The reservoir and it’s hidden Old Bridge ~ Wednesday Walk ~ Charco Redondo Reservoir/ Embalse del Charco Redondo - Southern Spain πŸ‡ͺπŸ‡Έ

in Wednesday Walk β€’ last year

Hi all πŸ‘‹πŸ»

Today I want to share some of my adventures of wandering around off the beaten paths in southern Spain πŸ‡ͺπŸ‡Έ To be precise: ”The reservoir and it’s hidden Old Bridge ~ Charco Redondo Reservoir/ Embalse del Charco Redondo.” Just above Los Barrios. Driving from Algeciras to Jerez de la Frontera you pass it by.

With this post I’m joining in at the Wednesday Walk challenge and Make me Smile challenge. That are hosted by @tattoodjay and @elizacheng every week on Wednesday.

‼️Have a look: Here in the Wednesday Walk Community if you want to join in! or at @tattoodjay ’s Post: β€œWednesday Walk art in progressβ€œ
It will tell you also the rules of joining in, at the end of his post about this #wednesdaywalk 😁 Do join us, it’s fun 🀩

Today’s selection will be of 26 photographs, where I take you along on a walk next to the lake/ embalsa.
I visited this area on Friday 18 November 2022 😊
The Photographs in this post are taken with my iPhone πŸ“±

I will follow the time stamps on my photographs. So it looks like you are walking along with me on this #Walk πŸ’ƒπŸ»πŸ’ƒπŸ»πŸ’ƒπŸ» discovering everything and see the little #details through my eyes. 😊

Let me show you first its location on Google maps, see the yellow star ⭐️ :

Let’s start our WALK:
Are you coming along? πŸ˜‰πŸ˜Š

I went off the main road and hit a small backroad. That would take me on the left side of the main road, where I go under a bridge and park the car.

Let’s start walking 😎
We see this road ahead of us.

We keep walking further and see some buildings on the right. They are guarded by a cute little dog πŸ˜‰

We walk further until we have an area where we can see the reservoir really well. It is steep down so we stay on the road.
We look over the water and the dried out bits and see this bridge:

The water is low enough to show us an old (normally hidden) Bridge. πŸ€“πŸ˜Ž

Zooming in a bit.

We just see the top part of the arches.

Left side of it.

Right side of it. You see also the old road uncovered by the water.

Whole view.

This bridge was fully uncovered 2 years ago. And #submerged after again. But now after the summer it is showing again. The #water levels are not enough.
This water reservoir is for farm water and the villages. As you can see not enough left.
#Drought is more a common thing the last years than ever before. 😯

Zooming out again for you to see the whole area of this #reservoir.

Even though it’s sad because of the water levels, it is still so beautiful to see the old bridge/ La #antigua #puente. 😎🀩 The surroundings of this setting.

As we walk further, I notice some died plants on the side of the road… I love details as you may know already πŸ˜ŽπŸ€“ so I had to capture them. πŸ“Έ

Side view of the textures… the intricate details 😎

And we walk further…
Suddenly I spot something. As I’m not sure what it is. I take a closer look:

The top of it.

The bottom side of it.

It is definitely some kind of cocoon πŸ€“ about 3 cm long.

Very interesting to see… one last capture from afar. πŸ˜‰

At the far end of this road we decide to walk back to the car. As we know the sun will set soon. 😎

We see some more dried flowers along the road.

I capture them too, as you know #alwaysaflower is needed πŸ₯° even some weeds are pretty.

We see the reservoir again through the trees…

Some leaves are bright green, such a stark contrast with all the brown around us. 😊

Closer to the car… we see the sun still just reaches the trees…

And shines through them for us. 😊

A little further we reach the car, and say bye bye for now… πŸ‘‹πŸ» Talk soon ☺️

And that’s all for today’s post my friends, join me next time for more #adventures, #stories and #photographs πŸ˜ŽπŸ‘‹πŸ» Even some #artworks once in a while will come by 🎨
Thank you so much for looking, and reading. And if you liked my post, an upvote or re-blog is always welcome πŸ™πŸ»
Any questions or comments, let me know. Always happy to help.

