WednesdayWalk ~ Can you spot it?

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago

IMG_0500s.JPG

On my walk today, I noticed something high in a tree. Can you spot it? At the end of this post, I will zoom in and you can try to identify it.

IMG_0476s.JPG

It's a beautiful and cool spring day.

IMG_0477s.JPG

I love photos with curved paths. You never know what you're going to see around that next bend.

IMG_0480s.JPG

That was fast. I spotted this little chipmunk.

IMG_0479s.JPG

What a cutie.

IMG_0478s.JPG

Some of the first spring flowers in the bush are the dog-toothed violets. These are their mottled leaves but it will be awhile before we see the flowers.

IMG_0486s.JPG

I don't usually take this path. We're just starting to see a little green on the ground and in the trees.

IMG_0473s.JPG

The buds are swelling everywhere. Aren't these unusual?

IMG_0485s.JPG

That's good old Canadian Shield.

IMG_0483s.JPG

I don't know how long ago the beaver chewed through this birch tree but see how it's wet -- that's from its sap. Most people don't know that you can make syrup from trees other than sugar maple trees, and birch are one of them. I was tempted to taste it but didn't because, well, animals do other things to stumps! I can tell you that sap tastes like slightly sweet water.

IMG_0488s.JPG

All is well at the beaver pond.

IMG_0489s.JPG

I zoomed in on the cell tower in case you missed it in the last photo. You know you're not far from civilization when there is a traffic light at the entrance to the parking lot. This is another sign.

IMG_0490s.JPG

A little patch of lush green moss.

IMG_0491s.JPG

This is the usual spring flooding around the small lake.

IMG_0492s.JPG

Luckily I wore my hikers or I would have wet feet, what we used to call "a soaker" when we were kids, and spring water is cold!

IMG_0504s.JPG

I took a different path to avoid the mud and water.

IMG_0495s.JPG

A little squirrel picking at birdseed on the path.

IMG_0500s.JPG

Now are you ready to see the zoomed in photos?

IMG_0498s.JPG

IMG_0502s.JPG

It's the rump of a porcupine taking a nap in the tree! It might even be the same one I bumped into on a cold winter walk last month here.

Thank you @tattoodjay for the wonderful #WednesdayWalk that gets us all outdoors and then gives us glimpses into everyone else's walks worldwide.

Images

Photos from my Canon SX620 HS on the Old Quarry trail in the Ottawa greenbelt.

Follow footer.gif

Enjoy!
@kansuze

Sort:  

In Cyprus, I saw squirrels only in the zoo, unfortunately.
Great photos!

I'm glad you like them. Thank you for visiting.

👍

A porcupine! One doesn't see those often. Very cool!

It's only the third I have seen in my life. Last time was a month ago.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you!

Oh I see, yes your spring is not showing by now! But therefore you met these cute little animals. We only have squirrls here, but outside from parks not often see them.
Our climate is very mild, although last night it went down to zero degrees again :-(
I know, out of birches can be made xylit sugar, not sure if its made out of this sirup, but probably it is.
:-) Thank you for stopping by to my post

Thank you for dropping by! It is so nice to meet people from other countries here and see their nature and gardens.

Nice pics !
!ALIVE

@kansuze! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @hoosie. (10/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

I sure am. Thank you for noticing! lol

What a beautiful walk nice to see signs of springs and a few of the animals
I didn’t know porcupine climbed trees

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)