Wednesday Walk ~ Wildflowers and Wind Damage

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago

IMG_1176s.JPG

We set out on the trail today and I realized I hadn't walked it in several months since the flooding had been particularly bad this spring. It had gotten to the point where, well, in all honesty, I was walking a section of the trail that had been closed and probably for that reason. On top of that were a series of unusual wind and thunderstorms. I had forgotten about those.

IMG_1178s.JPG

This is probably the time of year when we see the most wildflowers.

IMG_1177s.JPG

These are wild grape vines.

IMG_1180s.JPG

There is just a stunning variety of them.

IMG_1181s.JPG

They were most noticeable here where the trail crosses through open meadow.

IMG_1183s.JPG

I was walking along, madly snapping photos while trying to keep up with my companion.

IMG_1184s.JPG

So pretty.

IMG_1187s.JPG

Trees and plants that had flowered earlier in the year were now producing fruit.

IMG_1189s.JPG

We left the meadow and entered the bush by the beaver pond.

IMG_1190s.JPG

It's not unusual to see signs of work on the trail. The work crews had been clearing fallen trees up ahead.

IMG_1191s.JPG

A daisy by the beaver pond.

IMG_1195s.JPG

We had just passed the sign that said the trail was closed and we were crossing the bridge. This part of the trail has been closed since last autumn and the bridge is becoming overgrown.

IMG_1196s.JPG

This is what someone my height sees!

We crossed the bridge and were just climbing the slight hill. There is a bend in the trail with a really pretty clump of old cedar trees here that I like to photograph.

Oh, no!

IMG_1200s.JPG

The entire clump had been taken down in the derecho (a series of thunderstorms and high winds that can reach tornado force).

IMG_1201s.JPG

See the flat rocks that were under the trees' roots? There isn't much topsoil on the Canadian Shield so trees don't always have much to cling to. This is very sad.

IMG_1205s.JPG

This view is from what was the topside. The roots clung to whatever they could but it wasn't enough during the storm.

IMG_1206s.JPG

This is the other side. What an amazing sight.

IMG_1208s.JPG

It didn't end there. Look what's ahead.

IMG_1210s.JPG

Our walk has become an obstacle course!

IMG_1211s.JPG

Time for the hurdles!

IMG_1212s.JPG

Some of us are a little short in the leg, and I dangled them while carefully making sure my pants weren't hooked to something before I jumped down.

IMG_1222s.JPG

Now this should have been the first hurdle! lol

IMG_1227s.JPG

This clump of cedars is smaller than the one that fell. Hi there!

IMG_1229s.JPG

I had walked this part of the trail several times in the spring. With the grass and weeds so high, you can't see the trail of logs that is quite passable, only you must walk slowly. And you must walk slowly on them while surrounded by the mosquitos that have just found us! We decided to retrace our path.

IMG_1230s.JPG

The trail is pretty good except for those few spots.

IMG_1238s.JPG

A Monarch butterfly briefly landed on the milkweed, now in full bloom.

IMG_1241s.JPG

We were on a path between the meadow and the beaver pond, heading in the other direction.

IMG_1242s.JPG

More big trees down from the wind. We pieced together how one of the falling trees launched the huge boulder that rolled down the hill in the middle of the photo.

IMG_1243s.JPG

It was more obvious from the other side but the photo wasn't so clear.

IMG_1246s.JPG

Have some wild raspberries.

IMG_1248s.JPG

A whole patch of raspberries.

IMG_1249s.JPG

Surrounded by nature's bounty.

IMG_1250s.JPG

We were following a less travelled path that eventually led back to the main path.

IMG_1251s.JPG

Back at the lovely pine forest.

IMG_1252s.JPG

Three months ago, I posted photos of a porcupine sleeping in this oak tree. Today, I almost didn't recognize the tree with everything so lush and green.

IMG_1255s.JPG

There were quite a few more trees down.

IMG_1256s.JPG

It's difficult to believe that wind can do this.

IMG_1253s.JPG

Count the rings to determine the tree's age. We think it was at least 40 years old.

IMG_1257s.JPG

It's sad to see the trees damaged so badly and then to see this wood going to waste.

IMG_1259s.JPG

Another side of the beautiful meadow.

IMG_1260s.JPG

Thistles that are almost as tall as me.

IMG_1262s.JPG

Last photo. This is the tamarack tree that overlooks the parking lot.

Thank you @tattoodjay for the wonderful #WednesdayWalk that gets us walking outdoors and then gives us glimpses into everyone else's walks worldwide.

Images

Photos from my Canon SX620 HS on the Old Quarry trail in the Ottawa greenbelt.

Follow footer.gif

Enjoy!
@kansuze

Sort:  

@kansuze This is the first time this has happened to me, I wanted to write a comment to you, but I wrote to myself :-))) and only now I saw it.
Good thing I saw it!

Therefore, I deleted it from myself and I am writing this comment to you now :-)))

I love these walks!
I see you had a good time and beautiful photos!

We all have days like that! lol

Good thing I'm not the only one 😂

O my so much damage. But still nature remains beautiful.
Great captures @kansuze 😁 thanks for sharing. It looks like a nice walk, even with the hurdles.

I do love wildflowers and trails like you share with us here

Ohh NO what a shame to see that damage from the storm

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Nature can be a vicious circle at times.
My favourite part of the walk, the wild raspberries! My ultimate favourite:)
What a gorgeous walk with beautiful scenery:)

I could go back for more!

Oh I could imagine!

Nice flowers in the beaver pond. I was impressed how the thunderstorm knocked down those trees and how brave you are to cross that little well by riding on that tree that served as a bridge, I really enjoyed this adventure with you, thanks for sharing. I wish you health and prosperity.

Thank you @thaismarags. I hope you visit again.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @tengolotodo.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you!

Hermosas fotos brindan mucha armonía
🤩🥰👏😬❤️🌟🤗🌺🌺🤗🌟❤️😬👏🤩

Congratulations @kansuze! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 3750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 4000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank You!

You're welcome @kansuze! Have a nice day 😊👍