Have a great Wednesday all 😎
Grtz Jackie

silver_divider_black.png

The divider is Created by SilverFish / @ mondoshawan

Unless stated otherwise: All art and photos used in my posts are taken, created and owned by me. If you wish to use any of my photographs, please contact me first. As I have used some commercially myself. We don’t want that you or somebody else gets into trouble πŸ˜‰ So please don’t use them without my consent.

πŸ–Ό My PRINTSHOP: for the purchase of all kind of prints in many sizes from my Artworks 🎨 and Photography πŸ“Έ Which come on different objects too. Have a look in My Prints Shop!

!pinmapple 36.25730 lat -5.57799 long The reservoir and it’s hidden Old Bridge ~ Wednesday Walk ~ Charco Redondo Reservoir/ Embalse del Charco Redondo - Southern Spain πŸ‡ͺπŸ‡Έ d3scr

Sort: Β 

That area is sooo beautiful. I love viewing open fields and large areas of land. I love how you showed us the photos in order so we could truly travel the same path with you.

Yes, there is definitely some type of creature that occupied that cocoon :D

Really great photos and it was a treat to see that revealed bridge. Thanks so much for sharing your walk with us ~

Thank you so much @crosheille πŸ‘‹πŸ»πŸ˜Š I love those areas too. And than to discover that bridge was such a treat.
Others commented that the cocoon is actually a praying mantis egg shell.
So mystery resolved πŸ€“πŸ˜Ž
Thank you so much for joining me on this walk 😊 I am happy I could share it with you.
Have a wonderful Thursday!

You’re very welcome. πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜‰

Oh cool, now there’s no mystery. Thanks for sharing the reveal. πŸ˜ƒ

Thanks a lot @crosheille πŸ‘‹πŸ»πŸ˜Š

You are welcome, it’s good to share knowledge πŸ˜‰πŸ€“ enjoy your day further!

I really love places like this! This bridge is adorable.

Thank you so much @tatdt πŸ‘‹πŸ»πŸ˜Š me too!
Have a wonderful Thursday β˜€οΈ

A lovely Wednesday Walk Jackie! I'm glad I stopped by to walk with you a bit. By the way, the tan-colored structure that looks like a cocoon is a praying mantis egg case. πŸ˜πŸ™πŸ’šβœ¨πŸ€™

Thank you so much @tydynrain πŸ‘‹πŸ»πŸ˜Š for joining me on this walk.
I was wondering that it could have been a praying mantis egg. As I had some in the garden when I lived up the mountain. But never seen the egg case of them.
Thanks for letting me know. πŸ€“ have a great Wednesday πŸ‘‹πŸ»

It was my pleasure @littlebee4! Yep, it's probably of the native European species. The eggs overwinter in that cozy little egg case, then then baby mantises hatch out in spring. Have a lovely evening! πŸ˜πŸ™πŸ’šβœ¨πŸ€™

Aawww how cute, I like watching and observing praying mantises 😊 such a wonderful creatures. Their little heads do follow you… when you work in the garden. As I would observe them they do me. πŸ₯°
Thanks it was, have a great day further @tydynrain πŸ‘‹πŸ»β˜€οΈ

Β last yearΒ (edited)Β 

I've always loved praying mantises too! I've always appreciated their ability to turn their heads and follow my movements. Thank you @littlebee4! It's been a beautiful and mellow day so far! Have a lovely night! πŸ˜πŸ™πŸ’šβœ¨πŸ€™

That’s cool you do too. πŸ˜ŽπŸ˜‰
And wonderful to hear… continue… and make it count.
Thank you so much πŸ‘‹πŸ» You too for later. Have a lovely night! πŸ₯°

πŸ˜πŸ™πŸ’šβœ¨πŸ€™

Such a beautiful area and a fantastic walk, seems all around the world, there is problems with water levels in reserviors being lower than they used to be

Thanks for joining the Wednesday walk :)

It is indeed a great area to walk, mainly trails around there. It is really in the middle of nowhere when you go a bit higher up. So it is nice.

Yes the water shortage is a few years now and it gets worse and worse. All over the world people feel, notice it.
Happy to be here and join in.
Have a wonderful evening @tattoodjay πŸ‘‹πŸ»πŸ˜Š
Thank you!

