I found a secret hiding place for a Wednesday walk. Here’s the story.

in Wednesday Walklast year (edited)

Hi nature lovers, adventurers, and Hive folks! Only a few people know that I moved out at 22. Pretty young, right? I have my personal reasons: It was both a need and a want.

My safety came first and then all the little joyful bits of being independent came next. One of the things I was looking forward to was finding a place where I could freely walk. I love going on walks and listening to music, especially since it helps improve my mood and mental state.

20230119_161104.jpg

Benefits of walking to our mental health
Have you heard the term ‘forest bathing’? Fitzgerald cited in an article in 2019, “The term emerged in Japan in the 1980s as a physiological and psychological exercise called shinrin-yoku.”

They encouraged residents to reconnect with nature – because it is good for us. My take on this was simple: We are a part of nature. Then that means being with nature makes us feel connected to other sources of life. We ask for their energy; we receive it.

A TREE-fic surprise
On May 2021, my sister and I found an apartment with a decent-sized living room and kitchen, a clean bathroom, and one bedroom that fit our bunk beds. It was gated with security cameras and a parking space. Also, it was a walking distance to the wet market and a jeep away from the malls.

YT thumbnail (4).png

The best part? Mt. Malarayat was just one look away. I always thought of it as “my” mountain since we lived by the foot of it during my grade school years.

However, I didn’t expect to see another place that topped off the whole search: a prayer park next to a chapel. It was named the ‘Holy Family Park’ in Brgy. Maraouy, Lipa City.

20230119_165036.jpg

Towered with tall trees, carpeted with the greenest grass, and the cool breeze brushing against my skin – it felt like entering another world. Juxtaposed to my tech-boom burnout life, the place was surreal. And it was all mine for the taking.

20230119_161440.jpg

20230119_161431.jpg

20230119_161500.jpg

Of course, we signed the lease, unsure if we felt brave or foolish. There were a lot of setbacks, stabbed backs, and silent treatment. But I took a deep and determined breath.

It’s time to face the music: I need a new life, and I want to make it happen.

My secret little hiding place
The prayer park is open to everyone. Sometimes, there would be families looking around. Or aunties who came to pray. Or students who need a place to practice their dances. Meanwhile, I would sit, legs crossed, under a tree to read.

20230112_144018.jpg

20230113_160530.jpg

20230119_160858.jpg

In a flash, I imagined my younger self, who used to spend her free time in the field, lying on the ground with her hand reaching the sky. She was at peace, and so was I.

Finally.

But I wasn’t as comfortable as I do now. It began with short visits and just looking at the statues of Mama Mary, Sto. Nino, and St. Joseph. Since the place isn’t usually crowded, I visit more after work.

20230119_161309.jpg

20230119_161813.jpg

Until it was just me, the trees, the wind, and the sky.

I whispered my feelings to the swaying leaves and shared my burdens to the marching ants. At the prayer park, I was safe. It felt like it was even meant to be. Fate? Destiny? I don’t know exactly what to call it, but I’m glad I ended up here, having my own secret hiding place.

20230113_160133.jpg

It became part of my routine, like today. My sister and I challenged ourselves to go in the morning as the sun woke up and did its stretch.

20230125_072914.jpg

One thing is sure: Being with nature heals. It just does. And I’m so grateful that I have the Weekend Walk community by @tattoo-djay to share my experience.

Thank you for reading 💜

(Btw, I’m Ish! If you want to check out my intro blog, jump to this link. Or would you like to know more about my mental health advocacy? Here’s my page.)

If you wish to invite me as a speaker, you can email me at [email protected]

Want to order my poetry zine? You can check out this link.

Have a healing day ahead! 💜

(photo edited on Canva)

Sort:  

Couldn't agree more that being in nature heals. Can already sense how serene that place you visited.

Nothing gives me peace and clarity when I'm outside surrounded by trees and plants or if I head to the beach right across where Im staying and read a book. Funny how I was an extrovert growing up and now that I'm in my 30's I just love being with myself. Anyways, good to read your blog.

Yep, so true. As we grow older, we feel more introverted 😂 Thanks for your comment!

Nature gives us the life we always desire; peace and serenity.
I love this kind of place.
May you always find happiness, love and peace. ☺️

Sa kabilang side lang ito!

