Matanzas seawall

in Wednesday Walklast month

This ride took place as part of the journey back home on Sunday afternoon after a short vacation.

On our way we had to pass through the city of Matanzas, capital of one of the western provinces of Cuba with the same name.


cartel.jpg


Our trip took place by car. We drove along the Viaducto, an avenue that runs parallel to the seawall of Matanzas Bay.

This bay is the second deepest in the country. It has a water mirror of approximately 36 km2. Its port is the most important for the traffic of oil supertankers in Cuba.


bahia.jpg


2-7.jpg


3-6.jpg


In August 2022, a fire of great proportions with regrettable consequences occurred in this area. This event will remain sadly engraved in the memory, not only of the people of Matanzas, but of all Cubans.

The boardwalk that borders the bay is an important part of the life of the people that inhabit this piece of land. The fishing, the enjoyment of its waters in bathing areas that people have improvised, the conversations of friends and couples sitting on its wall, are everyday scenes.

As part of a cultural project called "En camino", several large sculptures have been placed along the boardwalk and other places. Established and new artists, sons and daughters of this land, have left their mark on this project.

An excellent work by the renowned artist Ictiandro Rodriguez seems to walk on the wall carrying his fishing rods, like any other person, despite its size and the material it is made of.


pescador 1.jpg
El pescador/The fisherman
pesca 2.jpg


Two works by Osmany Betancourt (Lolo), an outstanding plastic artist with an important trajectory, invite to reflection.


mujer con sombrero.jpg
Mujer con sombrero/Woman with hat
mujer con sombrero 2.jpg


IMG_20240410_003306.jpg
Los zapatos/The shoes

zapatos 2.jpg


It was impossible for me to find the name of the creator of this nice work entitled "La botellera". However, I share it with you so that you can admire it.


botellera.jpg
La botellera/The bottle rack
la botellera 2.jpg


The purpose of this outdoor gallery is to bring art closer to the people. Let them coexist in the public spaces of the city. And also to be admired by all those who, like us, walk along that artery that connects Havana with the Varadero beach resort.

All of them contain great artistic and conceptual quality, which I present to you in this Wednesday stroll for everyone's enjoyment.



All rights reserved on the text and images, which are of my authorship unless otherwise indicated. I use DeepL for translation because my English is very bad 🤭.

Sort:  

a lovely walk the sculptures are cool but my favorite is the fisher one
Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk :)
Have a great day :)

Thank you for the welcome. I am glad you liked my walk along the Malecon in Matanzas. The sculpture of the fisherman is also my favorite. Nice day.

Congratulations @mdrguez! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 80 posts.
Your next target is to reach 90 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thanks 🤩. Not too many, but I'm glad I did the best I could on each of them.

That's the spirit! Quality always beats quantity. Keep up the good work and continue to share your thoughts and ideas. Happy posting!

💪🤩

I love the city of Matanzas, exploring its entire northern coast is a pleasure, the sculptures are beautiful, I found ¨La Botellera¨ funny, thank you for sharing this beautiful tour that I enjoyed very much. A hug🤗 have a nice day🌼🌼

Holaaaaaaa! Yes Matanzas is a very beautiful city. Its cultural movement is quite important, especially in the sculptural manifestation. It is a pity that for almost everyone it is only a city of passage.

"La botellera" está muy simpática, la gente jocosamente preguntan, ¿qué estarán haciendo tantas personas bajo el vestido? 😜. Humor popular XD.

Un abrazo y un bello día para ti.

What a beautiful blue walk. And those sculptures are great. This one from the fisherman... there's one on our Malecón, or will it be the same one that the artist took it for a walk to the city of bridges?

It is the same one that was in our Malecon as part of the project "Detrás de Muro" in the Havana Biennial, I think in 2022 if I'm not mistaken.

😁

It's just that he and I met and even talked, but now I saw him thinner hahaha...

It's just that things are worse now...there's no fishing to be had 🤣

I can't choose which sculpture I like the most. La botellera is funny and the shoes are nice though I could not be able to wear them 😁 Too high heels haha

All the sculptures are very nice. And the photos were taken from the window of our "brand new yellow polakito" 😆, so they didn't look too bad. I'm glad I was able to show them on this Wednesday walk.

I wouldn't wear those heels either, in fact I've never worn....no I know how to walk in them. 🤭🤣