Oh what an interesting cocoon, @littlebee4! I've only seen a silkworm cocoon, it's not like that at all!!! And nature is just lovely!

Thanks a lot @valentinaboroday πŸ‘‹πŸ»πŸ˜Š nature is so precious πŸ₯°
I did find out in the comments it is an egg shell from the praying mantis πŸ€“
Have a wonderful day today β˜€οΈπŸŒΊ

This is a beautiful bridge surrounded by beautiful scenery. Looking at your photos, it's almost as if I can "hear" the absolute silence in the area...

Is there another bridge in the area as well? Or how do people cross to the other side when this bridge is below the water level?

This is a typical @littlebee4 post...the detail is awesomeπŸ˜‰πŸ™. I love the cocoonπŸ‘!

The last of the sunlight on those trees are also beautiful!

Thank you for sharing your walk with us and enjoy the rest of your evening!

Aawww it was so silence there… nobody around. Just nature, hubby and me.

Yes, there is a large road and bridge. A bit further around the corner to the left when you look at the old bridge. Not visible from the place I stood. We did walk about half an hour from it. So it is an large are. That new bridge does go over the reservoir but where it is standing no water is left. Just towards the right of the old bridge.

Thanks so much, I so love details and nature πŸ₯°πŸ˜Ž
The cocoon is apparently an praying mantis egg shell.

Happy to share my walk and what I saw. Thank you @jacoalberts for joining me πŸ‘‹πŸ»πŸ˜Š
Have a lovely evening and enjoy your Friday!

That's awesome!

Thanks for the information about the large road and bridge.

So, the cocoon was a praying mantis egg shell... now that's interesting! I've never seen one of those before. When I find them in the garden (or even in the house sometimes), I love letting them get on my hand. But I've never seen an egg shell such as this... Very interesting!

Enjoy your weekend, @littlebee4πŸ˜‰πŸ‘!

You are welcome @jacoalberts πŸ‘‹πŸ»πŸ˜Š

Apparently the egg shell contains more eggs, and they crawl out in spring.
This was my first too.
I had a large praying mantis in my garden up in the mountains some years ago. After a while it came also on my hand when I was outside. So cool… like a little pet πŸ€“πŸ˜Ž

Thanks a lot @jacoalberts you too πŸ‘‹πŸ»β˜€οΈ Enjoy the weekend!

That's very interesting!

Yes! It is almost like a pet when they come onto your hand, isn't it? That's a very good way of describing it.

Speak to you soon, @littlebee4πŸ™!

Yes, they do recognise you. Especially when they live in your garden. They come to you too, when you are patient. Such a cute and interesting creatures. Their little heads looking so alien like.

Talk soon @jacoalberts πŸ‘‹πŸ»πŸ˜Š

Hi, @littlebee4! Nature is awesome. We just need to stop sometimes and take the time to pay attention. Patience, as you say. Patience is key!

Yes! Their little heads do look alien like...that is so trueπŸ˜„πŸ‘!

That was a great walk. That bridge looks good and you really love to see around as you were able to see that little thing alongside.

Thank you so much @jenthoughts πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘‹πŸ» I enjoyed the walk really a lot. Thank you for joining me.
Have a great day β˜€οΈπŸŒΊ

Wow, the landscape once again looks like something out of a hollywood movie.
Did you go over the bridge or is it unstable?
The clouds look like cotton balls, wonderful. Like from IDK, Lord of the rings a bit or a fantasy movie.
What great close-ups of the plants, Gurl, superduper post. Magical locality.
Thanks for taking us with you on that wednesdaywalk.

untitled.gif

Thank you soooo much @akida 😊 for joining me on this walk.
The side I was on was to steep to go down to the bridge. If I passes by next time and have time, I maybe check out the other side if I can get there.
It was crumbling though… but who knows. Maybe one can get closer by. πŸ€“πŸ˜Ž
The lights was great, enough clouds to make the sky interesting and some darker ones further ahead.
I like exploring places nobody goes to hehehe 🀭
Thank you kindly! Love details…
Happy you came along and that I could share it today.
Enjoy your evening πŸ‘‹πŸ»πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€— hugggsssss
!LADY 🌺πŸ₯°

I love to go with you the wednesday walks :)
Aaaaaw me too, going on places nobody goes is cool. But I have mostly less time to do that.
I love details too, this is why I love the close-ups much much much.

