Even with my eyes closed

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago

April 27 2022 is for me the day of the first swim in the sea, for the new season! You probably don't care and it is irrelevant to this post but I am very glad about it and I wanted to share it :)

This post on the other hand is about a walk in the old town of Nafplio. I have told you, the previous days, that I am on vacation here and I have shared a few pictures in this post but today I want to invite you for a wider walk.

Let's find an opening in the medieval walls and sneak into this fairytale town!

IMG_7270.jpg

IMG_7273.jpg

IMG_7278.jpg

IMG_7280.jpg

Nafplio is one of the very few well preserved old towns in Greece that maintains a medieval aura and the locals have made a thriving tourist industry out of it. The extravagant renovations and the cute details are side by side to the neglected houses, especially to the upper part of the town.

IMG_7285.jpg

IMG_7290.jpg

IMG_7293.jpg



IMG_7309.jpg

The whole settlement is built on a steep hillside. The higher and more difficult to access part, is full of small hotels and a few houses of permanent residents. As you descent the stairway of the narrow streets you can find the commercial roads with a lot of shops and finally the sea!

IMG_7310.jpg



IMG_7324.jpg

Most of the buildings can be described as a work of art and walking in this town is a true delight. I could have been taking pictures with my eyes closed, in this fabulous scenery and I am sure that many of them would have been great :)

IMG_7329.jpg

IMG_7335.jpg



IMG_7362.jpg

After reaching the sea level I took a round route and I ascended again to the gate I used to enter and a few meters behind it, the parking lot :)

This is my contribution to the #wednesdaywalk challenge, initiated by @tattoodjay :)

Have a lovely Wednesday!



IMG_7378.jpg

IMG_7404.jpg

linebreak.png

All the pictures and the words are mine.

Thank you for reading and if you want to know more about me you can check out my introduction post.

Commenting, upvoting and rebloging are highly appreciated!

Sort:  

Do you know that my childhood was spent in the sea!? I grew up on the South Coast of SA and literally every moment that I wasn't in school I was splashing in the waves. I only realize how much I miss it when I return. Which, these days may be once a year. So I most definitely do care that you celebrated your first day in the sea. How special. Other than that .... a fairytale destination indeed @fotostef

That's the case for Fotini too! Actually this is her hometown so you can imagine that she was even happier :)

Ah, yes I remember. We've noticed she and I have quite a bit in common. She must've felt like a dolphin back at the sea!

Such a charming and colorful place I love places like this

Still to cold fir me to be swimming in the sea here yet

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

I am glad you like it, I am very fond of it :)

This is a wonderful resech I like this.

Thank you @juliasjohn, I am glad you like it :)

Wow - what a beautiful place !
!PIZZA

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@hoosie(3/5) tipped @fotostef (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

A really lovely town!

I really like it too :)