You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wednesday Walk - Faro Del Albir - @mipiano & @ph1102 are trying to steal my dog πŸ˜‚

in Wednesday Walk β€’ last year (edited)

Man we gonna be running in circle on this one, the extended cut is my all time fav πŸ˜‘βœŒοΈ and I think apart from some events that he decided to focus on and stretch in time, Peter Jackson really encapsulate the spirit of LOTR, and is still amazing 😍.

Now for what has been said about Annatar:

"a commanding figure of great strength of body and supremely royal demeanour and countenance." L.246

"Upon that ship which was cast the highest and stood dry upon a hill there was a man, or one in man’s shape, but greater than any even of the race of Numenor in stature...And it seemed to men that Sauron was great; though they feared the light of his eyes. To many he appeared fair, to others terrible; but to some evil.”" HoME

As you see Tolkien isn't super descriptive, and this was after Annatar disguise has been discovered and was calling himself King Of Men.

From what I understand, I thought Amazon doesn't own the right of Sirmarillion so we won't see the name Annatar being used, though they'll probably talk about the other rings being forged in season 2 I'm sure of it πŸ˜ŒπŸ‘πŸ˜

Sort: Β 

I loved the Peter Jackson LOTRs films but we will have to agree to disagree about the extended cut haha πŸ˜† My wife loved it and a lot of people do so I'm probably the odd ball here lol.

Tolkien isn't super descriptive, and this was after Annatar disguise has been discovered

Yes its quite vague but he must have been able to portray himself as good when he wanted to, since he forged the rings with Celebrimbor for thousands of years. Though I do suppose that he could have manipulated him in other ways as well.

I thought Amazon doesn't own the right of Sirmarillion so we won't see the name Annatar being used

You're right. They don't. They only have access to LOTRs and the appendices. The appendices are quite vague though and not much is written on the second age. That gives the show runners a decent amount of leeway to create their stories - which could be a good thing or it could be bad depending on ones perspective. I'm hoping that they don't stray too far from cannon but we will see.