Totoo naman Ish, sobrang relaxing ng nature kaya I cannot see myself na bumalik sa city kasi there's something na talaga.

Peace from the breeze of the wind and other stuff that it can give.

The place is so relaxing, perfect for mental health.

It is, thanks for commenting 😊 May you have relaxing days ahead!

Have a great day. 😊

Congratulations @ishwoundedhealer! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 2750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Yes, it is a beautiful and comfortable place to relax while reading a book or exercising.

I could feel the tranquillity at its finest you can breathe all in at Prayer Park. Such a lovely and serene place indeed. You made the right choice, you found at home with nature. I could stay forever in that place.❤

Yesss, thanks for deeply understanding 😍 If only I could live at the park hahaha

Such a nice place to relax. I agree that nature really helps people to heal mentally. I lived in a city for 17 years and the life that we have there was far from what we have right now in Visayas.

Glad that you found peace and quiet in Visayas! 💜

I love the term Forest Bathing and I do believe being out in nature away from the hustle and bustle of the world is very good for us, whether it be in a forest, or even on a deserted beach all to oneself

Thanks for joining the Wednesday, its always fun for me to visit the walks from all around the world, getting a feel for communities where people live and what they see on their daily walks

You're very much welcome! And it's nice to meet you 😊

nice to meet you as well :)

It sounds like you and your sister done right in singing the lease.
So beautiful to have a such quiet place so close to home. A perfect re-energiser, since I do agree with you that spending time in nature can energise us. For me, it usually takes the stress away, resulting in feeling more positive and energised.
NJOY the park as much as you can, and as often as you can ;)

Yep, no regrets at all! Thank you so much 😍

The atmosphere of the place is natural and there are lots of benefits in open space. The air is definitely fresh and clean, green leaves and trees are beautiful to look at. Thanks. Happy day.

It feels like my lung cleared up after moving here 😂 Thanks for the comment!

I think it's so important to always make awareness among people that doing physical activities not only is important for our physical health but also for our mental health. I think it's great that you can have this walks often and surely that makes you feel good.

It's the first time I see you around here on Hive but I truly wish you all the success now that you're independent. Hope to see more of your content here ✨

Nice to meet you @mandysmoon 💜 I'm a newbie here so looking forward to posting more blogs 😊 Thanks for the support!

Looking forward to read them! Nice to meet you too ✨

Indeed nature is a natural doctor. I so feel your side ish. I had been through the toughest and every time I felt depressed, I simply walk and feel the wild heart of nature. Great thoughts from you as always. Best regards.

Wow excellent !
Really great history, I like it.
I like to know you enjoy walking in Nature... and "forest bath" is talking to me.
I also like to go outdoor and I associated clean up on environment.
Because Poeple, or simply the wind bring trash (often plastic trash) all over.
Then I created @cleanplanet to sensibilize poeple and reward those who take care about the environment.

Thanks !

It's great that you mentioned cleaning up the environment - the other day, I found a glass bottle and some candy wraps. Good thing there was a trash can nearby so I just picked it up. I'm also an advocate for our environment so nice to meet you here! 😊

It's amazing how sometimes we can find hidden gems in our backyard if we just take the time to explore. The photos are beautiful and really capture the serenity of the spot. Thank you for sharing your adventure with us!

It's one of the most rewarding feelings in the world - to explore and find a hidden treasure😍 Thanks for taking the time to comment!

What a beautiful place 😍. I love nature and all the tranquility it brings to me while contemplating it 💚. I'm glad you found this nice place and now it's your secret hideaway 💜. I could spend hours and hours there 💚, I loved it! Thanks for sharing it ❤️.

Your comment made me think of Disney's 'Moana' 😊 Enjoy this gif that feels like being in nature 🌱

untitled.gif

Congratulations @ishwoundedhealer! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain And you have been rewarded with the following badge

Post with the highest payout of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hi @ishwoundedhealer! You have found a treasure, the best hiding place in the world, I congratulate you, what a wonderful experience. Thanks for sharing.

Is there is secret hiding place like nature?

I doubt so because nature gives you everything you need not just for survival. It watches over your mental health as well and as an admirer of nature, I can tell how happy and peaceful it is to choose nature as your secret hiding

This post was upvoted by the Nature Lovers Community