A stone built shopping mall

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago

I want to take you today to one more beautiful mountainous village that is thriving!

I have told you more than once, that most of the small villages in Greece, especially the ones that are away from the sea, have lost their population and are now left in decay. But there are exceptions in this rule (as in any rule) and Palaios Panteleimonas is an obvious one!

Palaios means old, since there is also a new (Neos Panteleimonas) which is closer to the sea and has all the permanent residents. By 1990 the old village was lifeless and in bad shape. But then the magic hand of the tourism fairy did its miracle!

If you visit it now, most of the houses are renovated and are used as guest houses, taverns and gift shops. All the renovations are very well made and the few untended houses are just enough to give an essence of originality. I enjoyed very much my walk through the well-kept cobblestone streets and even more the amazing view! I even stayed a little longer than I was planing to make some pictures during the magical time of the dusk.

But the whole time I had the uneasy feeling that I was walking on a stone built shopping mall.

_MG_7610.jpg

_MG_7611.jpg

_MG_7613.jpg

_MG_7615.jpg

_MG_7617.jpg

_MG_7619.jpg

_MG_7620.jpg

_MG_7622.jpg


_MG_7623.jpg

_MG_7627.jpg

_MG_7630.jpg

_MG_7631.jpg

_MG_7637.jpg

_MG_7638.jpg

_MG_7640.jpg


_MG_7648.jpg

_MG_7649.jpg

_MG_7652.jpg

_MG_7654.jpg

_MG_7656.jpg

_MG_7663.jpg

_MG_7667.jpg

_MG_7670.jpg

_MG_7672.jpg

This is my contribution to the Wednesday walk challenge hosted by @tattoodjay!


All the pictures and the words are mine.

Thank you for reading and if you want to know more about me you can check out my introduction post.

Commenting, upvoting and rebloging are highly appreciated!

Sort:  

What an amazing place like going back in time and glad you stayed to dusk the night shots are fantastic
Great to hear tourism revatilized the old part

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Yes, I liked the night shots too :)
Thank you for your support!

Most welcome my pleasure to visit your post

What a charming place! That combination of mountain and sea is idyllic for me. Great post

Thank you very much @francisaponte25 :)

What a place stunning old building. Today's building looks so dull in comparison.

Beautiful haunting photos and a reminder of the consequences of the failure of a civilisation to have enough children to replace those dying.

Thank you @apshamilton, I am glad you like them!

What a unique and beautiful village.
Awesome photography @fotistef

Thank you very much @joalvarez :)