Wednesday Walk Around the Old Derelict Buxton Lime Kilns

in Wednesday Walk3 years ago (edited)

We had a nice stroll to check out the old derelict Buxton lime kilns in Derbyshire. The larger kilns were built in 1867 to meet the increasing demand for quick lime.

We came across the old tipper trucks that carried the quarried lime on the narrow tracks and then tipped into the kilns.

Approximately, 30 tons of quick lime a day was collected and taken on the Rowsley and Buxton Branch Railway, running close by. Big concrete buttresses were added in the 1920's. Lime production was stopped near the end of World War II in 1944.

The second lot of kilns opened in 1878 and served by the Midland Railway main line from Matlock to Chinley. Work ended in 1930 when the quarry became unstable.

An interesting little mooch to see the history of the area.

#wednesdaywalk initiated by @tattoodjay.

Photos by @ellenripley - Julie S. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

Very nice photo's thanks for sharing 👍🏾 it must have been a great walk here's a small tip @tipu curate

Exploring old establishments finding the history to me in not only interesting but a fun way of seeing how things were done.

Enjoyed the outing with you on your walk, thanks for sharing @ellenripley

@tipu curate

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 74 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
5

You have discovered some very nice places this Wednesday, the greenery on the old building makes it look more beautiful and seems to be old enough because this sticking plants takes very much time to grow over the places..

Yes, it's been there since the 1800s. 🙂

Thanks for this lovely writings dear..

My pleasure.

Excellent shots, I’ve been there myself, lovely walks on the Monsal trail.

Thank you. I cycle down there as well. It's only so I don't feel guilty when I pop into the cafe for a snack. 🙂

It looks as if you have walked into a post-apocalyptic future :)

That's the way I like it. Just need a zombie to come around the corner. 😆💀😱

It is a beautiful kiln and especially it is located in a very peaceful area. That's a nice walk!

Thank you. It's good they've left it to nature.

Yeah, I'm curious how it will look after ten years.

What an interesting place to visit so cool the tracks and some tipper trucks are still there makes it easier to imagine how it was when in Opération

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Thank you @tattoodjay. Your #wednesdaywalk definitely floats my boat, as they say. 🙂

👍🙂👍

Wow that looks like a really cool, mysterious and almost haunted place!

So great not to see any graffiti on it too!

Thank you. It was definitely my kind of place.

Well as always I look forward to more!

The photos tell so much story.
Thank you for bringing us to where you had your stroll. Enjoyed seeing all the photos~!
untitled.gif

Thank you very much.


Hey @ellenripley, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.