Walking around a medieval castle!

in Wednesday Walk7 months ago (edited)

On my way to the city of Ghent in Belgium I came accros this 13th century castle!
It's in the town of Laarne, and it's one of the most beautiful and best preserved water surrounded castles in Belgium!

I arived very early and because of that, the castle was still closed, they open on 13:00 hour!
That was a to long of a wait for me, so i just walked around a bit!

The entrance is already very beautiful, and because of that the castle still was closed, I could park wright in front of it!

2X9A6658.jpg

There was another beauty parked at the neighbors!

2X9A6653.jpg

And a half of a sculpture playing hopscotch, that's what google told me is the translation of the Dutch word "hinkelen"

2X9A6651.jpg

This awesome long lane starts out in the village and you walk straight up to the castle!

2X9A6649.jpg

Along the way these beautiful flowers!

2X9A6655.jpg

2X9A6650.jpg

The first building on the right are the old stables! the transformed them to an beautiful restaurant! To bad it's also closed!

2X9A6619.jpg

2X9A6621.jpg

2X9A6631.jpg

2X9A6629.jpg

2X9A6634.jpg

2X9A6635.jpg

And from the terrace, you have a beautiful view of the castle!
This is so cool if you could drink a beer here with this view!

2X9A6625.jpg

2X9A6623.jpg

Walking around the stables to the front of the castle give you a pretty good idea how beautiful it must be inside! It was almost if I was back in the middle-ages!

2X9A6641.jpg

2X9A6620.jpg

2X9A6637.jpg

And there was a wedding shoot! How cool is that! Wedding pictures at a castle from the year 1295!

2X9A6640.jpg

The view from the bridge!

2X9A6645.jpg

2X9A6644.jpg

2X9A6643.jpg

Thank you for reading my post! And if you want to see all the places I have ever been to, just click on my Pinmapple profile!

And if you want to follow my daily life, I often post stories and pictures off all the tings I do in life on my Instagram account!

Sort:  

What a magnificent castle! It must've made for unforgettable wedding photos. But.... Imagine living there. I loved wandering the castles and their gardens when I lived in the UK. Now I'm disappointed that I never explored any castles in Belgium!

But Belgium also has got many castle

And now I regret not exploring them

I am sorry🙈

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Such a beautiful area that hopscotch statue is different which for ma make sit so cool, and WOW that castle is awesome

Thanks for joining the Wednesday walk :)

Your welcome👍