Wednesday Walk - Memories of a Steam Train.

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago

This post is for the #wednesdaywalk challenge and the #makemesmile challenge collaboration. This collaboration initially took place once a month, but due to its popularity, @tattoodjay (of the #wednesdaywalk) and @elizacheng (of #makemesmile) decided to make it a weekly thing.

If you want to know more about the rules, visit this week's post by @tattoodjay where you will find all the rules at the bottom of his post after you've enjoyed his beautiful photos from his walk.

Last weekend was a busy, but very pleasant weekend. On Saturday we had some commitments to attend to and on Sunday, the kids and grandkids came over to celebrate Father's Day with us. I hope all the fathers and grandfathers here on the blockchain had an excellent day (as I've had...).

Long story short...we didn't really have time to go out for a walk of any kind. So...there was no opportunity for taking new photos...

So, I started looking at some of the photos I have taken over the last couple of months.

I found the photos from the "steam-train series" that I have done during December 2021.

Here are links to the posts in that little series if you want to have a look just for the fun of it:

Seeing that there was a fair amount of walking involved in that little "fun" project of mine, I thought it well to use some of the photos taken during that time and play around with them by doing some editing.

I decided to take the "black and white" route for today...just to emphasize the feeling of "yesteryear"...

The first photo is the beast of a steam engine that was used to get the train from the starting point in Kloof to its end destination in Inchanga and back.

DSC_1223-3b.jpg

In the next photo, it was time to leave the station in Kloof and head out to Inchanga.

DSC_1229-2b.jpg

The start of a fun ride in a real steam train...

DSC_1231b.jpg

And off they went, with Wesley, a proud, shiny steam engine still doing his job...

DSC_1234b.jpg

The train came thundering past me, filled with some excited, cheerful passengers on their way to Inchanga...

DSC_1246b.jpg

I got in my car and drove to Gillits, where I waited for the train to pass me again.

DSC_1154b.jpg

DSC_1156-2b.jpg

Then I was off to Drummond where I waited for the train to come through the bridge...

DSC_1161b.jpg

DSC_1163b.jpg

The next photo I left in color, just focusing on the train on its journey through the valley.

DSC_1254.jpg

In the last photo, the train is arriving at its destination, Inchanga.

DSC_1181c.jpg

The train would remain standing there for about an hour or so while the passengers could enjoy the craft market and railway museum, before returning to Kloof again.

And that's it for today, folks. Thank you for reading my post. I do appreciate it.

Sort:  

Great excuse to dive into photo folders. 😉
Love the old steam trains. The photos in b&w are just stunning. It fits the subject so well.
Thanks for sharing @jacoalberts 😎
Great to hear you enjoyed the weekend with the celebrations!

Yes, I've had a fabulous weekend and it was a great excuse to dive into those old photo folders indeed...lol.

Thank you for your positive feedback, @littlebee4! I do appreciate it👍!

Enjoy the rest of your evening!

Great to hear @jacoalberts 😁
You are so welcome, with pleasure!
Thank you so much 👋🏻😊

These are absolutely amazing Jaco.
Apparently, we had a steam train here last week and I only found out the day after it went past :(
There is something romantic about steam trains. Wesley hehe I chuckled at Santa on the front of Wesley, he must have lost his reindeer!
Great shots and I loved them in monochrome:)

Hi Ed. Thank you for your positive feedback, I do appreciate it and I'm glad you liked these shots in monochrome!

Yes, Those photos have been taken in December 2021 as mentioned, and it can get warm here in December. I suppose maybe the reindeer went to look for some shade in the valley and Santa decided to get on board the train to go find them...or maybe he just wanted to give them a break...lol!

Or maybe Santa wanted to sneak off for a cheeky drink while the reindeer slept🤣

Hahaha...Good one🤣!! The train does go past Dirk's Pub on the way indeed...LOL!

haha there you go Jaco, Santa can't fool me🍻🤣

I hope you also had a nice fathers day

I do love steam trains and you got amazing shots of it that work so well in B&W

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

I've had an awesome fathers day, thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed my photos in B&W. Thank you for your positive feedback, I do appreciate it!

awesome :)

I like that it is in black and white for there are not much distraction it feels like. I see Santa looks happy on the train. It's the reindeers' day off maybe lol!

Hahaha...yes, Santa took the train for the day...lol!

I'm glad you liked my photos in black and white. Thanks for stopping by and have an awesome day!

Have a wonderful day too!

Thank you👍