#Wednesday Walk - A Visit to Winkle Rocks

in Wednesday Walk8 months ago

This post is for the #wednesdaywalk challenge and the #makemesmile challenge collaboration. This collaboration initially took place once a month, but due to its popularity, @tattoodjay (of the #wednesdaywalk) and @elizacheng (of #makemesmile) decided to make it a weekly thing.

If you want to know more about the rules, visit this week's post by @tattoodjay where you will find all the rules at the bottom of his post after you've enjoyed his beautiful photos from his walk.

During one of our visits to Winkle Spruit, in Amanzimtoti, we paid a visit to Winkle Rocks, just below St. Winifred's Beach.

I love taking photos in that area.

Just below St. Winifred's Beach, you find some rock formations on the beach, known as Winkle Rocks. I suppose the name comes from the fact that it is located in the Winkle Spruit area.

A pool/entertainment area has been built on these rocks, but it hasn't been open to the public for a very long time now.

For today's post, I would like to share some photos, taken from outside this area as well as some of the rock formations around it.

Not approaching this area from St. Winifred's Beach (as we normally do), but directly from the parking area above Winkle Rocks, this is what you see.

DSC_2525.jpg


Getting closer, focusing on the pool area from the beach.

DSC_2443-2.jpg


Looking a little more to the right, with the ocean behind this area.

DSC_2444-2.jpg


I walked down to the bottom and looked back to take the next photo from below with some holiday accommodation visible in the background.

DSC_2471.jpg


Just below this area, to the southern side, you find some beautiful rocks on the beach.

DSC_2445-3.jpg


The rock formation is mainly visible around the pool/entertainment area, but looking down toward the south, you still see some rocks in the water for quite a distance.

DSC_2510.jpg


I love the appearance of these rocks when they are wet.

DSC_2456-2.jpg


Plenty of space to walk around on the rocks and even find some life between the rocks...

DSC_2494.jpg


And how can I spend some time on the beach...and not get at least one shot of a splash? Even if it is a little one...LOL!

DSC_2460.jpg


Let's move on to some of the bigger rocks...

DSC_2489.jpg


I love the different colors of this rock.

DSC_2466-2.jpg


For the last photo in this post, let's zoom in to take a closer look at the colors of this rock...

DSC_2465.jpg


And that's it for today, folks!

Thank you for reading my post! I do appreciate it!

pinmapple -30.09632 lat 30.86240 long d3scr

Sort:  

Ufff, what a great photos!!!
I love it!!!

I'm glad you enjoyed my photos, @waldelgado! Thanks for stopping by! Have a great day!

Lovely captivating shots @jacoalberts. I love the blues. So cool for a walk 🏙 Thanks for sharing .

Hi, @sunshine29! Thank you for stopping by! I'm glad you enjoyed my photos. Thank you for your feedback! I do appreciate it!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you for your support, @pinmapple! I do appreciate it!

I loved this walk through this coastal area, apparently the sea waters were quite rough
What beautiful shots, thank you very much for showing us this beautiful place.
have a beautiful morning

Hi, @jlufer! I hope you are doing well.

I'm glad you enjoyed our walk with us! Thank you for your feedback! I do appreciate it!

Ohh I do love costal walks and this area is so beautiful

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk :)

Yes, I also love coastal walks. I'm glad you loved the area too👍!

Thanks for stopping by, @tattoodjay!

👍🙂👍

Awesome visit, the rocks are fascinating as is the argument many have over the name !LOLZ

Be there or be square!
If you're not there, then I assume you're not a round.

Credit: reddit
@jacoalberts, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of joanstewart

(1/8)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

I'm glad you enjoyed our visit with us, @joanstewart! Those rocks are fascinating indeed, aren't they? And yes, I've also heard some stories about the name...LOL. The one about the sailors as described in Wikipedia makes sense to me though...

!ALIVE

@joanstewart! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ jacoalberts. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Thank you for sharing my post, @lauramica! I do appreciate it!

Ticks and the sea. So calming

I'm glad you enjoyed my post, @riki! Have a great day👍!