Wednesday Walk: Walk around Vologda.

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago

Hi everybody!

Today I want to talk about a walk that I took over a year ago. She was in July 2021. I went to the old Russian city of Vologda, which is known for its wooden architecture, lace and a special dialect, when instead of the letter "a" they say "o".

I also remember this walk for the fact that on that day I set my personal record for the number of steps taken.

When I was preparing for this trip, I downloaded the tour "Vologda - the soul of the Russian north" into my smartphone. Arriving in Vologda, I went for a walk along this route.

On the way we met a monument with the letter "O":

20210709_082809.jpg

The Vologda region has a speech originality, which linguists called a complete okan. But in Vologda itself, I have never heard this okanya, and in the Vologda region, many people speak through "o". It sounds so cute!

Vologda residents dedicated another monument to their dialect - a bench, but I don't know how to translate the name of this bench into English. Probably, "Let's sit and talk" So, let's talk with the Vologda accent:

20210709_083441.jpg

And yet, Vologda is lace, including wood! I have never seen such a concentration of houses with patterned platbands and cornices! You can consider all this endlessly:

20210709_091848.jpg

20210709_092139.jpg

20210709_131226.jpg

I dedicated a separate post to the wooden houses of Vologda, as they are very interesting!

After that, I went to the Lace Museum to get acquainted with the work of Vologda lacemakers.

The Lace Museum is very cool! Enjoyed wandering there!

20210709_104144.jpg

And after the museum climbed the bell tower. Actually, I don’t feel very confident at the height, but I couldn’t resist the temptation to look at the city from its highest point!

20210709_111959.jpg
(stairs to the bell tower)

20210709_112424.jpg

20210709_113043.jpg

20210709_113343.jpg

Having descended from the bell tower, I decided to go to St. Sophia Cathedral. Initially, I did not plan to visit him, but suddenly I decided not to ignore the desire that arose. And my intuition did not deceive me.
I finally saw the images of St. Christopher Pseglavets.

I first read about this saint from the Russian contemporary writer Yevgeny Vodolazkin in the novel "Lavre", and then I learned that the image of the saint with a dog's head was banned by the Holy Synod in 1722 and since then most of the ancient images of St. Christopher have been destroyed or written down . But in Vologda it was preserved. Not very clear, but quite recognizable, and seeing this icon was a great success for me!

20210709_122252.jpg

And the inside of the cathedral is beautiful! Iconostasis of the first half of the 18th century, frescoes - 17th century. And he also has a "zest" - according to the canon, the altar in Orthodox churches always faces east, and so in St. Sophia Cathedral it faces northeast. This was done by decree of Ivan the Terrible:

20210709_122323.jpg

20210709_124502.jpg

Then I wandered around the city for some more time, photographed wooden houses and graffiti, and when it got really hot, I turned towards the hotel.

After lunch and rest, I remembered that I never found the famous carved fences in front of the houses! These small fences are called "front gardens". And if you are in Vologda, then you definitely need to find them! Why is it necessary? It's long to explain, just trust me. So in the evening I went for a walk again.

I found a carved front garden, but only one:

20210709_195443.jpg

20210709_195643.jpg

It was my last day in Vologda and she said goodbye to me with a beautiful sunset:

20210709_202709 кор.jpg

20210709_203003.jpg

As a result, that day I was unconscious, in the truest sense of the word. During the day, in the heat, this is how many steps she walked:

Screenshot_20210709-214026_Samsung Health.jpg

Such a beautiful figure turned out, but only in the evening in the store I became ill. I went to buy water and ice cream and nearly passed out. Overheated in the sun and very tired during the day. But I got closer to the refrigerators, and I felt better. Since then I have not walked so much! Over the past year, I have not been able to break my own record!

Thank you for your attention, comments and curation!

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @aplusd ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!

Your content got selected by our fellow curator tibfox & you just received a little thank you upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations which is aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within the DIY scene of Hive.

Make sure to always post / cross-post your creations within the DIYHub community on HIVE so we never miss your content. We also have a discord server where you can connect with us and other DIYers. If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/gardening/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

What nice houses these are! Seen wooden houses before, plenty of them, but not like these, and usually also not as colourful. Really nice!
Somehow I like the monument a lot. Not sure if I understood what this monument is try to tell. Is this the particular 'o' sound in the dialect/language you explained?

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @may2015.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Очень красявые наличники. Вот и я немного припас наличников костромских. :)

Да, в Вологде очень много красивой деревянной резьбы! И в Костроме нам тоже попадались резные домики. Радует, что это пытаются сберечь.