and often or more bulk and less often. That is the problem when buying fresh produce, prices vary and you have to check what is out there.
Praying well for you one does make an exception.

I must have been a Saint in my previous life to deserve this honor

You must have but it's my honour too

Great pics, D! It's so nice to gain more insight into life in Nigeria. And, what a journey for Yam! I'm so glad you managed to get some, even at the higher prices. Boy do some of those Yam grow massive! I hope the business keeps growing for you and your mom. Love you, sweet thing 💗💗💗 !LUV !LADY

deraaa, samsmith1971 sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Hey Sammie. So sorry for the late reply!!! Yes yes. Better than nothing and thank you so much for your support.