But now relax and lay back.
Make tranquilo.
Read you later.
Beijinhos

Thank you kindly dear @akida πŸ‘‹πŸ»πŸ˜ŠπŸ€—
Yep, we have some similarities there πŸ˜‰πŸ€“

Willlll doooooo
Bye bye for now πŸ‘‹πŸ»πŸ‘‹πŸ»
😘
!LUV

View or trade LOH tokens.


@littlebee4, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @akida and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (3/3 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Hello there gorgeous @littlebee4 How I have missed your stories and photos!

And I loved this walk as much as the others, but I want to know if you plan on crossing the old bridge to see what's on the other side- while you can.

Hello dear @chocolatescorpi πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘‹πŸ» Aawwww and I missed yours too.

I know what there… just forest and fields πŸ€“πŸ˜‰ and a big road I came over. So not needed.
Hope you have a wonderful weekend β˜€οΈ And all is well with you and 🦜
Big hugs πŸ€—

Hey there gorgeous, I need to head over to you blog to catch up on all of the things that you guys have been up to in your adventurous and exciting life!

It's a good thing that I am at work all weekend as I'm totally broke from my holiday, and I'm able to take Indy in with me so she doesn't screech all day out of loneliness and now she's getting used to other humans too, which is what I want her to be (not that my boss knows I take her to work with me on the weekends...lol..

I hope that you guys are having a wonderful weekend too and look forward to hearing all about your adventures!

Hello @chocolatescorpi πŸ‘‹πŸ»πŸ˜Š and we did have some new adventures hehehe and travels to the US and I bought a new camera, as my old DSLR died in 2019. Finally I could replace it.

More adventures await us soon. And we surely have an exciting life 🀭
Guess what… we are moving out of Spain next month πŸ˜ŽπŸ€“ so I’m packing up again after only just moved into here.
Movers booked for the 16th of December and our Flights are booked for the 19th of December… ✈️🀩
Can’t wait to tell you all about it. Soon I will. πŸ€“ country 6 for me. And not the big move we were planning for a year. That one changed 180 degrees…

Aawww that’s so wonderful to hear you will take her with you to work (even though your boss doesn’t know) that way she does get used to others and it will be easier for you to take her along on travels. 🦜πŸ₯°
So cute, I can imagine it.
I do hope you have some you time… and not only work the coming months πŸ˜ŠπŸ™‚

Thank you so much.

The unidentified thing looks very much like a praying mantis' egg case. There is a photo of one in here: https://www.susansinthegarden.com/2017/04/praying-mantis-egg-cases/

Thank you so much @kansuze 😊😎 it does look indeed like that.
I love seeing praying mantises. Fascinating creatures.
Have a wonderful week further πŸ‘‹πŸ»β˜€οΈ

Wow - how cool is that bridge - quite amazing !!!!
!ALIVE
!LOLZ

@littlebee4! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @hoosie. (4/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Thanks πŸ™πŸ»

I went to the doctor the other day and he said you’ve got hypochondria.
I said oh god not that as well!

Credit: reddit
@littlebee4, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @hoosie

Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(2/10)

Thank you so much @hoosie 😊 it was so cool to see…
Very fascinating.

Have a great Thursday πŸ‘‹πŸ»
!PIZZA
!hivebits

wow, nice Wednesday walk with nature, thank you for sharing.

Thank you kindly @intoy.bugoy πŸ‘‹πŸ»πŸ˜Š happy to share my walks and the things I see.
Especially when it’s nature 😎

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! πŸŽ‰πŸ₯³πŸ

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you so much @pinmapple πŸ‘‹πŸ»πŸ˜Š much appreciated!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1708.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you so much @ybanezkim26 for the honourable mention πŸ‘‹πŸ»πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜‰πŸŽ‰ much appreciated!
Sorry for the late reply, a bad migraine showed up yesterday… a bit better today luckily. Will take it easy.
Have a great week further!

I'm the one who always reply late. Like a week late

And that’s fine, you always do reply… even late, it’s all fine my friend πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘‹πŸ»πŸ˜‰
Enjoy your day 😎